Start Up Locomotive Procedures

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting' started by MarcArtigues, Dec 9, 2019.

1. MarcArtigues

MarcArtigues New Member

Hi!

I want to report some “strange” start up procedures with the locomotives. I’m a Train Driver in real life, and it’s so unreal the startup procedure.

Normally, in game, when you activate the driving cab moving the reverser to the Disconect or Off position to Neutral or Cab Position, in this moment, the brake system starts to charge.

IT’S IMPOSSIBLE!!

For example: If you have the MR ( Main Reservoir ) at 0 bar, and the pantograph it’s not raised up and obviously, the compressor is not working, you can’t raise the pressure up to 9-10 bar.

More or less, in Europe ( I’m from Spain ) the pressures of brake systems are the following:

• Main Reservoir: 0 to 10 bar aprox. It’s used to create the Brake Pipe Pressure. Trains normally have a pressure control system that, if the MR pressure drops below to 7,5 / 7 bar ( depend on the train ) the train apply Emergency Brake and it’s impossible to release until pressure rise up again at 7 or 7,5 bar. It’s called Minimum Pressure Security Relay ( You are able to Bypass it )

• Brake Pipe: 0 to 5 bar. This pressure goes along the train and this used to brake the train. When you have enough pressure in Main Reservoir, now you can create the pressure that is used to brake the train with the distributors.

• Cylinder Pressure: 0 to 3,5 bar aprox. The pressure that is applied in the brake cylinders.

With battery switch, you can only operate the Auxiliary Compressor that is used only to raise up the pantograph.

A good start up procedure would be:

• Put in the ON position the Battery Switch.
    • Check the Battery Voltmeter.
    • Check if you have enough pressure to raise up the pantograph with the Auxiliary Reservoir.

• If you have:
    • Activate the Driving Cab.
    • Select the Pantograph [ 1, 2 or 1 + 2 ]
    • When the pantograph is raised, check the Line Voltmeter.