PlayStation Purple Tracks On Map

Discussion in 'TSW General Discussion' started by Bkulesza, Dec 22, 2019.

1. Bkulesza

Bkulesza Member

What do the purple bits of track on the map screen mean? I've been playing this game for like 2 years & have no clue what they signify.

2. Factor41

Factor41 Well-Known Member

The purple's the direction marker when you hover over the switches isn't it? If you click the switch arrow, it should move to show you the change in direction.

• Like Like x 1
  3. Bkulesza

Bkulesza Member

No, if you look at any map, without being in-train or near a switch, there are purple patches on the rails on every map.

• Like Like x 1
  4. stujoy

stujoy Well-Known Member

I'd never noticed them before and now I'm wondering the same thing.

• Like Like x 1
  5. Bkulesza

Bkulesza Member

They are on every map. Someone has to know.

6. Factor41

Yeah, now I'm wondering! I think it must symbolise some sort of restriction, but I can't see exactly what. I just had a wander around Sunnyside Yard on LIRR. There are three purple sections, two on the bit of track which loops around to the train wash, and one single bit of track to the north.

The curves have lights at either end (overhead gantry at one end, small ground lights at the other, both in the westward direction out of the loop, but there are no other signs and the section between them isn't purple...
    Train Sim World_20200213215236A.jpg Train Sim World_20200213221857A.jpg Train Sim World_20200213222102A.jpg

Then the small section at the top of the yard is just a bit of track, again with no signs or obvious restrictions...
    Train Sim World_20200213222307A.jpg Train Sim World_20200213222314A.jpg
    There are also a few examples of these at the ends of branches, including one on RRO.