PC Tips For New Players Of Train Sims

Discussion in 'TSW General Discussion' started by Nox, Sep 22, 2017.

1. Nox

Nox Member

Hi all,

I thought it would be a good idea to create a thread where people new to Train Sims can ask their questions, and where experienced players can drop tips and help along the way. It can be a bit overwhelming trying to learn everything when there are no advanced tutorials or documentation.

I'm new to Train Sims this year, and thought I'd ask the experienced community for a few pieces of advice, especially regarding how to keep to the schedule in GWE. Sorry if they are 'noob' questions but we all start somewhere. I've already googled certain things such as what the signals mean, but I still have more questions I couldn't find answers to:

No matter how hard I try, I can't seem to stick to the schedule exactly, there is so little time to get between stations that I always fall a couple of minutes behind. Do you have tips on how to be more accurate? What's the best way to gain speed quickly? In the screenshot below, I was 2 minutes behind all stops, and got a red x except for one station - why was that station marked okay when it was also late; how does it work?
    21617537_10212555914825825_1463868686289468854_n.jpg

Next, is there a way to know what the speed limit is when you're changing tracks before you get there? For example, there's a switch at Hayes and Harlington at 15mph, but I don't see any warning before the switch itself. Is it just a case of memorising it?

In the scenario "Christmas Closures" I get a constant beeping sound/alarm on the return leg in the HST before the train comes to a complete stop. I have no idea what it is. There are no explanations anywhere. (It isn't AWS/DSD). Can anyone tell me what it is?

Thanks everyone! I appreciate any help and feedback.

2. TrainSim-Jay

TrainSim-Jay Guest

Great idea Nox! I'll see if i can get some dev tips to get this kicked off :D

- Jay

• Like Like x 1
  3. PlatChap