Roadmap Update - 18th May 2021

Discussion in 'Dovetail Live Article Discussion' started by DTG Natster, May 18, 2021.

1. Rudolf

Rudolf Well-Known Member

I am not pleased at all with the quality of manuals and guides. It seems normal not to provide written guides anymore.. A lot of features and ways of working are not covered in the guides, while they could add a lot to the fun of gameplay. Instead, there is a vague promise to create button pushing video tutorials, which are not very informative, except for absolute beginners.
    Whay add all these functions to the game, when nobody knows what they are supposed to do or how to use it? It is a waste of money and energy.

• Like Like x 12
  2. FeralKitty

FeralKitty Well-Known Member

It's a good intention, but there were specific cases mentioned in the stream where DTG probably made the right choices:
    • One example was the PIS. It wasn't possible to do it correctly, because it wasn't merely a case of needing the right graphics, but also needing the right code which hadn't been implemented yet. So we got signs which don't match the actual ones, but that's somewhat better than still having no signs at all.
    • Another example were the sounds. When the sound needed to completely be redone, Adam's team wasn't the best group to fix that issue.
    In general, to "do it correctly" requires far more time than Adam schedules for the fixes. (This is the ninety-ninety rule, where the remaining ten percent takes as long as the first ninety-percent of the work.) It's probably better that we get some fixes for routes being worked on this month, rather than diminishing returns making a route taking 2 or 3 months (which would delay fixes for other routes).

Personally, I'd rather have several routes mostly fixed, than one route fixed and have to wait longer for the fixes that affect my gameplay. Others may have a different opinion, but the reality is that DTG can't please all of us all the time.