Never Mind This Thread. I Got An Answer. No Need To Reply

Discussion in 'TSW General Discussion' started by aglomarsale, May 28, 2021.

1. aglomarsale

aglomarsale Well-Known Member

I got the answer I was looking for. Replying to this thread isn't necessary anymore. If DTG Natster/any mod sees this, you can lock this thread. I didn't want to ping you as that might be annoying for you.)

i have a query. I use a 144Hz screen, but when I switch on Vsync, it always limits me to 60 fps. When i switch Vsync off, i get terrible screen tearing.

I'm not a technological expert, but would love to know why TSW2's "refresh rate" is limited to 60..

Last edited: Jun 2, 2021
  2. Jpantera

Jpantera Well-Known Member

There is a Max FPS option on the advanced settings tab, or it may be on your GPU settings?

3. aglomarsale

I'm aware there is that option, but when I switch on vsync it limits me to 60 fps instead of 144

Apparently a lot of people are limited to 60 FPS, not sure why or how

4. Cotax

Cotax Well-Known Member

Do you have G-SYNC enabled? I run it on 120hz with no tearing. MAX FPS = 120 fps, G-SYNC enabled (in monitor and in control panel).

5. Redbus

Redbus Well-Known Member

I think it’s just the way vsync works, that is where a gsync or freesync monitor helps but not everyone has one.
    With vsync off, is your average frame rate over 120 fps?

6. Inkar

Inkar Well-Known Member

That is V-sync working as expected. V-Sync stops the tearing by sending always a complete frame to your monitor at fixed intervals (what we call tearing is your monitor displaying a partially completed frame that is still showing a piece of the previous frame). To do that, your graphics card tries to send 144 full images per second to your monitor. If it can not, it will try to send 120, if it can not it will try 60 and if it can not it will try 30.