PlayStation Train Sim World: What Is The Proper State Of Mind?

Discussion in 'TSW General Discussion' started by Everett, Aug 31, 2018.

1. Everett

Everett New Member

I couldn't think of a better title for this post, so let me add this information and a question and this may clear things up a little:

I am new to simulations games like this and am brand new to TSW. I am glad the game is on console because I will never have a PC solid enough to run the game the way it should be run. The more I play this game (about 120 miles in), the more I enjoy it.

When I am working through the tutorials, I play to learn (I am complete novice with trains).
    When I play through the scenarios I battle between wanting to earn a good score and wanting to run a solid, safe route and wanting to get better at handling the train and enjoying the trip, the scenery, and the detail.
    I hope to get to Service Mode soon and enjoy all of that - which I think is an incredible mode to have in a video game.

I have read quite a few posts that suggest to not concern oneself with the scoring and focus keeping the route safe and enjoying the game - So I guess my question is this:

Should I be more concerned with progressing through the game and scoring well (most video game goals) or should I concentrate more on driving the trains well and enjoying the experience (that seems to have more to do with reading a book than a video game)?

I think my answer is the latter, but I'd be interested in everyone else's thoughts...

• Like Like x 1
  2. xD 2Bad4You

xD 2Bad4You Well-Known Member

I would say you should focus on having fun with the game, enjoying the trains, scenery.
    Personally i think the score and levels in the game can be ignored. You wont get anything for these levels and some bugs in the game and scenarios will make it hard to play for a better score because you have to restart / save often and such stuff.