Sudden Fps Drops Cannot Fix

Discussion in 'TSW General Discussion' started by Yeahman, Nov 9, 2022.

1. Yeahman

Yeahman New Member

So I started playing Train Sim World 2 almost 2 years ago and at first it worked fine on my PC but earlier this year I started noticing an issue where, I would be running the game fine at 50-60 FPS but suddenly it will drop to 10-20 FPS and will not return back for several minutes, it is really annoying and I can't find a way to fix this. I thought that it would be fixed when Train Sim World 3 released but nothing has changed. Does anyone know if there is a way to fix this

• Like Like x 1
  2. rennekton#1349

rennekton#1349 Well-Known Member

What routes does it affect? Where on the route? any other details so we can reproduce it

3. Yeahman

Yeahman New Member

It happens on every route. It will just suddenly happen and it goes on for a few minutes before returning, and eventually comes back. My computer has an i7-10750H and RTX 2060

• Like Like x 1
  4. rennekton#1349

And when you say suddenly happen, I'm assuming in any part of the route regardless of how large the scene is such as in yards and such

5. Quentin

Quentin Well-Known Member

Sorry if this is obvious, but is your computer possibly doing something in the background? This happened to me yesterday and I spotted I was downloading a Windows update.

6. Yeahman

Yeahman New Member

Yes, it happens randomly in any place on the route, It will drop from around 60 to 20 FPS on high graphics. And, it happens on both Train Sim World 2 and 3

7. DTG Matt

DTG Matt Executive Producer Staff Member

Have to say this sounds a bit like some kind of thermal throttling - where something on the system heats up and so it cuts back the processing significantly to let it cool down, once it's cooled down, it ramps it back up again.

If a laptop - check all your vents are clear, fans are working, and its on a clear clean flat surface with air flow as needed.