PC Ts19 Or Tsw18?

Discussion in 'TSW General Discussion' started by Heather Bentley-Smith, Nov 23, 2018.

1. Heather Bentley-Smith

Heather Bentley-Smith New Member

Hi, I’m a complete novice here, looking to buy either TS19 or TSW 18 for a Christmas present for my husband, preferably today with Black Friday discounts and not sure which to buy or where to start. It’s to play on a PC (Windows 10) and I would also like to buy the West Somerset add on.

Questions: What is the difference between TS19 and TSw 18? ( in simple operating terms?) Are they both suitable base platforms?

Will older add ons like the Somerset and Dorset and Exeter to Paignton also work on Windows 10?

Are all versions digital download, or can I buy a physical PC game disc that I can wrap for Xmas?

Any advice appreciated, thanks.

2. Gordon7000

Gordon7000 Active Member

TSW requires higher spec PC than TS19. (Check to see if PC meets requirements for either simulator).
    TSW has higher quality graphics, but is fairly new. Available routes and train stocks are limited.
    TS19 has a wide range of add-on routes and trains available - almost all available in the Autumn sale.
    Older Steam / DTG add-ons will still work with TS19 on Windows 10 (provided PC spec is suitable for this game.)
    Most purchases are digital downloads, usually via Steam - but some boxed versions can be purchased from 3rd party suppliers like Just Trains. They will still need to be updated via Steam.

TS2019 System Requirements

Minimum system requirements

• Processor: Intel Core-i3 4330 3.50GHz Dual Core or AMD A8 6600K 3.90GHz Quad Core
    • Memory: 4GB RAM
    • Graphics: nVidia GeForce GTX 750 Ti or AMD Radeon R9 Graphics with 1GB dedicated VRAM
    • DirectX: Version 9.0c
    • Network: Broadband Internet connection
    • Storage: 20GB available space
    • Sound Card: DirectX Compatible
    • Requires mouse and keyboard or Xbox Controller
    • Steam account required

TSW System Requirements