1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Access To Gwr Class 43 Engine And Guard Compartments.

Discussion in 'Feature Suggestions & Proposals' started by davejc64, Oct 9, 2017.

  1. davejc64

    davejc64 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2017
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    201
    I would like to be able to access the engine and guard compartments on the class GWR 43 also why can't the buffet car be shown to be open rather than all closed up.
     
    • Upvote Upvote x 6
    • Downvote Downvote x 3
  2. BenDragon81037

    BenDragon81037 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2017
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    38
    How about access to the toilets in the MK3s as well?
     
    • Downvote Downvote x 2
    • Useful Useful x 1
  3. Corvan

    Corvan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2017
    Messages:
    528
    Likes Received:
    711
    Would you like the ability to properly use those facilities as well? :P
     
    • Upvote Upvote x 3
  4. rwaday

    rwaday Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2016
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    54
    All this detail will come with a frame rate hit and other performance issues. Remember they reduced detail ( the beta release last year had autos in the auto racks) to increase frame rates and reduce stuttering. Evidently the density of assets and the level of detail are critical and need to balanced for performance.
     
    • Upvote Upvote x 3
    • Downvote Downvote x 2
  5. LastTrainToClarksville

    LastTrainToClarksville Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2017
    Messages:
    907
    Likes Received:
    678
    Running overly long sessions?
     
    • Downvote Downvote x 1
  6. Benjwri

    Benjwri New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2017
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    29
    So you would rather have something to go in once, say 'Oooo nice', then never use again, than for the artists to work on something else like a new route or train?
     
    • Upvote Upvote x 2
    • Downvote Downvote x 1
  7. BenDragon81037

    BenDragon81037 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2017
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    38
    I think yes, because of the Role Playing aspects that come with the gimmicks.
     
    • Upvote Upvote x 1
    • Downvote Downvote x 1
  8. Benjwri

    Benjwri New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2017
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    29
    These also have implications on frame rates. I can barely run TSW at an acceptable frame rate, so if suddenly it became more resource intensive, I wouldn't be very happy with the waste of £20, and would rather the frames be used on something else, not a toilet, that I would never use, or an engine room which I would only use a tiny bit more.
     
    • Upvote Upvote x 1
    • Downvote Downvote x 1
  9. BenDragon81037

    BenDragon81037 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2017
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    38
    What sort of FPS do you get? While standing at Paddington, I get 33FPS, and between London and Ealing Broadway, I get between 15 and 30 FPS depending on the area, the worst part was while I was passing a stationary HST, where I got 9 FPS.

    Definitely not the best FPS which results from GPU throttling, but never the less, I think it's playable despite the fact my machine is below the minimum specifications for the game.

    My Specs are:
    CPU: Intel Core i5 6500 @ 3.20GHz
    RAM: 16.0GB Dual-Channel @ 1064MHz
    Motherboard: ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC. H110M-A/M.2
    Gcard: 2047MB NVIDIA GeForce GTX 660 Ti

    Minimum specs are:
    CPU: Intel Core i5-4690 @ 3.5 GHz
    RAM: 8 GB RAM
    Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 750 Ti

    Dovetail said that they cannot help with issues if your PC specification is below the minimum requirements, they said that this game is a next-gen game, so you will need a next-gen PC to run it.
     
    • Upvote Upvote x 1
  10. Benjwri

    Benjwri New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2017
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    29
    About 30FPS all the time, my PC is just above minimum.
     
    • Downvote Downvote x 1
  11. BenDragon81037

    BenDragon81037 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2017
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    38
    I feel that an opinion poll would be useful, see what other people feel about this concept.
     
    • Upvote Upvote x 1
  12. finval06

    finval06 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2019
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    3
    I mean we could make it so you have to look after the engines and do repairs using tools that can be added and stored in those engine compartments, tools could also add the ability for Steam locomotives and more, Adding more things to do instead of a new route would be good, I wish I could go into the engine room and do service on it or wheel newspapers out of the cargo hold and onto the station side.
     
    • Upvote Upvote x 1
  13. thearkerportian

    thearkerportian Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2019
    Messages:
    559
    Likes Received:
    911
    Very unlikely that two more vehicles with interiors on a train as long as an HST would have any significant impact on FPS. LODs are a thing. Heck, in the case of the class 43 you could probably make the whole enine disappear as soon as you're sy 20 meters away.

    Personally I'd love to be able to take a look in there, it's probably the closest thing achievable to exploring a real engine compartment. Or the noses on the class 37/40/45...
     
  14. InspectorTiger

    InspectorTiger Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2019
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    167
    Engine rooms and so on would be great, but they're complex and costly to model. It's essentially a choice between, would you like to go in the engine room of this loco, or would you like a whole other loco? Most of us would probably opt for the extra loco.
     
    • Upvote Upvote x 1
  15. finval06

    finval06 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2019
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    3
    I mean I'd rather have all the locos have updated engine rooms, like the double header Diesel's and the class 09 and 08 diesel side compartments to the engines to actually do maintainence, having a battery isolation switch side door on the 09 made it better than any other loco to me
     
  16. jamesibbs

    jamesibbs Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2019
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    15
    would love to see engine rooms but also I would love to see the guard door unlocked as you can see through the window into the guard room but are not allowed
     
  17. jamesibbs

    jamesibbs Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2019
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    15
    also would like repairs
     
  18. Doomotron

    Doomotron Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2018
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    81
    As for the extra detail, the engine compartment in the 43s is already fully modelled...
     
  19. Big Papi34

    Big Papi34 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2018
    Messages:
    695
    Likes Received:
    590
    I suppose you also want to USE the toilets as well don't you. While we're at it, let's drink coffee on the NEC Amtrak cafe car.
     
  20. InspectorTiger

    InspectorTiger Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2019
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    167
    Do you have a screenshot?
     
  21. Doomotron

    Doomotron Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2018
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    81
    I don't particularly need one, considering you can see straight through the window into the engine compartment.
     
  22. jamesibbs

    jamesibbs Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2019
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    15
    and when looking through the window there is parallax and it is 3d moddeled
     
  23. InspectorTiger

    InspectorTiger Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2019
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    167
    I think you're talking about the guard's compartment. There's no window on the engine room (though you can see a fan through the roof vent).
     

Share This Page