1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Afb(cruise Control Or More?)db Br Locos

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by SHINO BAZ, Apr 16, 2019.

  1. SHINO BAZ

    SHINO BAZ Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2019
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    21
    I watch youtube video on how to use it and i'm still not sure what it does.Is there any detailed info on how to use it anywhere and all it's various fuctions,(one thing i noted was that the blue marker that highlights when you turn afb on,doesn't light up right away.Does it only light up after you get your train moving?
     
  2. Rail Master

    Rail Master Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2019
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    156
    AFB only controls your max speed, by the blue marker. You need use your throttle to add power. You can add power without fear because the AFB will cut the power automatically when the train reaches the chosen speed and keep the train always at the chosen speed. So you need AFB only for limit your speed, because you can operate at different speed, until chosen speed.
    Hope this helps :|
     
  3. Mr.Drew

    Mr.Drew New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2018
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    2
    In which German locos can AFB be activated?

    So far I only found it in DB BR 143, and here it is always active by default, I guess. Is there a way to deactivate it in 143? I checked the whole cab yesterday but found no button.
     
  4. Scarface

    Scarface Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2018
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    53
    Hi, you can find AFB in DB BR 185.2/146.2/182 the button is on the lower left desk.
     
    • Upvote Upvote x 1
  5. Mr.Drew

    Mr.Drew New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2018
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    2
    Thanks for your help, will try it out tonight. :)

    Is there any chance to turn the AFB OFF in BR 143?
     
  6. Rail Master

    Rail Master Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2019
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    156
    Yes, turn off the AFB button (left desk), and you can use the AFB throttle as a Power throttle:)
     
    • Upvote Upvote x 1
  7. Mr.Drew

    Mr.Drew New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2018
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    2
    Oh ok, I have not found the button yet within the BR 143. So I will take a second look at the left desk. ;-) Can this be done while sitting in the drivers seat or do you have to get up to reach the button? Maybe that is one reason why I haven't found the button yet
     
  8. Rail Master

    Rail Master Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2019
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    156
    I don’t need get up for reach it. I only move the cursor slowly.
     
  9. xD 2Bad4You

    xD 2Bad4You Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2018
    Messages:
    662
    Likes Received:
    464
    You can also select the Camera View (RS or LS, Cant remember exactly which one ) for the left panel and the right one while sitting on the drivers seat aswell. Makes it easier to find the buttons.
     
    • Upvote Upvote x 1
  10. Mr.Drew

    Mr.Drew New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2018
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ah yes, you are right, thanks for the advice :) Should definitely make it easier
     
  11. Mr.Drew

    Mr.Drew New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2018
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    2
    I really checked the whole cab but cannot find the button to turn it off :-/ Is it under the desk? I even checked the panel in the engine room. Can someone please help? I would be very grateful.
     
  12. Scarface

    Scarface Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2018
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    53
    In the BR 143 you can't switch off AFB, but in BR 185.2/146.2 and 182 you can switch it on or off.
     
  13. Mr.Drew

    Mr.Drew New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2018
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ok, I understand. Thanks for the information.:) I looked around for quite some time ...
     

Share This Page