Ahs Railworks 373 + Channel Tunnel Route

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by 749006, Sep 29, 2021.

Tags:
  1. 749006

    749006 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2016
    Messages:
    6,581
    Likes Received:
    2,005
    • Like Like x 3
    • Helpful Helpful x 1
  2. Aryffordd

    Aryffordd Guest

    That looks like it could be very interesting! Thanks for posting about it.
     
  3. Doomotron

    Doomotron Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2018
    Messages:
    1,689
    Likes Received:
    2,016
    I am amazed it's back. Wasn't the last update before this in 2019?
     
  4. 749006

    749006 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2016
    Messages:
    6,581
    Likes Received:
    2,005
    I believe the route and train went to Just Trains and then DTG - after that it went quiet.
    I think some more work has been done since as the roof profile looks better
     
  5. Doomotron

    Doomotron Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2018
    Messages:
    1,689
    Likes Received:
    2,016
    Unfortunately the overall modelling and texturing still doesn't look very nice. Perhaps they'd be better off making an AP EP-style conversion for the New ICE 3 to double as a 374? The older screenshots (which probably don't represent the route now) were also quite concerning - some parts of the route, such as the section where HS1 runs alongside the Kent Coast Line, looked nothing like the real thing. And in one of the screenshots on their new website, the Class 373 seems to be a King's Cross, and in another it seems to be at Waterloo International. King's Cross makes sense, but Waterloo International intrigues me. I haven't been on the new PDL route in a while since it doesn't load on my computer, but I don't think the route uses that track in Waterloo International. I've asked them on Facebook, so hopefully I get a response.
     
  6. 749006

    749006 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2016
    Messages:
    6,581
    Likes Received:
    2,005
    The difference between the 373 and the 374 is where it can run in the UK.
    The 373 was built to UK loading Gauge and - in theory - could run on most UK Electrified Routes
    Waterloo Eurostar in the PDL is connected to the system as it is used as normal platforms
    No point in running a scenario from there as the line branches off at Nine Elms

    Nothing wrong with Kings Cross as the Eurostar sets worked on the ECML to York and Leeds
    DSCF2124.JPG

    The 374 is restricted to HS1 as the train is a full European Gauge ICE 3 - BR407
    If you want a repaint ok but there would be a lot of work required to add other features just to run the train from Ebbsfleet to St Pancras.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  7. Doomotron

    Doomotron Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2018
    Messages:
    1,689
    Likes Received:
    2,016
    It does make me wonder why they're not including a GNER livery (the last time I checked, that is). Theoretically the 373 DLC would complete the GNER fleet in Train Simulator.
     
  8. PhÜnKî_Rø0sTā

    PhÜnKî_Rø0sTā Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2019
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    171
    Now we just need a reskin in Izy Livery:

    alstom_eurostar300_izy02MaartenSchoubben_rebecq20181117.jpg
     
    • Like Like x 3
  9. vyncwr

    vyncwr Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2020
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    87
    Oh just wonderfull news I was just shearcing for eurostar some weeks ago and saw it was abandoned half done. I hope it's really gonna be finished this time. :P
     
    • Like Like x 1
  10. 749006

    749006 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2016
    Messages:
    6,581
    Likes Received:
    2,005
    When it was originally being made the Author was also asking for info on the GNER livery.
    00-07-13-DSCF0229.JPG
    00-06-28-Eurostar_3302_York.jpg

    3301/3302 York 28 June 2000
     
    • Like Like x 1
  11. Doomotron

    Doomotron Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2018
    Messages:
    1,689
    Likes Received:
    2,016
    I'm sure I remember the GNER livery in screenshots, but it could be because of the Mandela effect.
     
  12. atomicdanny

    atomicdanny Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2017
    Messages:
    221
    Likes Received:
    201
  13. Doomotron

    Doomotron Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2018
    Messages:
    1,689
    Likes Received:
    2,016
    I thought so! Other than the model problems, the livery looks alright, other than the orange needing to be a bit more red and the stripe possibly being too high. There's also no logo, but that might be an intentional choice. I do hope the GNER livery is released, as we can finally have a complete GNER ECML collection.
     
  14. helderbrincolas

    helderbrincolas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2019
    Messages:
    422
    Likes Received:
    724
    Wow!! Ashford - Channel Tunnel - Lille? Looking really really forward to that if it gets released!
     
  15. driverwoods#1787

    driverwoods#1787 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2021
    Messages:
    5,439
    Likes Received:
    3,134
    Let's go and this will be featured by Jaime on Workshop Wednesday if merged with LGV 1 Brussels Midi Lille via Fretin Triangle and LGV Nord Paris Lille UK Side SEHS Train Sim 22 version.
     
  16. Doomotron

    Doomotron Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2018
    Messages:
    1,689
    Likes Received:
    2,016
    The Class 373 has now released for a questionable £14.99, and for some reason includes a scenario for the East Coast Main Line. Has anybody played it and seen what it's like yet?
     
  17. 749006

    749006 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2016
    Messages:
    6,581
    Likes Received:
    2,005
    Why would they have Scenarios for the ECML
    Could it be the fact the North of London sets worked for GNER - and there is a set in GNER Blue in the pack?
    Have a look at the pictures in posts #6 and #10
     
  18. Doomotron

    Doomotron Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2018
    Messages:
    1,689
    Likes Received:
    2,016
    It comes with the GNER and original Eurostar liveries, both unbranded, so presumably the scenario is set when GNER used them. I wonder what AI stock is used? It would be a bit weird to have FCC stock running alongside GNER Eurostars.
     
  19. 749006

    749006 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2016
    Messages:
    6,581
    Likes Received:
    2,005
    The NoL sets were only used off HS1 by GNER on the London - York services and later on the London - Leeds

    The Scenarios feature a 373 in GNER with HSTs in GNER and some 91s in Intercity.
    Presumably the scenario makers did not have access to a 91 and Mk GNER Reskin.
    The local trains are Class 365s in NSE livery - again no other livery available.
     
  20. Trainmania100

    Trainmania100 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2018
    Messages:
    662
    Likes Received:
    475
    Grass textures look repetitive, trees look identical, is this common with Train simulator dlc?
     
  21. Doomotron

    Doomotron Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2018
    Messages:
    1,689
    Likes Received:
    2,016
    Are you talking about the LGV route or ECML?
     
  22. Trainmania100

    Trainmania100 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2018
    Messages:
    662
    Likes Received:
    475
    Referring to the screenshots on the 373 link on the initial post
     
  23. 749006

    749006 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2016
    Messages:
    6,581
    Likes Received:
    2,005
    In the initial post there appears to be two pictures from the upcoming Ashford - Lille route.
    There is a picture of a 373 in Waterloo station on the DTG Waterloo - Portsmouth line
    And a picture on the DTG ECML of the GNER liveried set
     
  24. trainsimgaming1001

    trainsimgaming1001 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2021
    Messages:
    433
    Likes Received:
    519
    Now this is coming, I now see someone creating the missing link between Ebbsfleet and Ashford.

    Many years in the making, it better be worth my wallet.
     
  25. 749006

    749006 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2016
    Messages:
    6,581
    Likes Received:
    2,005
    No point in creating the missing link

    The Section from St Pancras to Ebbsfleet uses the DTG TVM Signals
    But the AHS Class 373 cannot see those signals

    The new section from Ashford to Lille will use the AHS TVM signals which the DTG trains cannot see
    There are two different TVM signals systems and the trains either recognise one or the other but not both.
     
  26. Doomotron

    Doomotron Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2018
    Messages:
    1,689
    Likes Received:
    2,016
    It does seem weird they decided against DTG's system, it would have made a lot of sense.
     
  27. R3dS41ft

    R3dS41ft Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2020
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    36
    I’ve seen a couple of scenarios on ATS that run the 373 on the Ebbsfleet to St Pancras part of Kent high speed. Given the comments above, the signalling won’t work. I can’t see how you can drive a train properly.
     
  28. 749006

    749006 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2016
    Messages:
    6,581
    Likes Received:
    2,005
    As this is a commercial train and route they would have had to Pay DTG to use their TVM
    The same author also released the Atlantic High Speed route from Paris Montparnasse to Tours
    https://www.justtrains.net/product/atlantic-high-speed-route-and-tgv-atlantique-train
    And that also had to use the same TVM system
    So you cannot run a DTG train over that route and you cannot run that TGV over a DTG TVM route
     
    • Helpful Helpful x 1
  29. 749006

    749006 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2016
    Messages:
    6,581
    Likes Received:
    2,005
    You cannot drive it over Ebbsfleet to St Pancras but it will work when the Ashford - Lille route is released from the same author
     
    • Helpful Helpful x 1
  30. trainsimgaming1001

    trainsimgaming1001 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2021
    Messages:
    433
    Likes Received:
    519
    I am hoping that this route is not cancelled. It better be good with how long we have waited
     
  31. Doomotron

    Doomotron Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2018
    Messages:
    1,689
    Likes Received:
    2,016
    Has anybody tried the 373? I hear it's not very good but I want a second opinion.
     
  32. trainsimgaming1001

    trainsimgaming1001 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2021
    Messages:
    433
    Likes Received:
    519
    I have brought the 373, though my PC broke and I am waiting on the new part. Check youtube for some lets plays
     
  33. 749006

    749006 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2016
    Messages:
    6,581
    Likes Received:
    2,005
    Apart from the KPH problem I like the Class 373 unit and I'm happy with the sound of it
     

Share This Page