Antialiasing Since Update?

Discussion in 'PC Discussion' started by solicitr, Sep 11, 2021.

  1. solicitr

    solicitr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2020
    Messages:
    5,236
    Likes Received:
    7,489
    I'm still trying to rebuild my engine.ini file post UE 4.26- but catenaries and the like are still a jaggy, flickering mess. I had those and moire patters sorted before the change, but now I can't find any antialiasing settings which get rid of them- no, screen percentage doesn't help much either.
     
  2. Blu

    Blu Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2021
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    90
    Im not sure if this helps, but I noticed all my settings went to Hell with the latest update. I have it set to ultra which it was! But The Anti anilising settings and frame rate limits had reset. I set my framerates at 30 which I find stops stuttering. What id suggest for PC owners is to check your settings.
     
  3. fanta1682002

    fanta1682002 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2019
    Messages:
    989
    Likes Received:
    458
    antialiasing settings TAA have flicker
     
  4. solicitr

    solicitr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2020
    Messages:
    5,236
    Likes Received:
    7,489
    Pardon me?
     
  5. Teflon490

    Teflon490 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2020
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    49
    What he meant is that the flickering is caused by TAA antialiasing set in the menu. FXAA or AA off don't do it.
     
  6. fanta1682002

    fanta1682002 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2019
    Messages:
    989
    Likes Received:
    458
    yes
     
  7. Yerolo

    Yerolo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2018
    Messages:
    817
    Likes Received:
    1,645
    From my perspective I have definately noticed an marked increase of jaggies and flickering since the 4.26 update unless you run at 200% screen percentage. Previously I used to run at 125%@60fps and it looked fine....but running at those settings now looks horrible (at least on the newer routes)

    I am now running at 200%@40fps which seems like a good trade-off on my system....but I feel once further inprovements are made to UE, it's going to freeze out these settings again until I upgrade my hardware

    For ref I am running i7-6700k@4GHz, 16GB RAM & GTX1080
     
  8. JetWash

    JetWash Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2021
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    347
    FXAA looks awful, so it’s TAA or nothing for me.

    Matt P has often blamed TAA for these flickering jaggies and it’s noticeable he doesn’t use it on streams (which often just look terrible to me), but every other game I’ve ever played that uses TAA does not suffer these same problems.

    As a layman it looks like there’s either a problem with UE4 and the way it implements TAA, or it’s the way DTG are using it. I think I remember reading once that someone had narrowed the cause down to multiple light sources on the catenary going haywire when stationary, which caused the flickering.

    One thing is for sure, it really really spoils the game as it stands.
     
    Last edited: Sep 11, 2021
    • Like Like x 1
  9. 5cip

    5cip Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2020
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    21
    besides the engine.ini where i actually only have 1 entry
    foliage.LODDistanceScale=5
    i noticed that if i change the pre rendered frames in the gfx settings of my nvidia panel to 3 or 4 i have much less stuttering plus i capped my refresh rate of my display to 50hz and in game to 50 fps which helps a lot.
    of course with: -dx12 -USEALLAVAILABLECORES -malloc=system
    the entry -malloc=system helps a lot and for the first time i can play HHL without stutters i have this from another game hell let loose which uses also the UE 4 engine.
    i doent see any difference in TAA in game like before the engine switch to 4.26
    cheers
     
  10. Romansu72

    Romansu72 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2019
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    93
     
    • Like Like x 1
  11. JetWash

    JetWash Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2021
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    347
    Sadly those changes make no difference in 4K.
     
  12. trainside

    trainside New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2021
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    4
    You can try these TAA settings in your engine.ini, it might reduce the jittering. I use these setting, no other for TAA.

    r.PostProcessAAQuality=3
    r.TemporalAASamples=4
    r.TemporalAA.Upsampling=1
     
    Last edited: Sep 11, 2021
    • Like Like x 1
  13. bescot

    bescot Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2016
    Messages:
    241
    Likes Received:
    352
    Is there anything to reduce moire? I'm on 4K and those clean sleepers on DB routes are particularly bad.
     
  14. fanta1682002

    fanta1682002 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2019
    Messages:
    989
    Likes Received:
    458
    r.HighQualityLightMaps=1
    r.PostProcessAAQuality=6
    r.MaxAnisotropy=16
    r.TemporalAACatmullRom=1
    r.TemporalAASharpness=1.0
    r.TemporalAASamples=64
    r.TemporalAAFilterSize=1.0
    r.TemporalAAPauseCorrect=1
    r.ToneMapper.Sharpen=1
     
    • Like Like x 1
  15. Thorgred

    Thorgred Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2018
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    46
    -malloc=system this does do nothing it is an arma 3 launch command


    r.PostProcessAAQuality=6
    only use if you have a high end system
    Defines the postprocess anti aliasing method which allows to adjust for quality or performance.
    0:off, 1:very low (faster FXAA), 2:low (FXAA), 3:medium (faster TemporalAA), 4:high (default TemporalAA), 5:very high, 6:max

    3 is faster performance
    6 is best quality but less performance

    r.TemporalAASamples=64
    does not affect performance but it just tell how many jitter locations temporalAA will use. Bigger the number more time it will take to full cycle to loop. This might cause judder and excessive blurriness. r.TemporalAASamples=4 or 8 is optimal depending on target frame rate.
     
    Last edited: Sep 12, 2021
    • Like Like x 1
  16. SD40Australia

    SD40Australia New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2021
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    3
    I installed the latest video drivers from Nvidia.

    Which folder is engine.ini in? Open with notepad right?
     
  17. solicitr

    solicitr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2020
    Messages:
    5,236
    Likes Received:
    7,489
    Great IF you have a high-end system. Too much for a less powerful system to digest.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  18. solicitr

    solicitr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2020
    Messages:
    5,236
    Likes Received:
    7,489
    Unfortunately, on my rig 200% reduces the game to a slideshow.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  19. solicitr

    solicitr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2020
    Messages:
    5,236
    Likes Received:
    7,489
    At least on my system, FXAA is even worse.
     
  20. fanta1682002

    fanta1682002 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2019
    Messages:
    989
    Likes Received:
    458
    [SystemSettings] NVIDIA SET AA X16SLI SAA X16SLI TSW2 SET 150% SCREEN ADVANCED SET ULTRA
    r.ViewDistanceScale=1
    r.SkeletalMeshLODBias=-5
    r.StaticMeshLODDistanceScale=0.25
    foliage.LODDistanceScale=2
    r.MaterialQualityLevel=1
    r.DepthOfFieldQuality=0
    r.BloomQuality=0
    r.MotionBlurQuality=0
    r.HighQualityLightMaps=1
    r.PostProcessAAQuality=6
    r.MaxAnisotropy=16
    r.TemporalAACatmullRom=1
    r.TemporalAASharpness=1.0
    r.TemporalAASamples=64
    r.TemporalAAFilterSize=1.0
    r.TemporalAAPauseCorrect=1
    r.ToneMapper.Sharpen=1
    r.SSR.Quality=2
    r.TextureStreaming=0
     
    Last edited: Sep 11, 2021
  21. londonmidland

    londonmidland Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2017
    Messages:
    2,250
    Likes Received:
    10,141
    I’ve noticed increased aliasing flickering post 4.26 update. I don’t think any ini commands actually stop it. It’s definitely worse than it was in 4.23 though.
     
  22. fanta1682002

    fanta1682002 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2019
    Messages:
    989
    Likes Received:
    458
    taa have flickering
     
  23. solicitr

    solicitr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2020
    Messages:
    5,236
    Likes Received:
    7,489

    Again, that's fine for your high-powered system, but it slows my old dog to molasses
     
    • Like Like x 1
  24. JetWash

    JetWash Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2021
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    347
    It also makes no difference at all!
     
  25. londonmidland

    londonmidland Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2017
    Messages:
    2,250
    Likes Received:
    10,141
    It’s definitely something to do with 4.26 so those commands will have little to no effect on the aliasing flickering.
     
  26. JetWash

    JetWash Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2021
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    347
    Remember back when GWE first came out, the stationary flickering was mental. The units themselves looked like rattling junkies, yet all was well as soon as you started moving.

    To their credit over time DTG dialled that out except on the catenary, where it persists to this day. It’s not an AA thing I think, there’s something else going on there which I’d bet is to do with lighting.
     
  27. Sharon E

    Sharon E Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2016
    Messages:
    422
    Likes Received:
    349
    I am not having this issue on any route run.
     
  28. Callum B.

    Callum B. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2018
    Messages:
    999
    Likes Received:
    1,723
    This is what I use to stop the flickering. It then looks exactly like the other video posted (who, incidentally, uses the same setting). My resolution is 3440x1440 and I play at 120% screen percentage. One might have to trial and error the right value to stop flickering at 2160p as this probably only works for 1440p.
    Cheers
     
  29. joerg.lange

    joerg.lange Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2020
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    145
    In my case its even better without the whole r.TemporalAA... - lines in the engine.ini (for 4.26 only!). 4.26 changed something in this area.
     
    • Helpful Helpful x 1
  30. joerg.lange

    joerg.lange Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2020
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    145
    Is this also the case for 4.26? Have you checked it?
     
  31. Callum B.

    Callum B. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2018
    Messages:
    999
    Likes Received:
    1,723
    Indeed, it is still the case.

    EDIT: There are two additional commands I use to smooth out the appearance of TAA with such a low sample rate that might be of some effect:
    Code:
    r.TemporalAASamples=4
    r.TemporalAASharpness=2.0
    r.TemporalAACurrentFrameWeight=0.2
    Cheers
     
    Last edited: Sep 11, 2021
    • Like Like x 2

Share This Page