Booster Seat?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by inversnecky, Apr 9, 2021.

  1. inversnecky

    inversnecky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2020
    Messages:
    1,404
    Likes Received:
    476
    I remember from MS Flight Simulator in years gone by, that you could raise your POV in the cockpit for better visibility.

    Is there such a facility in TS? I couldn't see anything listed in the keyboard list in game.

    I was struggliing with poor visibility in this Deltic. I need a booster seat!

    20210409141844_1.jpg
     
  2. dunkrez

    dunkrez Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2019
    Messages:
    1,084
    Likes Received:
    887
    You can edit the bin files directly to adjust the cab cam. Usually called something like loco_cab_cam.bin. Use TS tools to edit the file, the value you want to change is usually around about 2.6 mark. Just save the edit and restart your scenario and that's it.

    If you need more guidance than that, I'll sort a screen shot out when I'm back at my dev pc.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  3. 749006

    749006 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2016
    Messages:
    5,587
    Likes Received:
    1,623
    You go in to the Camera file depending on the loco as to it's name
    For the normal Deltic in the BR Blue Pack01 it is called Class 55 Cab camera.bin
    and that is in railworks\Assets\DTG\BRBluePack01\RailVehicles\Diesel\Class55\Default\CabView
    So look for a CabView folder in the Deltic pack

    Then you adjust with TS Tools the setting
    I was just changing one of those I have for a different loco

    <cameraOffset>
    <cRVector3>
    <X d:type="sFloat32">-0.604000</X>
    <Y d:type="sFloat32">2.730000</Y>
    <Z d:type="sFloat32">6.670000</Z>
    </cRVector3>
    </cameraOffset>

    The Y parameter controls the height so what ever this number is change it slightly I changed mine from 2.730000 to 2.900000
    You have to experiment to you are happy.

    I did the same with the Class 73 as I was sitting too low for me
     
    • Like Like x 3
  4. Reef

    Reef Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2018
    Messages:
    1,079
    Likes Received:
    637
    Or buy a TrackIR and when you're a bit too low you stoop down a little then hit the reset TrackIR key it then resets you but this time slightly higher, been using this method naturally for so long now I forgot that your issue was an issue.

    Seriously, buy a TrackIR it revolutionises the "realness" of actually being in a cab (more so than any controller in fact), I guarantee you would not regret it!
     
  5. 749006

    749006 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2016
    Messages:
    5,587
    Likes Received:
    1,623
    So how cheap is that?
     
  6. Reef

    Reef Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2018
    Messages:
    1,079
    Likes Received:
    637
    Cheaper than a RailDriver or a PBC that's for sure, Officially the pro pack is £184.99 but you can get them much cheaper > Google shopping link
    I'm not saying it's a cheaper alternative to altering/editing files I'm saying it's a cracking piece of kit for enhancing your sim playing (not just TS but any sim even Mil sims).
     
  7. fatnslo#7264

    fatnslo#7264 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2021
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    14
    I use the Delani clip which works perfectly and is much cheaper than the Trackir at £49.15.
     
  8. Peter Hayes

    Peter Hayes Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2016
    Messages:
    515
    Likes Received:
    241
    Reef
    Any tips on how to set up the Track IR - I used to get it to work fine in FSX but have failed abysmally in TS20xx - I get seasick after about 5 minutes. A good guide would be very useful.
    pH
     
  9. Reef

    Reef Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2018
    Messages:
    1,079
    Likes Received:
    637
    I've left everything on default for my TS profile other than changing the keybinds for pause and reset, now ETS2 was another matter that took weeks of fine tuning.
     
  10. Peter Hayes

    Peter Hayes Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2016
    Messages:
    515
    Likes Received:
    241
    Yes, I finally got ETS2 to work - took ages!! I will persist with TS!
     
  11. tsonboard

    tsonboard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2020
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    8
    Free head tracker software maybe worth a try

     
  12. Reef

    Reef Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2018
    Messages:
    1,079
    Likes Received:
    637
    The problem I've heard with these tracker alternatives is they've been known to cause issues with mouse tracking and or other controller software, I have never had any such issues in nearly a decade of use.
     
    • Like Like x 2

Share This Page