Building My Own Cab Controls

Discussion in 'Creators Club' started by krijba, Nov 17, 2020.

1. krijba

krijba New Member

Hi everyone!

My name's Chris and I'm new to the form, but have been playing TS and later TSW for at least 10 years. I usually work as theatre technician in Switzerland, but as there ist not much theatre around lately, I have some time at my hands. So I have decided to build my own mini-cab for my personal simulation needs.
    I want to share my progress here to maybe find some other people who tried/are trying to do the same thing or could point out some potential problems that could pop up further down the way. Or maybe someone could be inspired to do the same thing and learn from my own mistakes, which I have already made and probably will make plenty of.

Goals

With TSW, I am not looking for realism, but for immersion. I don't really care at the moment if something is exactly like the original, as long as it feels like it could be original-like. For my project, this means I am not going for a replica of any one cab. I just want to eliminate the immersion-breaking feeling of a controller in my hands or searching for the right letter on the keyboard.
    At the moment I find the german routes the most interesting, mostly because of the way the signals let you drive with all the HUD off without learning too much about the route itself. I guess this will be represented in the general layout of the controls, but it is definitely the goal to drive other trains as well.
    I originally had a look at Raildriver, as its support was announced in the roadmap. However, I don't like the look of it and I don't think it offers what I want. Also, it is quite expensive. For the construction, I set myself a not so strict budget of 200.- CHF (around 20% cheaper than Raildriver).