Catan Console Edition Issues Since Latest Update

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by siren#3656, Feb 22, 2024.

  1. siren#3656

    siren#3656 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2024
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    1. Cities & Knights is automatically enabled, so it has to be toggled off to play the regular version

    2. when attempting to place the initial 2 settlements while playing locally against AI most of the spaces are unavailable for placement as if they’re place marked for AI.
     
  2. anaeme#1541

    anaeme#1541 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2024
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    2
    Same here w point 2 - three humans, one AI - many possibilities are blocked (online, not local)
     

    Attached Files:

  3. Dingledr

    Dingledr New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2024
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Same for Switch console when playing local match. Really frustrating when attempting to expand a bit and then your resources count for nothing.
     
  4. Skick3

    Skick3 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2024
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Add-On Cities and Knights. The nasty variant does seem bugged, as you cannot select knights when barbs attack
     
  5. jrago#1564

    jrago#1564 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2024
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    2. On xbox if I close the game and restart it fixes the unavailable slots every time. I'm at the point that I just restart the game after every finish.
     
  6. dtg_jan

    dtg_jan Community Manager Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2023
    Messages:
    551
    Likes Received:
    2,020
    Hello everyone,

    we are aware of this issue and are working on a solution, as soon as we have more info we'll let you know.

    All the best,
    Jan
     
  7. swigg#9537

    swigg#9537 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2024
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Also, I notice the AI can get commodities using the Aquaduct perk but only resources are available for human players
     
  8. dotsiq

    dotsiq New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2024
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    3
    Um... When You gonna fix the game?
    There are only 2 maps. Random is always the same :/ People stoped playing it... It's been over 2 weeks :/
     
    • Like Like x 1
  9. dtg_jan

    dtg_jan Community Manager Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2023
    Messages:
    551
    Likes Received:
    2,020
    Hello everyone,

    quick update on the map randomisation issue, we believe we have found a solution and are currently submitting it to the different platforms for review. As soon as we can confirm the solution works we'll send out a patch and share the news.

    Thank you for your continued patience,
    Jan
     
    • Like Like x 1
  10. sdenmon#9231

    sdenmon#9231 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2023
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    9
    How. In. The. World. Is. This. Still. A. Problem.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  11. lexward

    lexward New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2024
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    3
    Thanks for the updates, and I do appreciate the hard work that goes into development.

    However, as it stands the game has unfortunately become more or less unplayable for our group. Our 2 main issues are.
    1. Map randomisation bug (as you mentioned)
    2. There are some positions where settlements and roads cannot be placed, even in a 4 player game. This doesn’t affect every game, but random regular games and C&K games. When it happens it really is a game killer for at least one player.
    Would love to know an ETA for the fixes as soon as you have one, as currently we’ve spent £60 between us for a game which frustratingly can’t be played. We’re all on PS5 by the way.

    Thanks in advance!
     
    Last edited: Mar 25, 2024
    • Like Like x 2
  12. AirGordon

    AirGordon New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2024
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    4
    Been two weeks surely theres an update by now?
     
    • Like Like x 1
  13. sdenmon#9231

    sdenmon#9231 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2023
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    9
    What he said
     
    • Like Like x 1
  14. winterholly#9340

    winterholly#9340 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2024
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    1
    It is now almost May and the randomization problem(the biggest issue) has not been fixed while it could have been fixed by just rolling back the last update since the randomization is by far the most off putting problem. Will this ever be fixed for the PS5? When can we expect an update or at least for the last update to be rolled back?
     
    • Like Like x 1
  15. sdenmon#9231

    sdenmon#9231 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2023
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    9
    winterholly#9340 I've played against you, and mad props, you’re a formidable opponent

    Also, couldn’t agree more. I’m convinced that they are just creating a whole new game that they’ll make us pay for. I, for one, won’t buy it.
     
  16. lexward

    lexward New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2024
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    3
    Four of us bought the game, then the C&K expansion, both of which are now unplayable. We’ve had too many games ruined by game killing bugs that we’ve had to stop playing. It’s been so long now without any fix that a refund may be the only recourse. Please devs, give us some news or let me know how to get my money back.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  17. jimjim70

    jimjim70 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2024
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi all

    New to the forum & this console edition of the game. Forgive me if in my descriptions below I get the terminology wrong but I have noticed some odd things involving Al in the game:

    1. Why do AI players try and trade with you when you clearly have no resources? In real life this would never happen as you’d all see who has what on the table? Sure, I could take the trading option off but this should be a given understood by the game tech, no?

    2. This one I can only explain by a possible scenario that could have happened in a game the other night but didn’t. So I was on my “alternate turn” (the other me where you can only build or 3:1 trade) and I finally got the 10 points to win but..it didn’t announce me as winner & moved on the next player. Luckily I was 3 points clear so the remaining players were never going to catch me so when it came to my main turn, ding-ding winner..without even throwing the dice. But why didn’t that happen earlier? I wonder if tech was focussed on the victory point cards that had to be put down at the end before winning but..I didn’t have any so why wasn’t victory declared earlier? Plus if in the unlikely event someone did “win” on their main turn even after I had already reached 10, who would be the winner? Especially as I said I didn’t have victory point cards.
     
  18. grandma cookie

    grandma cookie New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2024
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Good Evening,
    Question: Upgraded Base Catan to Cities and Nights, ps4/Playstation store online. Menu has a choice Catan or Cities and Nights. When we don't have 2 hours for a game, we want to play the base game. Selecting Catan, allows select 3 player (1 AI), but it is Cities and nights. Is it a glitch that has locked us out of original game???
     

Share This Page