1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Class 40 Sounds

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by inversnecky, Mar 28, 2021.

  1. inversnecky

    inversnecky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2020
    Messages:
    1,399
    Likes Received:
    474
    Besides the now fixed 64 bit looping sounds on the AP Class 40, another comment I read somewhere was that the sounds were perhaps a bit too quiet compared to the real thing.

    I recently acquired the 40145 and that too had much quieter sounds than, say, a 37, from outside too.

    I never really saw them in real life, but from what I've seen on YT videos, the real thing does sound a little louder.

    What are others opinions? Does anyone else notice a difference? Is there a way to "crank up th volume" in the sound files somewhere?
     
  2. 749006

    749006 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2016
    Messages:
    5,357
    Likes Received:
    1,570
    I have noticed if you run the loco from the cab it does seem a little quieter than I remember riding in them ;)
    If you go to the outside window view they are a lot noisier and they are in view 2
    There is a way to crank up the volume - I have a knob on the speakers - but I have never tried adjusting the locos files
     
  3. inversnecky

    inversnecky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2020
    Messages:
    1,399
    Likes Received:
    474
    Yes of course, I have tried that, but it just means you get deafened by an AWS alert!
     
  4. ntypeman

    ntypeman Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2018
    Messages:
    950
    Likes Received:
    226
    As you would per real life... I'm on annual leave for the next 2 weeks & the Mrs is in work till Tuesday so I'm determined to hook up my sons gaming chair that has inbuilt speakers up to the laptop while she's in work & crank up the volume... :cool::D
     
    • Like Like x 1
  5. Pookeyhead

    Pookeyhead Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2018
    Messages:
    2,524
    Likes Received:
    1,053
    The external 40 sounds are WAY too quiet.
     
  6. inversnecky

    inversnecky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2020
    Messages:
    1,399
    Likes Received:
    474
    That’s my thinking. Do you know how the tweak the volume in the files?
     
  7. Pookeyhead

    Pookeyhead Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2018
    Messages:
    2,524
    Likes Received:
    1,053
    I don't, sorry. I wish I did. There's hardly any difference between internal and external sounds, which is unusual for AP products, as the outside sounds is deafening compared to internal normally... as it should be.
     
  8. inversnecky

    inversnecky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2020
    Messages:
    1,399
    Likes Received:
    474
    Maybe the same, generous, AP fairy that read about the sound looping issue and sorted it will also read this, and an update will be anounced in a week or two :)
     
  9. 749006

    749006 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2016
    Messages:
    5,357
    Likes Received:
    1,570
    I think you need to compare the proxybin files for the 40 and something else, like the 37, and see if there is a volume setting
     
    • Like Like x 1
  10. Pookeyhead

    Pookeyhead Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2018
    Messages:
    2,524
    Likes Received:
    1,053
    Can't find the files... They're not in the AP folder any way.
     
  11. 749006

    749006 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2016
    Messages:
    5,357
    Likes Received:
    1,570
    They would not be for the Class 40 as they did not make it
     
  12. Pookeyhead

    Pookeyhead Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2018
    Messages:
    2,524
    Likes Received:
    1,053
    I don't have a RailRight folder either. That's who made it isn't it?
     
  13. 749006

    749006 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2016
    Messages:
    5,357
    Likes Received:
    1,570
    That is weird as I have my class 40s Blue, Green and Mainline in the RailRight folder - where are yours?
    40.jpg

    Peter
     
  14. Pookeyhead

    Pookeyhead Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2018
    Messages:
    2,524
    Likes Received:
    1,053
    Forgive me.. I didn't have my Assets folder arranged alphabetically... just didn't see it. It is the same as yours
    Screenshot 2021-03-29 17.21.09.png
     

Share This Page