Clinchfield Wheel Slip Problems When Going Up A 1.5%grade Hill While Stopped And Accelerating Again

Discussion in 'PlayStation Discussion' started by computer.wizdj3, Aug 17, 2021.

  1. computer.wizdj3

    computer.wizdj3 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2020
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    13
    each freight loco i use has that problem can that be fixed or no
     
  2. Hiro Protagonist

    Hiro Protagonist Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2021
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    119
    Do you have all MU and DPU locomotives set up correctly? Are you waiting for the brake pipe to recharge and release the brakes in all the wagons (this can take several minutes on long consists, you need to hold everything on the loco/independent brake)? Are you only applying enough power to get you moving or going straight to Power Level 8? Is it raining? Are you applying sand? What locomotives and wagons make up your consist?

    There are many many elements to this question.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  3. breblimator

    breblimator Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2019
    Messages:
    3,088
    Likes Received:
    3,516
  4. computer.wizdj3

    computer.wizdj3 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2020
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    13
    well i have trains from great western express(class 166 or 66ews)
    cane creek (ac4400w this route has 2 trains and they r both union pacific
    clinchfield (the route we r talking about)
    the german routes(hard to pronounce) (usually db trains)
    penninsula corridor(union pacific)
    sandpatch grade(csx)
    and ones from west coast railway
    NTP and TVL
    bakerloo line
    and coming soon the boston sprinter
    and the french route with the TGV duplex train
     
    Last edited: Aug 18, 2021
  5. Hiro Protagonist

    Hiro Protagonist Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2021
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    119
    That doesn't answer any of the points I raised...
     
    • Like Like x 2
  6. computer.wizdj3

    computer.wizdj3 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2020
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    13
    u did ask what trains i had and that's what i said
     
  7. ShodanCat

    ShodanCat Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2020
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    62
    No. "What locomotives and wagons make up your consist?" is not the same as "what DLCs do you own for Train Sim World 2?"
     
    • Like Like x 2
  8. schram.bryan

    schram.bryan Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2020
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    17
    Is it the SD-40?
     
  9. Hiro Protagonist

    Hiro Protagonist Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2021
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    119
    As ShodanCat said, I asked what locomotive and wagons make up the train that you're having wheel-slip troubles in (if you have insufficient power, or too long a train, or it is fully loaded, or the MUs aren't set up properly etc etc then you can easily have traction issues). It's like you've gone to a mechanic and said "there's a problem with my car", they ask you what gear does it happen in, and you talk about the clothes you were wearing at the time....
     
    • Like Like x 1
  10. ShodanCat

    ShodanCat Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2020
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    62
    computer.wizdj3 at minimum, check the following:

    - make sure that the loco is setup properly when your service or scenario loads up. the MU valve (located on the lower left side of the control stand) is set to "lead or dead" and the brakes are cut in

    - use the sander as long as you need to get moving
     
  11. chieflongshin

    chieflongshin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2019
    Messages:
    1,930
    Likes Received:
    2,413
    1. Ensure brakes are set to lead and freight
    2. Ensure train brakes are fully released, these can take 3-5mins to charge up to 90psi (or whatever measurement is)
    3. Ensure you’ve enabled power on the locos ,not sure what it is on ps5 but it’s the switch that you enable it disables train and dynamic brake with (B,1,2,3,4). It’s the “<“ and “>” keys on pc.
    4. Set power to notch 3 and leave it there, release loco brake and you’ll eventually creep forward.
    Some of the clinchfield trains take some throttle patience, they’re a 4000tonne train. As you get up to 4-5mph you can then go to notch 4 etc. If you go too quick your ampere meter jumps into orange, you spin and have to start again.

    The above takes yet more finesse and skill in snow or rain
     

Share This Page