"denied, Your Train Appears Off Path" - Red Signal

Discussion in 'PC Discussion' started by BinaryRun, Oct 29, 2020.

  1. BinaryRun

    BinaryRun Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2020
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    93
    Hi guys,

    So I'm really new to the game and I'm currently cruising through the Bakerloo scenario's. In my last one I overshot at Wembley station, so I reserved a few yards. However the signal already turned red.

    Whenever I tried to contact the signaler, no matter if I was 4yrds or 12 from the signal, it just kept saying "Denied, your train appears off path.". What is that all about? In the end I failed the scenario because getting closer then 2/3 yrds trigged a scenario failed for crossing a red light.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  2. Maxboy444

    Maxboy444 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2020
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    18
    You gotta restart the service. Sorry mate.
     
    • Like Like x 5
  3. BinaryRun

    BinaryRun Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2020
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    93
    How can you be off path though? Is that because being behind that red light is outside of the scenario script and thus it doesn't know how to respond?
     
  4. ARuscoe

    ARuscoe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2018
    Messages:
    6,591
    Likes Received:
    6,025
    When you passed the light the first time it tripped to red, which is what it should have done.
    When you reversed back the signal isn't scripted to clear automatically, nor is there means to do so in game (that I know of)
    So then you're stuck and end up SPADding or quitting.

    Not sure if DTG will class it as a bug and try to fix it or if it's an intentional thing, because in real life you don't just "back up the train" if you overrun...
     
    • Like Like x 1
  5. Crosstie

    Crosstie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2016
    Messages:
    1,829
    Likes Received:
    3,340
    I've seen this in other routes too, SPG for instance. As far as I know there is no cure other than a restart I'm afraid. What triggers it seems entirely random.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. Cameron's Gaming

    Cameron's Gaming Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2016
    Messages:
    2,109
    Likes Received:
    2,760
    It's always been in TSW that if you run past a signal, it goes red. You then cannot reverse back behind that signal.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  7. BinaryRun

    BinaryRun Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2020
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    93
    I thought that is why we have a 'contact signaller' button. What is that used for if it isn't for clearing red signals?
     
    • Like Like x 2
  8. davidh0501

    davidh0501 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2020
    Messages:
    727
    Likes Received:
    1,049
    Usually when I get that message I'm supposed to be moving in the other direction.
    Red just means a forced exit.
    Check the direction indicator.
     
  9. BinaryRun

    BinaryRun Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2020
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    93
    I know for certain that I was going in the right direction. ;)
     
  10. Cameron's Gaming

    Cameron's Gaming Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2016
    Messages:
    2,109
    Likes Received:
    2,760
    It's used to request passage through a red signal. That's it. The TSW dispatcher can't handle you reversing past a signal when it's not expecting you to. Also possibly why it doesn't clear an instruction when you completely miss a station.
     
    Last edited: Oct 29, 2020
  11. Quentin

    Quentin Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2016
    Messages:
    201
    Likes Received:
    171
    The moral of this tale is: save frequently! ;)
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Helpful Helpful x 1
  12. ARuscoe

    ARuscoe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2018
    Messages:
    6,591
    Likes Received:
    6,025
    In TSx you'd contact the signaller for issues such as a broken or malfunctioning signal, entering or dispatching from yards, entering sections already occupied (such as joining services together) etc etc
    In TSW there is the "glitch" that you can't clear an overrun signal by reversing past, but it's not really a glitch because you shouldn't have passed the signal in the first place.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  13. montes_1234

    montes_1234 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2020
    Messages:
    364
    Likes Received:
    355
    TSW signaller is not capable of changing signals. You just have green which turns red auto when you pass it. So when you reverse behind that signal it should turn green automaticaly but if not it should let you pass if contact the signaller. It should be so simple to implement and I am affraid even to think how they will implement more complex signaling operations. But they are not committing to any improvements regarding signaling. So how on earth it is hard to programme the game to know if one, two or three sections ahead are clear of trains and than the signals to act accordingly. Very important in train simulation is signalling.
     
    • Like Like x 4
  14. 2martens

    2martens Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2020
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    103
    Actually, it is like that in reality (in Germany). Pure block signals without junctions to the next main signal usually change automatically, if a path is already reaching that signal. At the start somewhere stands a manual signalling.

    If a train overshoots the station and hence passes the signal, you cannot simply reverse. Especially, if your rear already passed that signal. In that case another train behind you might already entering that segment.
    Mostly, you will continue to the next scheduled stop and say a big sorry to the passengers. I experienced this once in an ICE which overshot Solingen Hbf. It stopped behind the station, probably a conversation happened with the dispatcher, and the train continued to Wuppertal Hbf with passengers having to take a local train back to Solingen.

    Passengers with target Solingen got delayed big by this (roughly 1h) but the other passengers in the train could continue without a lot of delay. Reversing wouldn't happen from the front cab. The engineer would have to go the other end of the train, power it properly up, drive back to the station, then power down again, etc. Time loss certainly 15-20 minutes. Following trains would have to be re-routed or would get delays as well.
     
    • Like Like x 6
  15. skyMutt

    skyMutt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2019
    Messages:
    479
    Likes Received:
    1,247
    That would be all fine and dandy if only TSW would realize that the player did indeed overshoot the platform, and allow them the option to just continue to the next station. But it doesn't, and that right there is a bit of an oversight.
    As a player you have to complete that objective (stopping at a station) before proceeding to the next objective. The dispatcher in TSW is arguably rudimentary, and frankly its a bit disappointing that the whole entire session ends as soon as you pass a red signal. Its even more frustrating when you learn that it doesn't really give you any other option, and basically forces you to fail the scenario if you backtrack past a signal.
     
    • Like Like x 5
  16. Rudolf

    Rudolf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2016
    Messages:
    1,601
    Likes Received:
    2,051
    What you can try is, drive back, hit the SPAD and then load the last checkpoint. In that case no need to redo the whole service, but it depends if the save function is working good enough.
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Helpful Helpful x 1
  17. rat7_mobile

    rat7_mobile Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2020
    Messages:
    438
    Likes Received:
    151
    Becareful, as the "last checkpoint" does not work in Journey mode, in fact the option is not even present in Journey mode
     
  18. Quentin

    Quentin Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2016
    Messages:
    201
    Likes Received:
    171
    The option to Save works in Journey mode and then (if necessary, which it often is for me ;)) you can restart from the last saved point, and then continue the 'journey'. On local runs, I usually try to save at each station.
     
  19. Rudolf

    Rudolf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2016
    Messages:
    1,601
    Likes Received:
    2,051
    Last checkpoint is available in Journeys as well, but not for the starting location and not if you set auto start for journeys.For the starting location it only offers to restart the game.Later in your gameplay it works as well as the save function works (which is not great). I used this several times at ECW and it works.
     
  20. Quentin

    Quentin Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2016
    Messages:
    201
    Likes Received:
    171
    It's true that autostart takes you back to the beginning of your last uncompleted journey, but then you just need ESC and take the option back to the main menu, where you can select the last saved point. I use this a lot, and it works.
     
  21. Jack O'Track

    Jack O'Track Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2019
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    86
    I think we'd all benefit if there's a main settings option called Signals On-Off. Or a 'God Mode' On-Off.
    More for the pure gamers part of us ...

    Programming trains & train routes in Il2 Sturmovik is actually far more fun. Alas you cant drive them in that game. Here they push one another steam pouring out of their pores. They even shoot each other if you assign them to different parties:

    Train Meet.jpg
     
    Last edited: Nov 2, 2020
  22. geloxo

    geloxo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2018
    Messages:
    724
    Likes Received:
    1,194
    This problem can be sometimes solved if the route contains manual switches. In that case you can simply set another route by moving the switches and set again the orignal route afterwards. That will generate a new permission to drive and clear signals after you reversed. If route is automated by dispatcher then you most likely need to restart the scenario, as another AI train may have taken the route already.

    Cheers
     
    • Helpful Helpful x 1
  23. steve08

    steve08 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2020
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    25
    I just overshot a station on rapid transit that had a signal at the end. If you train is long enough you can reverse back to the platform but ensure that the train does not completely pass the signal again and you wont fail just tried it myself
     
  24. solicitr

    solicitr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2020
    Messages:
    5,283
    Likes Received:
    7,533
    Real life, too. As soon as you enter a block, it's occupied, and the guard signal changes accordingly.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  25. jasonhaigneylim

    jasonhaigneylim Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2020
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    8
    I get what you're saying about contacting the signal operator to say you've passed a red, but in-game the operator is limited and passing a red basically breaks the AI. They would end up crashing into you or blocking the line. You don't want to drive for one hour to only get stuck because you ran a red and messed up the signals.
     
  26. space_ace96

    space_ace96 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2019
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    111
    It's pretty much only used in scenarios that require it and services where you need to move into an occupied block to couple to a train, such as a banking service or one of the rescue services in Peninsula Corridor. I don't see not having the ability to back up to a station you missed as being that unfair. In real life, as others have mentioned, it isn't an option, and missing a station should not happen if you are paying attention. Additionally, if you do miss a station as a real driver, you will be in serious trouble and may not be driving again for a little bit. So being unable to complete the service when that happens is only fair, but it would be better if it was an auto-fail like SPADs rather than leaving you to quit out.
     
  27. jasonhaigneylim

    jasonhaigneylim Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2020
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    8
    Just to add, I have read that if a real driver goes past a red then he cannot stop, he must miss that station and continue to the next station. I suppose it's a bit like sitting in your car in the middle to a traffic junction, you can't just sit there after a red because the opposite traffic has been given a green.

    When you going through a yellow you need to slow down to the yellow speed limit depending on country and at that speed you would have no issue stopping at a red.
    But at times the stop marker is too close to the red and people go trough the red.
    You can always save when you see a red, even though the save game feature is broken :D
     
    • Like Like x 1
  28. paulc

    paulc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2021
    Messages:
    431
    Likes Received:
    717
    I did this last night CL31 rescue scenario, I was entering Lackenby yard & passed my stop point which was right in front of a signal, couldn't go back, scenario wanted me to stop at that exact point! Restart time.
     
  29. Cameron's Gaming

    Cameron's Gaming Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2016
    Messages:
    2,109
    Likes Received:
    2,760
    Stop at markers offer absolutely no mercy for undershooting, I think if any part of the train is on top of it, it's fine (so you can overshoot by about 50m but not undershoot by 50m). IMHO it should be a range (ie it completes if any part of the train is within 10m for example). As demonstrated in the Raildriver stream last year, the AI drivers (unlike in TS1) drive on sight so it shouldn't really effect the AI if you're undershooting a bit. Matt showed in the (now deleted) editor stream for TSW2020 (back when a public editor was still on the table) that a train can park in a platform at any place along said platform and then an AI can couple up it. I don't see why these stop markers need to be so strict.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  30. paul.pavlinovich

    paul.pavlinovich Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2020
    Messages:
    1,324
    Likes Received:
    1,504
    Basically yes. If you overshoot a station and have passed a signal during your overshoot, just back up until at least one door is on the platform - keeping the front of your train beyond the signal and then everything will work fine. It means all your passengers have to walk to the back of the train to get off but they'll live ;).
     
  31. jasonhaigneylim

    jasonhaigneylim Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2020
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    8
    I think you have misunderstood what the OP is saying. He's talking about passing a red then the game will exit to the menu. Not over-shooting a platform and reversing.
     
  32. space_ace96

    space_ace96 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2019
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    111
    OP literally stated that their problem was overshooting Wembley, and that as soon as the cab passes a green signal, it became red, so when they backed into the station, they could not pass the signal that was now red without failing the service. THAT's when the SPAD happened.
     
    • Like Like x 3
  33. paul.pavlinovich

    paul.pavlinovich Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2020
    Messages:
    1,324
    Likes Received:
    1,504
    I beg to differ - the original text of the question in the first post in this thread from BinaryRun is "... In my last one I overshot at Wembley station, so I reserved a few yards. However the signal already turned red..." and the secondary part of the problem is that if they reverse back into the station then get going again they pass a signal and SPAD when they try to move again so I gave them a tactic to be able to do what they need to do in order to complete a scenario or service.

    Paul
     
  34. jasonhaigneylim

    jasonhaigneylim Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2020
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    8
    Oh ok, then I misunderstood it, my bad, sorry.
     
  35. davejc64

    davejc64 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2017
    Messages:
    265
    Likes Received:
    387
    In my opinion you should not get dumped out the game for a spad, yes you should have to contact the signaller before proceeding and then made to proceed at a reduced speed if the line is clear until the next signal where you then have to contact the signaller again before proceeding, dumping you out of the game and therefore quitting the service is unrealistic it doesn't happen in real life and this is supposed to be a simulation which is supposed to reflect real life. In TS2021 you get the choice in the options whether a spad end the service or not they could do the same in TSW 2 too, just an idea.
     
  36. paulc

    paulc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2021
    Messages:
    431
    Likes Received:
    717
    You should at the menu get your written warning & told to pay attention or get fired next time :D
     
  37. box215

    box215 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2019
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    110
    Dumping you out of the service isn't realistic no
    In real life you'd have to explain to your boss how you failed at your job and put REAL lives at risk. Maybe some drugs test upcoming as well
    How do you suppose TSW recreate that?
     
  38. paul.pavlinovich

    paul.pavlinovich Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2020
    Messages:
    1,324
    Likes Received:
    1,504
    In real life if you caught it in time (e.g. station over-run) where you didn't foul another line you'd be up for a hearing, a drug & alcohol test, retraining and potentially demotion. If you didn't catch it in time you're probably dead, or if you're unlucky enough to survive standing in front of the coroner/magistrate explaining your contribution to the deaths of people on both trains.

    I don't like that it dumps me out of the game, but I do respect that it needs to do something so you don't make light of it.

    Paul
     

Share This Page