PC Difference Between Tsw 2020 And Ts 2020

Discussion in 'TSW General Discussion' started by di9girl, Dec 10, 2019.

1. di9girl

di9girl New Member

Hello, newbie here :)

Just looking at both games and wondering what the difference is? I see TSW 2020 has 15 DLC on Steam (I've noted the fact the others listed are included in the Digital Deluxe version), but TS 2020 has an eye-watering almost 600! :o

I've never played either game before but I've really gotten into watching train cams online so wanted to try one of the games and found these when doing my searching.

Thanks in advance... :)

2. thearkerportian

thearkerportian Well-Known Member

Hello!

Well, both games are train driving simulators, both are from Dovetail. They're basically two different generations of simulators. Which one is better suited for you, really depends on what you look for in a train simulator:

TS2020 is the most recent version of a much older series of games. The graphics aren't as nice, you can't get out of the train, but in turn, it has lots and lots of additional content (routes, trains,...), thanks to having existed so much longer.

TSW is newer, hence there are not so many routes/trains available as of now. The star at the party is the graphics and insane amount of visual detail - the price of which being that you need a fairly powerful PC to enjoy it fully, and the content that does exist, tends to be more pricy as well compared to TS20xx. TSW also allows/requires you to get out of you driver's seat and cab, walk around and explore the outside world.

Last edited: Dec 10, 2019
    • Like Like x 1
  3. hyperlord

hyperlord Well-Known Member

I started with TS2019 and were ... overwhelmed. Didn't play more than 10 hours and felt really lost most of the times.

Then I gave TSW a try and play almost nothing else since, 500 hours recorded. I joined when half of the DLC wasn't there so it was "cheap to catch up" - there are Deluxe Editions with many routes already included.