Differences Between Ts And Tsw

Discussion in 'Off Topic' started by carlissimok, May 1, 2020.

Tags:
  1. carlissimok

carlissimok New Member

I am looking for train simulation software and found Train Simulator and Train Sim World, both from dovetail.
    I studied the websites and now I am confused.
    What are the main differences between these two programs?
    Why are there even two of them?
    Could someone explain as short as possible?
    THX!

2. Tay95

Tay95 Well-Known Member

My personal opinion - TSW is much better with its graphics and such like.
    TS will have more DLC routes.

I love TSW but my favourite route London to Brighton is only on TS so I have just been playing that.

• Like Like x 1
  3. LastTrainToClarksville

LastTrainToClarksville Well-Known Member

This may not be a major difference, but it seems like one to me: in TSW, engine cabs offer many more operating controls. Moreover, cab windows can be opened and it's possible to stick your avatar's head out a window while driving. This may not seem like much of an advantage, but after driving TSW for quite a while when I returned recently to TS I really missed this kind of realism.
    Visually, TSW is much more realistic than TS in many ways, especially now that TSW2 is available. For example, TS foliage looks ridiculous compared to TSW; on the other hand, I find TS's skies much more believable than those in TSW2.

4. LastTrainToClarksville

LastTrainToClarksville Well-Known Member

5. RGoo

RGoo Member

I agree with most of this but I agree with the above post that TS is more demanding- i can do stable 60 FPS with small stutters on TSW2 but only 40 with prolonged drops to 15 on most TS routes

Last edited: Oct 26, 2020
  6. 749006

749006 Well-Known Member

TS2021 is a Driving Simulator and that is the main focus.
    There is a vast amount of Payware and Freeware available for the game -- the Train Simulator Workshop has 24,487 items