1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Does The 166 Support Tpws Overspeed Protection?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by AlexNL, Mar 22, 2018.

  1. AlexNL

    AlexNL Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2017
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    217
    Yesterday, after receiving the big update, I took a 166 on a spin from West Ealing to Paddington. I turned on the safety systems upon departure from West Ealing, with the DSD and Vigilance isolated. The TPWSIS isolation switch was left in the Normal position.

    As I was getting close to London, I did not decrease speed. Instead, I kept going at 80 mph. The train passed over several TPWS grids on the approach to Paddington. I was expecting these to put me to a stop as I would be overspeeding, but nothing happened. I applied the emergency breaks just before reaching the platforms but it was too late: I crashed into the buffer stops at 35 mph, derailing my train.

    Therefor my question: does GWE have TPWS OSS loops, anywhere? Does the 166 know what to do with them? And did I do something wrong (apart from overspeeding in the first place, of course!) by isolating something?
     
  2. Corvan

    Corvan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2017
    Messages:
    528
    Likes Received:
    708
    Did you isolate AWS at all?
     
  3. AlexNL

    AlexNL Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2017
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    217
    No, the AWS was active. I had to acknowledge it a couple of times.
     
  4. pschlik

    pschlik Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2016
    Messages:
    875
    Likes Received:
    1,533
    TPWS does seem pretty broken, much like there are no flashing aspects....still. I’ve only ever had a TPWS induced stop at Reading.
     
  5. Corvan

    Corvan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2017
    Messages:
    528
    Likes Received:
    708
    I used to get TPWS stops with the Class 66 just outside Reading but that was a bug which was fixed ages back. I haven't experienced any more but then I do drive to avoid that scenario.

    From what I understand; TPWS is activated alongside AWS, so turning on AWS should turn on both. I also understand this is based on the real system.

    It would be shame if it is broken; it shouldn't be the most complicated system to implement.
     
    • Upvote Upvote x 1
  6. KMAC

    KMAC New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2018
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    3
    Can confirm TPWS active, AWS fuse on, it all ends up in a "dead" end :(
     
  7. Jezaroo

    Jezaroo New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2019
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    How do you turn on the AWS in a 166 please.
     
  8. AlexNL

    AlexNL Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2017
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    217
    Look on the wall behind the driver's seat. One of the switches is clickable and will enable AWS, TPWS and DSD.

    The keyboard shortcut is Shift+Enter.
     

Share This Page