1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Driving Habits Poll

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Puffing Nora, Oct 24, 2018.

?
  1. HUD on always

  2. HUD only when required

  3. HUD off, drive using route knowledge

  4. I drive referencing the HUD more than looking outside

  5. I drive referencing outside more than the HUD

  6. Driving safely and realistically is more important

  7. Sticking to the timetable is more important

Multiple votes are allowed.
Results are only viewable after voting.
  1. Puffing Nora

    Puffing Nora Guest

    Im kind of curious about this so thought id create my first ever poll. Dont be too critical- its just a bit of fun ;) multiple votes allowed. Feel free to comment on how you enjoy your train driving.
     
  2. Anthony Pecoraro

    Anthony Pecoraro Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    Messages:
    1,155
    Likes Received:
    1,214
    Interesting poll.
     
  3. cActUsjUiCe

    cActUsjUiCe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2017
    Messages:
    218
    Likes Received:
    534
    Depends entirely on the route. I know NEC extremely well, so I will not use HUD there. But if I was playing RSN, I would.
     
    • Upvote Upvote x 2
  4. Lawjester

    Lawjester Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2017
    Messages:
    374
    Likes Received:
    627
    This is an interesting question to ask because if you put a person on a foreign route to them (RSN to me for example) then I’d use the HUD. But if you put me on a route I know very well, then I wouldn’t use the HUD or any helpful in game pointers. This is one of those questions where it can never be a straight answer for anyone.
     
    • Upvote Upvote x 3
  5. Anthony Pecoraro

    Anthony Pecoraro Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    Messages:
    1,155
    Likes Received:
    1,214
    The only thing I need the HUD for in RSN is for station distances. The speed signs are very visible.
     
    • Useful Useful x 1
  6. PlatChap

    PlatChap Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2017
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    218
    I generally drive all the routes with the speedometer and stuff kept on on the bottom right. I manually turn the markers for the signals and speed limits on and off as needed using their associated macros to keep screen clutter down.
     
    • Upvote Upvote x 2
  7. Puffing Nora

    Puffing Nora Guest

    I recently went into the gameusersettings folder and turned everything to false except the next station distance counter. Im slowly getting to know GWE so I only pop it up when I need it but Im impressed at how much route knowledge is actually required. Ive more than once found myself either speeding like a lunatic or sat at 40mph leaving paddington when its an 85 limit.... The marker board system in RSN sounds good too! Thanks for the responses :) When the editor comes out and if its possible to do, it might be fun for someone to do an audio file like someone teaching a new driver the route. That might be an intetestingly different project..
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 25, 2018
  8. Daniel Bloch

    Daniel Bloch Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2016
    Messages:
    582
    Likes Received:
    1,139
    I mostly only use the objective distance and the next speed limit on the HUD. On RSN I don't need the next speed limit marker as all speed limits are announced on the signs or signals. But for NEC on the freight route or sandpatch it's usefull.

    I did build now my own version of the EBuLa so I can completly switch off the HUD on RSN, I only need to switch it on to see if the passenger loading is done.

    With "HUD" on my TSW looks like this, EBuLa on the right display:

    Dostos Cab:
    [​IMG]
    BR143:
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Oct 27, 2018
    • Upvote Upvote x 1
  9. Anthony Pecoraro

    Anthony Pecoraro Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    Messages:
    1,155
    Likes Received:
    1,214
    You don’t need it on NEC. ACSES helps to slow you down to the next speed.
     
  10. Daniel Bloch

    Daniel Bloch Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2016
    Messages:
    582
    Likes Received:
    1,139
    Anthony Pecoraro: There is no ACSES on the freight route and no speed signs.
     
  11. Anthony Pecoraro

    Anthony Pecoraro Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    Messages:
    1,155
    Likes Received:
    1,214
    True. I thought you meant the Amtrak line.
     

Share This Page