Favorite Routes

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by BigMountain555, Feb 13, 2020.

1. BigMountain555

BigMountain555 Well-Known Member

On a lighter note, just wondering which route is your favorite and why.

When I started playing these simulators a year ago, I was primarily interest in passenger services. I had a preference for US routes although I am Canadian. Over time, I started to like freight services. I also developed a like for German routes. I eventually started to like UK routes. I have since purchased routes from US, Germany, UK, France, Japan, Canada, and China.

I do not have a clear favorite, but I play routes based on the mood I am in. For example, I was tired after work and just wanted to relax and listen to some podcasts. I played the Canadian Mountain Passes because it is scenic and very relaxing. Other times, I feel like being on my toes so I play a busy passenger line such as South London, Chatham Mainline, or Peninsula Corridor.

I was just wondering what everybody's thoughts are regarding routes they like/enjoy/prefer. I am not interested in gripes and complaints which are all too common on this forum. Just looking for positivity for once. :)

• Like Like x 3
  2. Wivenswold

Wivenswold Well-Known Member

Hey, good question. I'm hoping some may remind me of DLC I've purchased and not tried yet.

My "default" has always been GEML as I live 4 miles from the route and commute on it so I guess that's my favourite, especially as I can drive the excellent Class 321 by Armstrong Powerhouse. Never tire of it, I do hope we get newer rolling stock for it soon.

WCML v5.2 is my absolute favourite though. For me it shows how good TS can be with some care and attention to detail. That it's free is remarkable.

Honourable mention to the Virtual District Line. Again freeware and even though the cab views are a little basic, the route is quality as are the sounds. I really hope they make it out to Upminster one day.

• Like Like x 1