Feedback: Why Ruhr-sieg Nord Is Still One Of The Best Routes 3 Years After Its Release

Discussion in 'PC Discussion' started by jolojonasgames, Oct 24, 2021.

  1. jolojonasgames

    jolojonasgames Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2020
    Messages:
    1,560
    Likes Received:
    3,890
    It doesn't, which would make it's addition even greater as it adds even more to the variety of freight locos on the route.

    By the way, on the topic of freight loco variety, why are the MRCE locos not available on RSN, they would also be great to see :).
     
    • Like Like x 3
  2. Jinoss17

    Jinoss17 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2020
    Messages:
    383
    Likes Received:
    812
    No layers with the BR204 on RSN at the moment.
     
  3. Richard CZE

    Richard CZE Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2020
    Messages:
    414
    Likes Received:
    429
    The BR 204 locomotive is very nice and would be suitable for the RSN route.
     
  4. TrainSim-Matt

    TrainSim-Matt Executive Producer Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2016
    Messages:
    969
    Likes Received:
    5,371
    Correct no layers for the 204 currently, which is one of the reasons I thought it might be nice to use that loco for the additional traffic - though I might set it up to be based on the 363 and let it sub-up to the 204 if available, so that the gameplay is available to people without requiring to buy another addon.

    MRCE trains don't sub in on RSN yet simply because the tagging on RSN is only looking for DB Cargo trains as MRCE ones didn't exist at the time - just needs a tag adding and it all checking, and then making sure we now don't run in to the memory constraints etc. Another one of those "the actual job is simple, the overall task is quite large" type jobs.
     
    • Like Like x 14
    • Helpful Helpful x 1
  5. driverwoods#1787

    driverwoods#1787 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2021
    Messages:
    3,351
    Likes Received:
    2,014
    good point and if you have train Sim world 2020 you get Main Spessart Bahn Aschaffenburg-Gemünden for PZB Action. On the Spessart Rampe section 2000hz Beeinflussung message occurs when you speed up to 110-130 km/h. For Ruhr-Sieg Nord this might be Finnentrop to Werdohl access to the power plant
     
  6. DB628

    DB628 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2019
    Messages:
    1,631
    Likes Received:
    2,287
    The Vossloh G6 want be great Matt to use this on other route as well.
    The 204 has an annoying sound Bug and the physics are wrong
     
  7. fabristunt

    fabristunt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2019
    Messages:
    469
    Likes Received:
    791
    Yeah, the 204 wouldn't be my choice either. It has many problems, including sound.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  8. fabristunt

    fabristunt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2019
    Messages:
    469
    Likes Received:
    791
    It was posted a page earlier...
     
  9. FD1003

    FD1003 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2019
    Messages:
    2,146
    Likes Received:
    3,206
    Had a quick check at what was posted and missed it, apologies, I deleted it
     
    Last edited: Oct 27, 2021
  10. Dinosbacsi

    Dinosbacsi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2017
    Messages:
    1,524
    Likes Received:
    2,549
    That would be pretty cool, and probably the best option to make as many people have access to the service as possible. If this happens, it's expected to happen with the upcoming RSN preservation update?
     
    • Like Like x 4
  11. solicitr

    solicitr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2020
    Messages:
    6,256
    Likes Received:
    8,924
    Given the weight of loaded coal trains, is the 363 up to it? It's a much smaller, less powerful shunter than the 204. Or maybe double-head them?
     
  12. TrainSim-Matt

    TrainSim-Matt Executive Producer Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2016
    Messages:
    969
    Likes Received:
    5,371
    At this point it is not happening, there's no plans to make it happen and nobody is working on it. I have no idea if there will be time for Adam's team to do this as part of their preservation tasks, or if i'll get time to work on it in my spare time.

    As I said earlier - no promises at all, this is just me getting info, because when i'm armed with info, things become at least "better than zero" chance of happening. This is something I'd *like* to see, it's little more than aspiration at this time and you should assume it is not there until you have hard evidence that it is.

    Sorry if that comes off blunt - but I need to be really clear so nobody runs away from this thread expecting things.

    So i'll just finish one more time so nobody does that:

    This is a delightful conversation that discusses a world of possibilities, but do not come away from this with any expectations at all.

    Matt.
     
    • Like Like x 11
  13. TrainSim-Matt

    TrainSim-Matt Executive Producer Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2016
    Messages:
    969
    Likes Received:
    5,371
    This would be my main concern and something that would need to checked while building the content. It may be it simply needs to be the 204, or that the coal train in Werdohl is taken up in two parts or something. That sounds even more fun :)
     
    • Like Like x 6
  14. Maik Goltz

    Maik Goltz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2016
    Messages:
    517
    Likes Received:
    2,032
    The 204 is not even a shunter at all. The 363 is more capable of doing that job than the 204 would be. But there is/must be a reason thy doing it with the 189 :)
     
    • Like Like x 2
  15. solicitr

    solicitr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2020
    Messages:
    6,256
    Likes Received:
    8,924
    Well, the V 100/204 was built as a dual-purpose engine- what EMD would call "general purpose" (hence the GP series). After all, the 204 was built with dual control stations, one facing each way. "Das Mitte der 1950er Jahre von der Deutschen Reichsbahn (DR) aufgestellte Diesellokprogramm zur Ablösung der Dampflokomotiven enthielt die Baureihen V 15, V 60, V 180 und V 240. Es fehlte jedoch eine Lokomotivbauart mit etwa 1.000 PS (ca. 700 kW) Leistung für den leichten bis mittleren Personen- und Güterzugdienst sowie den schweren Rangierdienst, die die Dampflokomotiven der Baureihen 38, 55, 57, 78 und 93 hätte ersetzen können."
     
  16. jolojonasgames

    jolojonasgames Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2020
    Messages:
    1,560
    Likes Received:
    3,890
    I think the 'V100' that offered the motive power for heavy shunting services might be reffering to the DR BR 111/DB BR 293. This was a version of the V100 with ballast for shunting, and a different gearing, resulting in a lower top speed (80 km/h). This one is quite different from the BR 204 in game technically speaking.

    However, generally the point holds true, the V100 family also did quite a bit of shunting throughout their lives. I do wonder however how both the BR 363 and BR 204 would hold up in front of a heavy coal train.
     
  17. Maik Goltz

    Maik Goltz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2016
    Messages:
    517
    Likes Received:
    2,032
    You are partly right. The type of locos, the V100 series, was invented as a general purpose loco. But only on special type of the V100 was then made for heavy shunting. All other V100, including that thing what we have as 204 in TSW, were made for mainline use only. Mostly branch line passenger and light freight trains. And yes, they use them today for some shunting too, but not for what a 363 could do.
     
    • Like Like x 3
  18. OldVern

    OldVern Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2020
    Messages:
    2,270
    Likes Received:
    3,132
    Once the 232 releases... problem solved!
     
    • Like Like x 5
  19. Richard CZE

    Richard CZE Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2020
    Messages:
    414
    Likes Received:
    429
    The BR 187 locomotive with last mile technology could still be used. Last mile technology would be a great option.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  20. DB628

    DB628 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2019
    Messages:
    1,631
    Likes Received:
    2,287
    Like Hagen and Wuppertal operated the DB BR 294.
    But it’s not on the game
     
  21. Dinosbacsi

    Dinosbacsi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2017
    Messages:
    1,524
    Likes Received:
    2,549
    No problem about that, it's understandable - but I like the concept of sharing ideas like this with the playerbase. Anyway, if it were to happen, I bet the community would be really happy, either if it was part of the preservaton update or simply added at a later date. I understand that it's not a promise, but I'll have my fingers crossed ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)

    Regarding the power of the 363 and the weight of the coal train, which locomotive was used for this job in real life? I mean before the line was electrified. Could the upcoming BR 232 be good for the job?
     
    • Like Like x 2
  22. Jonne1184

    Jonne1184 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2021
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    103
    I am surprised it had not been mentioned yet here, but since it had its patch, the 143 is a real marvel of German rolling stock in TSW and an essential part of this route.
     
    • Like Like x 3
  23. OldVern

    OldVern Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2020
    Messages:
    2,270
    Likes Received:
    3,132
    The sounds are very good. Just wish I could work out how to drive normally, i.e. without the AFB speed setter.
     
  24. mclitke

    mclitke Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2020
    Messages:
    1,225
    Likes Received:
    2,739
    I am afraid this is the normal way of driving the 143 :D

    Which is great, because it makes it different gameplay wise, as does the 155!
     
    • Like Like x 2
  25. redrev1917

    redrev1917 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2021
    Messages:
    624
    Likes Received:
    1,121
    normal is with the speed selector, so you are driving it right.
     
  26. Callum B.

    Callum B. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2018
    Messages:
    1,062
    Likes Received:
    1,798
    As mclitke said, that is the normal way of driving. However, you can still control it manually using the Hilfssteuerung control (the sticker erroneously says "Hilfssteuurung"), though it's not a ideal experience.

    upload_2021-10-27_11-27-48.png

    Cheers
     
  27. AhhCaffeine

    AhhCaffeine Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2021
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    32
    Why is your Talent 2 in the image the 5-car variant? This a mod? :0
     
  28. OldVern

    OldVern Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2020
    Messages:
    2,270
    Likes Received:
    3,132
    Got it. Just a shame there's no option to increase via 5 km/h intervals rather than 10 km/h.
     
  29. jolojonasgames

    jolojonasgames Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2020
    Messages:
    1,560
    Likes Received:
    3,890
    *ahem* yes, I had a mod installed at the time of making that screenshot that replaced the RE/RB services (except the Iserlohn bound one) with either a 5-car Talent 2 or a BR 425. I have removed the mod for a while now (I just wanted to have a fun drive with the Talent 2 and BR 425, but felt like the BR 143 fit the route better). I'm sorry, but I can't find the mod again.
     
  30. driverwoods#1787

    driverwoods#1787 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2021
    Messages:
    3,351
    Likes Received:
    2,014
    You mean Rangierbahnhof Hagen Vorhalle to where the DB BR294 is found in the area alongside DB BR363.
     
  31. driverwoods#1787

    driverwoods#1787 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2021
    Messages:
    3,351
    Likes Received:
    2,014
    This is actually in West Germany former Deutsche Bundesbahn Route and this line electrified from the 1950s all the way to the 1970s just like 1954-1957 Main Spessart Bahn. DB BR232 because it's an East German locomotive therefore you might need something that has the same power as it in West Germany Deutsche Bundesbahn network like a DB BR288
     
  32. Haribo112

    Haribo112 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2020
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    152
    Nowadays those 232s run all over Germany, so it will be fine. The best solution would be to electrify the tracks at Elverlingsen and just use the 146 and 143 for power as they did in real life.
    I think I can make out a couple of shunters on Google Maps sattelite view, tucked away at the far end of the yard, so you could also add some shunting services, building consists to be taken out of the power station yard by the locomotive after bringing full wagons. [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Oct 28, 2021
  33. Rudolf

    Rudolf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2016
    Messages:
    1,726
    Likes Received:
    2,246
    We love you Matt! and Adam!
     
    • Like Like x 4
  34. driverwoods#1787

    driverwoods#1787 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2021
    Messages:
    3,351
    Likes Received:
    2,014
    Well said and you mean the existing West German DB BR363 in the power plant or its East German counterpart the DR V100 DB BR204 inside it. Now the big question is this are the DB BR363 couplers a fully loaded Falns 183 Coal Wagons which the existing DB BR155 Brings inside the power plant waiting for DB BR363 204 G6. 146 does not carry Freight you are looking for its freight Doppelstockwagen capable version DB BR145
     
  35. Lamplight

    Lamplight Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2020
    Messages:
    1,891
    Likes Received:
    3,023
    The East German counterpart to the 363 would be the DR V60, not the 204.
     
  36. Tom Fresco

    Tom Fresco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2021
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    579
    I once made a scenario of the coal train with the 185.5 in the 4.23 Version (in a sort of complicated way with console commands, but it worked,) and in Real Life they are using 189s or electric locos in general, because as you can see in the Video in the First page, the Tracks to the plant are electrified.
    Maybe it is easier to "just" whack down some Overhead wires for scenery and let a 185 do the job rather than a extra 363 or 204 layer....
     
    • Like Like x 1
  37. Dinosbacsi

    Dinosbacsi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2017
    Messages:
    1,524
    Likes Received:
    2,549
    Got myself the 155 today with the ongoing say. It's pretty cool, I really like the retro feel to it.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    I mean just look at this cab. Such a beauty with the wooden wall surfaces, the retro dials and the tapper selection wheel. I really like it. And the windows are big, you get a really nice view of the scenery around you - which is something you don't get that much of with the other locomotives on the route, as they have thicker corner pillars.

    The physics do feel a bit funky though, it seems to brake unrealistically fast to me. Is it correct? The sounds are pretty good and realistic samples, but the mixing and the way they fade in and out are also a bit weird. There also seems to be a weird looping noise going on while driving, and the freight cars behind you are way too loud, even with the windows closed they drown out the sound of the locomotive.

    But it's a nice little thing, I'm glad I got it.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  38. fabristunt

    fabristunt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2019
    Messages:
    469
    Likes Received:
    791
    As is the case for most locos, the 155 also had better sounds in TSW2020. But still, it's a great loco, my favourite actually.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  39. Lamplight

    Lamplight Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2020
    Messages:
    1,891
    Likes Received:
    3,023
    Probably not. I‘d wager DRA is the first German DLC to have quite realistic brake physics thanks to cwf.green‘s work.
    Did you turn on the traction motor fans? Apart from short shunting moves, you‘d never move a real 155 without turning them on and they‘re quite loud, even in TSW2. It should be one of the levers in the lower row of levers, on the left side of the cab desk.
     
    • Like Like x 3
  40. Dinosbacsi

    Dinosbacsi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2017
    Messages:
    1,524
    Likes Received:
    2,549
    I probably didn't. I remember seeing the switch for it, but the tutorial never mentioned it. But thanks for the tip, it's good to now, I will definitely turn it on next time! I'm always up for more realism and better sound experience.
     
  41. redrev1917

    redrev1917 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2021
    Messages:
    624
    Likes Received:
    1,121
    What other routes does the 155 layer into please?
     
  42. solicitr

    solicitr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2020
    Messages:
    6,256
    Likes Received:
    8,924
    I believe RSN is the only one where it has its own layer. It's a sub however on just about every German route with freight services.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  43. Lamplight

    Lamplight Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2020
    Messages:
    1,891
    Likes Received:
    3,023
    It substitutes on
    • MSB
    • RRO
    • HRR, if the MSB freight layer is active
    • DRA
    Not sure about HMA and HBK since I don‘t own them, but I‘m pretty sure it does substitute on HBK at least.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  44. Cameron's Gaming

    Cameron's Gaming Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2016
    Messages:
    2,455
    Likes Received:
    3,242
    It subs onto Munich.
     
  45. kitsunomara

    kitsunomara New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2021
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    2
    RSN is probably one of my favorites aswell, it feels so alive yet abandoned at the same time. also made creepier when all the cars just vanished.
     
  46. wcwood92

    wcwood92 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2021
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    61
    D8426521-FDA4-43AC-B83C-CA3CF95596CF.jpeg jolojonasgames your forum post combined with the current steam sale tempted me to buy this route and all its loco DLC.
    I play with TrackIR and I almost blew past my first stop because I was looking at the mountains.
    Reminds me of driving I-93 in New Hampshire for skiing
     
    Last edited: Dec 23, 2021
    • Like Like x 2
  47. jolojonasgames

    jolojonasgames Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2020
    Messages:
    1,560
    Likes Received:
    3,890
    Glad to hear you're enjoying the scenery. I hope you also enjoy the rest of the route. I believe the sale is quite steep, so it definetely should be worth the money :). I'll incidentaly be driving through the real world area to go on holiday myself soon.

    (I do want a sales commission from DTG now ;))
     
    Last edited: Dec 23, 2021
    • Like Like x 1

Share This Page