1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

PlayStation Frame-rate Hitching On Köln-aachen

Discussion in 'Technical Reports' started by bart2day, Aug 22, 2020.

  1. bart2day

    bart2day Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2018
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    445
    I’m running on a PS4 slim and when driving the ICE on Köln-Aachen, particularly at high speeds, there are constant frame rate hitches every few seconds. Most of the time they last around a half or a quarter of a second hitch, sometimes as long as a second. It literally makes the route unplayable at that speed. I had the frame rate counter up and every few seconds it’s dipping into red, I.e.under 10fps. I can’t comment on the Talent 2 as I haven’t driven it yet Anybody else have this? It’s probably better on PS4 pro.

    Bakerloo line is mostly stable but also has a few hitches in the overground section.

    Edit: Updated with video below.
     
    Last edited: Aug 23, 2020
  2. maxipolo12

    maxipolo12 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2020
    Messages:
    205
    Likes Received:
    136
    No worries , we have have the same on 2000€ PCs
     
    • Helpful Helpful x 1
  3. kylel2036

    kylel2036 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2020
    Messages:
    790
    Likes Received:
    617
    It's fine for me on xbox
     
  4. TinTin_57

    TinTin_57 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2018
    Messages:
    1,406
    Likes Received:
    1,466
    bart2day I'm on a 2015 PS4 and on that route it's been fine but on Bakerloo I definately get those issues. I also get flashing trees on Sand Patch grade on the side of hills!!!!
     
  5. kylel2036

    kylel2036 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2020
    Messages:
    790
    Likes Received:
    617
    A 5 year old PS4 can handle this just wow Im surprised for some reason
     
  6. TinTin_57

    TinTin_57 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2018
    Messages:
    1,406
    Likes Received:
    1,466
    Yep, apart from what I mentioned there it has been fine upto now
     
    • Helpful Helpful x 1
  7. bart2day

    bart2day Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2018
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    445
    Hmm. It’s strange that some people are getting the issue on different routes to others. Here is a clip of a particularly bad section on Köln-Aachen taken on my PS4 slim. The frame-rate counter in the top right fluctuates from yellow to red every couple of seconds and the slowdown is really noticeable. For some reason it’s just not smooth.

     
    Last edited: Aug 23, 2020
    • Like Like x 1
  8. defiance134

    defiance134 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2020
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    8
    Yea that deffo is a problem i have had that on the xbox.
     
    • Helpful Helpful x 1
  9. Vinnie

    Vinnie Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2018
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    221
    I think the reason this issue affects some players and not others on the same platform could be related to HD setup - Internal or external, free HD memory (not sure) but I do recommend to anyone if you are experiencing too many hiccups and frame drops to perform a quick cache clear>
    1. Press and hold the PlayStation button on your controller
    2. Select Turn Off PS4
    3. Let the PlayStation 4 fully power down and wait at least 30 seconds
    4. Restart the PlayStation 4
    5. Hold L1 + R1 while booting up the game
    Note: This will also reset your brightness setting and choice of language.
     
    • Helpful Helpful x 1
  10. ildario77

    ildario77 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2019
    Messages:
    283
    Likes Received:
    390
    Did anybody notice that these problems, noticeable also on TSW2020, occur always in the same spots? I appreciate how people try to help, but, as I say almost everyday, they're not unit-related problems. It's the game. If you don't notice that, is just because it doesn't bother you. Just take a ride on the overground section of Bakerloo Line, even as a passenger, and pay attention. No way you won't notice at least 4-5 bad freezing issues. No matter if you're on PS4, Xbox or even PC.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  11. ildario77

    ildario77 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2019
    Messages:
    283
    Likes Received:
    390
    And talking about Köln-Aachen, the game always freezes just after passing under the bridge towards Aachen, a few kms outside Köln station. It happens on every platform, according to the videos l watched on YouTube.



    53:27
     
    • Like Like x 1

Share This Page