Gp38-2 On Cane Creek

Discussion in 'Xbox Discussion' started by t.goaslind, Apr 17, 2021.

  1. t.goaslind

    t.goaslind Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2020
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    22
    If you own Pennisula Corridor, do you think that the GP38-2 will be usable on the Cane Creek route? (because of the UP livery). I hope so.
     
    • Like Like x 3
  2. Coastway trainspotter

    Coastway trainspotter Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2021
    Messages:
    2,793
    Likes Received:
    2,108
    As you are on Xbox I am afraid not as Xbox doesn’t currently have layers at the moment , but hopefully in the future
     
  3. L89

    L89 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2020
    Messages:
    1,255
    Likes Received:
    822
    That's only for HMA. There are layers for other routes on consoles.
     
  4. Coastway trainspotter

    Coastway trainspotter Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2021
    Messages:
    2,793
    Likes Received:
    2,108
    Not layers from all applicable routes though
     
  5. paulc

    paulc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2021
    Messages:
    767
    Likes Received:
    1,304
    All the layer sections on my PS4 seem empty??
     
  6. Disintegration7

    Disintegration7 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2018
    Messages:
    922
    Likes Received:
    1,374
    HMA is the only route with missing layers on console AFAIK. At least on Xbox- can't personally speak for PS.
     
  7. L89

    L89 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2020
    Messages:
    1,255
    Likes Received:
    822
    Not sure what else could be missing other than HMA layers?

    I believe you get freight services on multiple German routes if you have MSB installed. S-Bahn on SKA if RRO is installed. Special services on East Coastway if you have NTP installed etc. This is what I mean by layers.
     
  8. Blacknred81

    Blacknred81 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2019
    Messages:
    3,004
    Likes Received:
    6,667
    I think the biggest issue would be horsepower loss.

    The GP38-2 only has 2000hp
    The SD40-2 only has 3000hp
    The AC4400CW has 4400hp

    And we've seen with SPG that some trains that spawn with only SD40-2s end up stalling on the grade. (The ruling grade on Cane Creek is 1.2%)
     
  9. Crosstie

    Crosstie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2016
    Messages:
    2,358
    Likes Received:
    4,539
    Yes, any loco that substitutes for the AC4400CW would have to be something new in TSW2, such as an SD7ace or ES 44AC with equivalent horses. I'm assuming that Cane Creek is set in the present day or recent past. Of course, we have relatively low power on the CRR so anything is possible. But what was available 40 years ago?
     
    Last edited: Apr 17, 2021
  10. MetrolinkF125#916

    MetrolinkF125#916 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2019
    Messages:
    1,187
    Likes Received:
    1,807
    Well the only possible services than the GP38 can be substituted into would be switching services, as Blacknred81 already mentioned this loco wouldn’t output enough horsepower to battle the grades on the route, unless it is coupled to another 2 or 3 SD40-2s or AC4400CWs.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  11. Disintegration7

    Disintegration7 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2018
    Messages:
    922
    Likes Received:
    1,374
    I mean that's exactly what layers are for, right? I''d quite enjoy having the GP38 available just for the switching services.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  12. MetrolinkF125#916

    MetrolinkF125#916 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2019
    Messages:
    1,187
    Likes Received:
    1,807
    Me too, and adding these layers to this route on console shouldn’t be a big deal because of the extremely limited number of services on the route. Anyways the GP38 would be substituting for the existing services since it won’t have its own, at least I think it won’t have its own services.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  13. Disintegration7

    Disintegration7 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2018
    Messages:
    922
    Likes Received:
    1,374
    Yeah that's what i'm thinking, just as a sub for the switching services. A GP38 layer might be even more likely since there probably won't be any loco DLC for Cane Creek as there seemingly aren't any further services to add.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  14. solicitr

    solicitr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2020
    Messages:
    7,773
    Likes Received:
    11,207
    SD45, U-36C (both of which CRR had)
     
  15. solicitr

    solicitr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2020
    Messages:
    7,773
    Likes Received:
    11,207
    C40-8W could work.
     
  16. Crosstie

    Crosstie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2016
    Messages:
    2,358
    Likes Received:
    4,539
    And both of which would have given us a few more horses, but not as iconic as the F7.

    Or an SD90MAC, which were still on UP's roster, last I looked. I'm sure there are other high horsepower locos like the AC6000CW, depending on the time frame.
     
  17. solicitr

    solicitr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2020
    Messages:
    7,773
    Likes Received:
    11,207
    True- but my point was that the C40 already exists in TSW.

    (PS: UP has retired all of its full SD90MACs. It still has some of the "SD9043s", SD90s with the SD70 engine.)
     
  18. Crosstie

    Crosstie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2016
    Messages:
    2,358
    Likes Received:
    4,539
    Ah, yes, I get your point about the Dash-8.
    It would be nice to see some different freight locos in the game. We do seem to be seeing the same or similar ones a lot.
     
  19. Blacknred81

    Blacknred81 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2019
    Messages:
    3,004
    Likes Received:
    6,667
    I thought UP sold all their SD9043's to Norfolk Southern and Canadian Pacific for SD70ACU rebuilds.

    EDIT: Looks like UP has started retiring them in 2020 as well.
     
    Last edited: Apr 18, 2021
  20. solicitr

    solicitr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2020
    Messages:
    7,773
    Likes Received:
    11,207
    IIRC, UP sold about half of them, but kept the rest.
     
  21. driverwoods#1787

    driverwoods#1787 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2021
    Messages:
    4,769
    Likes Received:
    2,686
    There is another one that can substitute AC4400CW the AC6000 Union Pacific 6200s if Skyhook Games makers of Cane Creek wanted the highest horsepower American diesel locomotive here's a video of it pulling a train of Grain Hoppers with SD70ACe & AC4400CW in Union Pacific Service. You should have 14000 horsepower
     
  22. Blacknred81

    Blacknred81 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2019
    Messages:
    3,004
    Likes Received:
    6,667
    Depending on what era this route is set in, the UP AC6000CW's would just be an AC4400CW with an AC6000CW carbody, as the original 6000hp units have since been converted into AC4460CW's with 4400hp, while UP other AC6000CW's were delivered as "convertibles" with the AC4400CW prime mover installed in them.
     
  23. solicitr

    solicitr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2020
    Messages:
    7,773
    Likes Received:
    11,207

    Or 8000 horsepower when the 7HDL engine breaks down, as it habitually does. Or rather, did, becase there isn't a single one left running on a US railroad. They got rid of them all.
     
  24. SHINO BAZ

    SHINO BAZ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2019
    Messages:
    1,806
    Likes Received:
    1,248
    I hate to beat a dead horse but there still one way to get the UP Gp 38-2 on cane creek and do i really need to say what that is again.
     

Share This Page