How To Create A Real Life Route?

Discussion in 'Creation Centre' started by andrew#7914, Dec 7, 2023.

  1. andrew#7914

    andrew#7914 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2023
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    8
    I want to make Zielona góra - Poznań route, but i don't know how to get the station models, how to load google maps layout, i don't know how to get the rolling stock models, i am also bad at modelling, i don't even know how to make signals. Could someone please tell me how to do some of these things?
     
  2. andrew#7914

    andrew#7914 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2023
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    8
    i now learned how to load google maps, but i still don't learned the other things, so if some of you know how to do these things, then write it in a reply
     
  3. dolanbaker

    dolanbaker Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2022
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    94
    If the models don't exist, then you can make your own. Google using blender to make models for train simulator, there are several videos out there that show how to do it.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. Spikee1975

    Spikee1975 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2023
    Messages:
    4,508
    Likes Received:
    6,611
    You have zero experience in anything that's required for making a route.

    So first try the route editor using existing assets, follow Youtube tutorials on route building, terrain importing.
    Then try yourself at modelling. Use photographs and turn them into textures. Get to know the software you'll be using (Blender, Substance Painter, etc)
    Making your own loco is the hardest part. Modelling, texturing, setting up blueprints, correct parameters and finally scripting. Advice: make a simple boxy loco. If you get that moving, do the real thing.
    And don't rush. It may take years until your own routes becomes reality. Enjoy the learning process.
     
    Last edited: Dec 15, 2023
    • Like Like x 1
  5. Short answer, NO!

    The reason I said no, it's because I helped myself as nobody really helped me at all when I was trying to get a locomotive into TSC and working. When I downloaded the DTG developer examples, it was a game changer, and I was super excited getting that first locomotive into the game and was able to drive it. As for locomotive/rolling stock scripting 'I'm hopeless'. I have asked nicely on this forum for people to create tutorials for dumb idiots like me to work it out. So, I have decided not to proceed adding any further Australian locomotives/rolling stock into TSC. DTG developer site can be found here Train Simulator Developer Documentation (tscdevdocs.co.uk) very useful information, here is also where you can download the developer examples.. Note: You don't need 3ds Max to open the source files, in later versions of Blender, you can use BRIAGE to import the .igs .ia files to view the setup, it does help a lot..

    In regards to the google maps overlay, visit my thread here
    Google Maps Overlay Workaround/alternative Guide | Dovetail Games Forums

    As for route building! Over the years, even if I haven't ever released a route officially dating back to the MSTS days. Route building can be very frustrating, especially in TSC! There are useful tutorials on route building for Railwoks Train Simulator/Train Simulator Classic 'TSC'/'TS Classic'. Best of luck.

    As for 3d modelling! It's a steep learning curve. There are hundreds of tutorials and guides available that will help you animate and 3d model.. I will not explain this..

    I would suggest that you do use Blender and you will need the BRIAGE http://jujumatic.free.fr/ add on to export to TSC. Note: New BRIAGE link BRIAGE (devmares.com) as I just discovered the new link.

    Check out Tony Nicholls youtube channel for some excellent tutorials Tony Nicholls - YouTube mostly for importing scenery, locomotives and rolling stock into TSC.
     
    • Like Like x 1

Share This Page