PlayStation I Am A Noob With Questions

Discussion in 'TSW General Discussion' started by morph147, Feb 21, 2021.

1. morph147

morph147 Active Member

Hey all, bought this game to play with my 4 year old because he is obsessed with trains. It’s over his head but I been enjoying it and he likes watching. So after about 3 hrs of game play had some general questions.

1) what is the mu-42 switch do? Found something online that fixed my issue of being able to go in reverse pulling stuff but don’t understand why what I did did what I did.

2) what does the cutoff switch do. Saw something when I had issues about putting it in freight mode but don’t understand what I use it for.

3) how do I know what I need to do for gold on regular missions

4) is there a way to go more at a constant speed? Feel like half of what I did was keep flipping throttle and break to random places to keep at a steady pace under speed limit but don’t know why or if what I did was good.

5) there are a lot of add ons for this game and they are pricey and almost the same cost of the game. Can someone explain to me what is in them that makes it worth it? My son is already pointing at ones he thinks looks cool and I am already seein it being a nice chump of change for investment so trying to get an idea of what I am getting myself into or cut him off with the 3 that come with base game.

thank you all in advance for the help with this

• Like Like x 2
  2. ARuscoe

ARuscoe Well-Known Member

4 - Driving a train is much like driving a car in that you have to monitor your speed and balance the throttle and other controls to maintain speed. Unlike a car which often has one smooth power control trains tend to be "notched" or have some other way of having limited power settings so moving between notches (or feathering) is common to maintain a certain speed. Of course you can also set the power to 0 and coast