1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Laptop For Train Sunlator 2019

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by grahamclark259, Feb 21, 2019.

  1. grahamclark259

    grahamclark259 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2019
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I wish to purchase a new laptop to run TS2019. I realise desktops are preferable but I simply do not have room for a desktop.

    I've read that laptops are not strictly supported. I would therefore be grateful of any suggestions on which laptops are likely to run TS2019.

    I am thinking if one of the Omen HP gaming laptops with either a RTX 2070 or the older GTX 1070.

    This is purely for TS2019 and future editions. Ideally to last for next few editions.

    I rum TSW on console so laptop not needed for that.
     
  2. SamYeager270

    SamYeager270 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2016
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    352
    You may find this thread useful.
     
  3. ARuscoe

    ARuscoe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2018
    Messages:
    1,191
    Likes Received:
    628
    Laptops run fine. The reason they say they can't support any issues on them is because of the fluctuating power when on battery power and throttling comes into play
     
    • Upvote Upvote x 1
    • Downvote Downvote x 1
  4. RailWorkshop

    RailWorkshop Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2018
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    35
    Better build a desktop with more power in same investment.
     
  5. ARuscoe

    ARuscoe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2018
    Messages:
    1,191
    Likes Received:
    628
    Don't know why the downvote. It's the reason DTG have given out many times as to why they don't support issues on laptops
     
    • Upvote Upvote x 1
  6. Daytona

    Daytona Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2018
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    12
    It works, the question is at what quality. I get 15-30fps from these settings on mains power from my £400 laptop -

    Code:
    Master Detail      Custom
    Anti-aliasing      FXAA
    Texture filtering  Anisotropic x 4
    Scenery Quality    63%
    Scenery Density    85%
    View Distance      60%
    Shadow Quality     45%
    Water Quality      55%
    Resolution         1366x768
    Full screen        Borderless
    Dynamic lighting   Yes
    Dynamic clouds     Yes
    Brightness         55%
    
    on ↓
     
    Last edited: Mar 7, 2019
    • Upvote Upvote x 1
  7. ARuscoe

    ARuscoe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2018
    Messages:
    1,191
    Likes Received:
    628
    There's a post somewhere that details how to force TS into high quality on your GPU, unfortunately windows doesn't see something written in an old version of directX as "high quality"
    You might also look up the best options for your vega graphics, if windows is even using that as your principle graphics processing
     
    • Upvote Upvote x 1
  8. Daytona

    Daytona Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2018
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    12
    Sorry I missed this, as I wasn't getting emails. I'm interested in having a tinker - I've never had any reason to investigate graphics tuning before now tho, so it's all new to me.
     
    • Downvote Downvote x 1
  9. KEITH 45655

    KEITH 45655 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2019
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the info .
     

Share This Page