Route Linke Rheinstrecke - Feedback Thread

Discussion in 'Player Feedback' started by TrainGeek08, Mar 9, 2023.

  1. driverwoods#1787

    driverwoods#1787 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2021
    Messages:
    8,505
    Likes Received:
    5,151
    You are correct however they could have simply done the railways own museum DB Eisenbahnmuseum Koblenz Lützel which actually runs the original prototype E01 003 DB Baureihe 110.3 Rheingold Niddertalbahn DB Baureihe 218
     
  2. solicitr

    solicitr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2020
    Messages:
    10,924
    Likes Received:
    16,508
    Self-justifying confirmation bias by those who haven't bought - in most cases have refused to buy - TSW3. How would they know? And, no, you can't judge from a stream (which introduces its own layer of stutters).

    Does TSW3 stutter? Yes, of course it does. Is it materially worse than 2? No, no matter how many non-3 owners want to claim it is.
     
    • Like Like x 7
  3. solicitr

    solicitr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2020
    Messages:
    10,924
    Likes Received:
    16,508
    It's definitely not 003 or any prototype. It's a production 103.1 And it would fall in the number range 103 101 to 103 215, since those from 216 on were built with an enlarged cab. (It also is depicted in a 1976 or later state, with the single-arm SBS 65 pantograph, but not as late as the late 90s, since it still has aprons and buffer shrouds).

    But having surveyed photos of all 14 surviving production 103s, I can say that none of them was the actual model for the game's loco.
     
    Last edited: Mar 13, 2023
    • Helpful Helpful x 1
  4. redrev1917

    redrev1917 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2021
    Messages:
    3,495
    Likes Received:
    7,675
    Very few people are going to come on a forum and complain that TSW3 runs better then TSW2 so of course you are going to see far more people complaining about it the other way, especially those who have gone on record saying they will never upgrade (quite how they can compare given they dont even own TSW3 is extraordinary).

    The silent majority will just continue to enjoy TSW3.
     
    • Like Like x 11
  5. 25262

    25262 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2022
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    134
    You are right with the numbers but it is possible if they want to be realistic that 103 173 is not on the game because they used it as a sort of prototype for the long cab ones.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. RedTiger SA92

    RedTiger SA92 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2022
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    47
    Well I've watched many streams from DTG and also from other players were I notice the stuttering. If I compare with my TSW2 version running on my XboxS I conclude that the stuttering is worse for TSW3 based on what I've seen. DTG said that they're running their game on a powerfull engine in the streams and I see stuttering far worse than my own TSW2 which runs pretty smooth. I agree I don't have true comparison material by not having the game. But if you don't have it, you need some material to make a considered choice.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  7. redrev1917

    redrev1917 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2021
    Messages:
    3,495
    Likes Received:
    7,675
    Well I do have both and I can tell you on my laptop TSW3 is smoother than TSW2. Dont get me wrong its still got microstutters (especially on Rush Hour Routes) but where as I was getting sustained periods below 20fps around Clapham Junction, Battersea Power Station and over the bridge in Dresden, I now get 30-45fps. The freezes I got across all routes are all but eradicated and usually only occur 3 or 4 hours into a session rather than from loading up.
     
  8. RedTiger SA92

    RedTiger SA92 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2022
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    47
    I do believe you but like you said and from what've seen, there are microstutters. In my case I almost don't have any microstutters at all at this moment, so then it would probably getting worse for me If I upgrade now. I don't know for sure but I don't risk it. I've also seen that DTG is aware of the stuttering so I hope they're able to fix it some time. I think it's for everyone different. Some don't care about microstuttering and do care more about little details which are not totally correct, other care about graphics. I care about a smooth run. If I get a stutter one or two times a route I wouldn't much bother but if it happens a couple of times/minute, I get annoyed.
     
  9. redrev1917

    redrev1917 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2021
    Messages:
    3,495
    Likes Received:
    7,675
    If you dont have micro stutters on TSW2 then Id doubt you'd have them on TSW3. I could eradicate them completely if I turned my settings down slightly but for me personally I prefer ultra settings with the occasional micro stutter.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  10. RedTiger SA92

    RedTiger SA92 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2022
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    47
    I play on Xbox series S on HD settings in TSW and 1440p on Xbox settings. No stuttering, never had. Also if I set it on 4K no stuttering. I do get a slow camera motion when I turn 4K on. But then I still ask why DTG have them in their stream. I will do some more research then the next upcoming weeks.
     
  11. redrev1917

    redrev1917 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2021
    Messages:
    3,495
    Likes Received:
    7,675
    Steaming software will always impact a games performance, and a lot of DTG streams are on dev builds (quite why they do this is beyond my comprehension, but they do). You'd think they'd want to show off the game in the best light but there you go.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  12. solicitr

    solicitr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2020
    Messages:
    10,924
    Likes Received:
    16,508
    Streams always add stuttering of their own, no matter how pristine the source video.
     
    • Like Like x 3
  13. nepclassof84

    nepclassof84 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2022
    Messages:
    646
    Likes Received:
    678
    I went to Germany not long ago. Ate lunch at this little cafe right along this route. Railfanned the route and watched it more while taking a Rhein river cruise.

    running trains along this route will bring back some fond memories. Germany is a really cool place to visit.
     
    • Like Like x 7
  14. nepclassof84

    nepclassof84 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2022
    Messages:
    646
    Likes Received:
    678
    I’m on a series x I get the micro stutters often. It almost seems like they are in the same place. It’s noticeable a tad annoying but not game breaking
     
    • Like Like x 2
  15. lux#4689

    lux#4689 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2021
    Messages:
    352
    Likes Received:
    438
    Just seen on the Ambassador stream:
    BR 103 has the same bug with the PZB-indicators as the BR 110.3.
    if under 500 Hz supervision, the indicators don't flash to show you the mode.
     
    • Like Like x 3
    • Helpful Helpful x 1
  16. TKessel

    TKessel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2021
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    477
    Well, well...here we are again (at least for me after BRO), not enough Q&A, always the same. I still hope the 110 brakes are fixed finally, otherwise I'm really thinking about refunding it this time.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  17. lux#4689

    lux#4689 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2021
    Messages:
    352
    Likes Received:
    438
    brakes are the same
     
  18. Xander1986

    Xander1986 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2018
    Messages:
    646
    Likes Received:
    524
    If you talk about the red 500Hz indicator it's fully correct and the red indicator doesn't blink at all. So this works fully correct. Only yellow 1000hz flashes
     
    • Like Like x 2
  19. Swisstrains

    Swisstrains Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2019
    Messages:
    779
    Likes Received:
    1,062
    Is the 101 there?
     
  20. Redbus

    Redbus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2016
    Messages:
    869
    Likes Received:
    1,779
    Console users please post any feedback, how does it perform on PS5?
    PC users still on the fence about getting preorder discount (still a few hours left), here is a video just out from Train Sim TV (no connection with DTG):


    Plenty of impartial feedback!
     
    Last edited: Mar 16, 2023
    • Like Like x 1
  21. lux#4689

    lux#4689 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2021
    Messages:
    352
    Likes Received:
    438
    I am talking about the 55/70/85, while under 500Hz.
    DTG should know exactly what I mean, I and other people already filed several bug reports (for mine with video, and explaining it in detail).
    The bug is also present on other locos, while some don't have the bug.
     
  22. lux#4689

    lux#4689 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2021
    Messages:
    352
    Likes Received:
    438
    no
     
  23. Xander1986

    Xander1986 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2018
    Messages:
    646
    Likes Received:
    524
    On the 103 this is working for sure. When you leaving for the first part you see the "Wechsel blinken" switching between 70/85 on the IC 103 in pzb modus "85". The red light doesn't do nothing as intended.
     
    Last edited: Mar 16, 2023
  24. rennekton#1349

    rennekton#1349 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2022
    Messages:
    4,761
    Likes Received:
    3,077
    There is no 101 on the route. If you have been watching the Livestream or the article, it was mentioned several times. It is too new for the route.
     
  25. whitus

    whitus Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2021
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    48
    Low numbers from series were already in operation that year. But if creator’s research results with incorrect skirt on 103, then this line with „101 being too new for the route” isn’t surprising as well. Easily couple of services could be operated with 101.
    681461F4-8A6F-4F22-B55A-31B29D711FE7.jpeg
     
    Last edited: Mar 16, 2023
    • Like Like x 6
  26. traindori

    traindori Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2022
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    422
    For me, this is also the most annoying thing about the otherwise nice DLC. The skirt of the 103 simply didn't have to be, a simple search would have sufficed here. Because these were dismantled very early in the 1980s. But we've mentioned that many times before.

    I'm still hoping for an update without an skirt.
     
  27. rennekton#1349

    rennekton#1349 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2022
    Messages:
    4,761
    Likes Received:
    3,077
    The 103 was just difficult to find reference material on. The devs said they found like numerous variations of the same locomotive so they had to pick and choose one.
     
  28. traindori

    traindori Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2022
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    422
    Sry, in my opinion that was too easy an excuse. There are entire books about the BR103 and even a simple image search would have revealed that there were no more 103s with skirt driving around in the 1990s.
     
    • Like Like x 10
  29. whitus

    whitus Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2021
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    48
    Devs many times proved they don’t know that well subject of the game they create. Being a railfan is one thing, having actual knowledge is another. And this difference is very visible on a preview streams. Simple Google search provides you with dates and state of machines for different time frames. There’s Flickr and many german galleries, full of pictures from late 80’s till today’s date. But hey, people will still buy the DLC, yes?
     
    Last edited: Mar 16, 2023
    • Like Like x 4
  30. theorganist

    theorganist Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2018
    Messages:
    5,283
    Likes Received:
    10,502
    Trains from a completely different era or even part of the country haven't been a barrier to being layered in before! For me however, if it wasn't there it shouldn't be included or at least it would be nice if we had the ability to select the level of realism we want.
     
    Last edited: Mar 16, 2023
    • Like Like x 2
  31. andrewandjane66

    andrewandjane66 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2020
    Messages:
    333
    Likes Received:
    609
    If a missing indicator light, a questionable skirt and a dodgy river texture is all people have found, I can live with it!
     
    Last edited: Mar 16, 2023
    • Like Like x 4
  32. rennekton#1349

    rennekton#1349 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2022
    Messages:
    4,761
    Likes Received:
    3,077
    Apparently cars can go through trains too
     
  33. Swisstrains

    Swisstrains Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2019
    Messages:
    779
    Likes Received:
    1,062
    I did hear that but it was stated that they heard our feedback of the missing 101- so I thought they made a last minute change
     
  34. andrewandjane66

    andrewandjane66 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2020
    Messages:
    333
    Likes Received:
    609
    Hadn't seen that one. Still,not the end of the world.
     
  35. hyperlord

    hyperlord Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2019
    Messages:
    1,241
    Likes Received:
    1,262
    Oh man waiting for my workday to finish so I can switch from the PC (left) to the PC (right) ... and wait for the steam release ...
    Still not sure if calling in sick tomorrow (or reducing overtime hours, of course) ;-)
     
  36. bljohansson#4171

    bljohansson#4171 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2022
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    92
    Waiting for the GP discount. :)
     
    • Like Like x 2
  37. solicitr

    solicitr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2020
    Messages:
    10,924
    Likes Received:
    16,508
    This is 1997: are you sure it isn't using Indusi 60 instead of PZB 90?
     
  38. Xander1986

    Xander1986 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2018
    Messages:
    646
    Likes Received:
    524
    I have explain already that he makes a mistake. The pzb works as it should be intended. What I have understand is his complain that when you run the first meters in restricted mode you have to see the 500hz red light but that's incorrect
     
    • Like Like x 2
  39. kurtosizm

    kurtosizm Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2021
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    498
    Am I right to think that the DB BR 110 doesn't have a brake release sound? Cabcar was audible.
     
  40. antony.henley

    antony.henley Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2019
    Messages:
    1,860
    Likes Received:
    3,127
    No, Although the 103 subs in on the Bremen Oldenberg BR101 service.
    They did say the BR101 wouldn't sub in as well.
    Hentis
     
    • Like Like x 1
  41. OldVern

    OldVern Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2020
    Messages:
    9,547
    Likes Received:
    17,964
    Well it’s sloppy. BBO has exactly the same issue, which remains unfixed. To me it is indicative of sloppy route building and poor beta testing/QA. Having even non lethal train/road vehicle pseudo collisions in the sim is unacceptable and frankly I’m surprised DB haven’t kicked up about it.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  42. teide

    teide Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2021
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    31
    I’m not massively impressed with this one. I’m on Xbox x and the draw distance seems to be very close compared with other routes. I should be enjoying the scenery but I’m seeing greyed out trees and hillsides which only gain colour and texture when very close. It’s a bit like a slightly grey winter landscape until close up. I don’t see this on any of the routes I own.
     
    • Like Like x 5
  43. kurtosizm

    kurtosizm Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2021
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    498
    [​IMG]

    Obviously this is not specifically about the route (more like all routes), but this 'light' effect has been bothering me for a while. No chance that in real life, ballast etc. gets that shiny.
     
    • Like Like x 7
  44. lux#4689

    lux#4689 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2021
    Messages:
    352
    Likes Received:
    438
    I said, it was not working, while 500Hz was active. And that has been shown on stream by their ambassador. I am not speaking about leaving when just switched on.


    Yes, I am sure. In-game, it uses PZB90. The same bug is in the BR 110.3 from LFR, BR 110.3 from BRO. (need to check again, but I think BR 401 from KWG too)
     
  45. Xander1986

    Xander1986 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2018
    Messages:
    646
    Likes Received:
    524
    No big deal for me..... I know when 500Hz active is.
     
  46. bdobronz1968

    bdobronz1968 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2022
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    124
    Same on Xbox Series S. The scenery is very nice, but those greyish trees in the distance are just ugly. Why can‘t they be darker? Did two runs already and I really enjoyed it, but this and missing PIS are drawbacks. As a former local I must state that the scenery is very much recognisable. And the stuttering is far better than on BRO. Well done, DTG!
     
    • Like Like x 4
  47. DTG JD

    DTG JD Director of Community Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2021
    Messages:
    2,548
    Likes Received:
    10,246
    ...We won't tell ;)
     
    • Like Like x 3
  48. driverwoods#1787

    driverwoods#1787 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2021
    Messages:
    8,505
    Likes Received:
    5,151
    You are correct the best place to what they could have done was go inside the museum Koblenz Lützel to find the correct DB Baureihe 103 in TEE Lackierung. Considering that the other trains are in DB Produktfarben
     
    • Like Like x 1
  49. lux#4689

    lux#4689 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2021
    Messages:
    352
    Likes Received:
    438
    The 500Hz works. But if you slowed down, you don't know, if you are in normal mode, or restrictive mode. So you don't know which speed limit applies to you.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  50. Swisstrains

    Swisstrains Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2019
    Messages:
    779
    Likes Received:
    1,062
    So I made a scenario Mainz-Koblenz with the Br101 and… This route is really incredible! It’s the best looking route we have got so far, try a run at around 18:00 in May and you will see the complete beauty of the route!
    Now let’s hope for a modern day timetable ;D
    Really good work DTGx keep up this work!
     
    • Like Like x 10

Share This Page