1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Livery Editor - Why The Arbitrary Limits?

Discussion in 'PC Discussion' started by LucasLCC, Aug 18, 2020.

  1. LucasLCC

    LucasLCC Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2020
    Messages:
    605
    Likes Received:
    1,075
    Having just watched the livery editor stream, I'm confused by the following:

    > Why are all the liveries saved in one file? Has this been done on purpose to make it harder to share liveries?

    > Why 300 layers? Does going above this number have a huge impact on performance?

    > Why 300 liveries? Whilst this is a lot, it does seem like an arbitrary constraint for the sake of it.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  2. Anthony Pecoraro

    Anthony Pecoraro Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    Messages:
    2,698
    Likes Received:
    3,170
    Memory constraints most likely.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  3. Aryffordd

    Aryffordd Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2020
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    12
    On the stream where they discussed the livery editor, they mentioned the 300 layer limit and said that the livery is "baked" or flattened before applying it to a loco/vehicle, so that the layer limit isn't about the performance of the liveried train within gameplay. It seems to be about the editor itself - in fairness though, 300 layers (well, shapes as only one primitive per layer is allowed) is a -lot- though, especially as the limit is per vehicle, not for the entire train.
     
  4. Callum B.

    Callum B. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2018
    Messages:
    354
    Likes Received:
    448
    Matt stated that consoles were the constraint in this case. Either Sony or Microsoft (or both) require a hard number for the storage requirements/limits of the game. Since the livery editor is a part of the game that takes up disk space, they had to put a hard limit so that it wouldn't be able to fill up your hard drive, making the console manufacturers happy.
     
  5. Knightfire1964

    Knightfire1964 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2018
    Messages:
    489
    Likes Received:
    359
    when was this said I must have missed that during the stream
     
  6. Knightfire1964

    Knightfire1964 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2018
    Messages:
    489
    Likes Received:
    359
    Was this said by matt during the livery stream or yesterday's because I never heard him say whats the reason for it being 300 also the person who made that custom ice 3 had used about 160 layers I think
     
  7. Callum B.

    Callum B. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2018
    Messages:
    354
    Likes Received:
    448
     
  8. Knightfire1964

    Knightfire1964 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2018
    Messages:
    489
    Likes Received:
    359
    do you have a timestamp
     
  9. Callum B.

    Callum B. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2018
    Messages:
    354
    Likes Received:
    448
    56:55
     
  10. Knightfire1964

    Knightfire1964 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2018
    Messages:
    489
    Likes Received:
    359
    Agh that's for how many different liveries you can have on a train not why it's 300 layers though
     
  11. davidh0501

    davidh0501 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2020
    Messages:
    251
    Likes Received:
    345
    Additional functionality for the livery editor is upcoming in the “roadmap”.

    Personally I think they should have gone for 299, as a much more interesting number and more open to further development.
    Matt for example will only want the one pink layer for all his vehicles.
     
    • Like Like x 1

Share This Page