Luzern - Sursee Completely Dark

Discussion in 'PC Discussion' started by dreampage, Mar 19, 2022.

Tags:
  1. redrev1917

    redrev1917 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2021
    Messages:
    2,199
    Likes Received:
    4,533
    In an attempt to get this thread somewhat back on track.
    Sadly despite my initial optimism and impression it seems that ETCS is indeed broken, any advance warning of a speed reduction causes emergency brakes to be applied if you aren't already at the reduced speed making it unplayable with ETCS turned on. Of course bugs happen and it's certainly not the first in cab safety system to be released broken, however Rivet are going to be judged on how quickly this is rectified.
    Hopefully Integra is working correctly.
     
    • Like Like x 5
  2. breblimator

    breblimator Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2019
    Messages:
    3,788
    Likes Received:
    4,358
    It is poorly scripted instead of simulated, true
     
    • Like Like x 4
    • Helpful Helpful x 1
  3. Swisstrains

    Swisstrains Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2019
    Messages:
    565
    Likes Received:
    789
    ETCS is broken indeed, but only on the way from Sursee TO Luzern, it’s working the other way round; except right in front of Sursee, you have to break to 60km/h if you are driving an RE service before you approach the station
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Helpful Helpful x 1
  4. TimTri

    TimTri Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2021
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    885
    So, this ECTS speed change sudden emergency brake thing, does it affect everyone? They just did a full run in the stream with ECTS Level 1 enabled and everything seemed just fine.
     
  5. redrev1917

    redrev1917 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2021
    Messages:
    2,199
    Likes Received:
    4,533
    Well that fills me with hope that it's a fairly easy fix and rather than something inherently wrong with the code it's just the mispositioning of markers on track
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. 5cip

    5cip Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2020
    Messages:
    243
    Likes Received:
    152
    how can i turn off the alarm sound after a emergency brake ???
     
  7. Swisstrains

    Swisstrains Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2019
    Messages:
    565
    Likes Received:
    789
    huh? Normally it turns out automatically I think; otherwise try the normal reset button (Q?)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  8. Swisstrains

    Swisstrains Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2019
    Messages:
    565
    Likes Received:
    789
    it does feel like that’s the point; if it would be a serious mistake, they would have made a statement I guess
     
  9. PegasusLeosRailwayFanatix

    PegasusLeosRailwayFanatix Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2020
    Messages:
    1,113
    Likes Received:
    763
    So I am guessing there is no way to fix the safety system?
     
  10. redrev1917

    redrev1917 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2021
    Messages:
    2,199
    Likes Received:
    4,533
    Apply the train brake to full then release (not the dynamic brake)
     
  11. Swisstrains

    Swisstrains Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2019
    Messages:
    565
    Likes Received:
    789
    in which way? At the moment, it’s not really possible to use ETCS for services Sursee—>Luzern; there you have to use the INTEGRA (Stm)
    For services Luzern—>Sursee, you can use ETCS or INTEGRA; but note that when you drive the RE sevices, you have to be aware of the speed reduction to 60km/h right in front of Sursee; the ETCS will also slow down immediately here, leaving you no way but to get an emergency brake
     
  12. PBrogaard

    PBrogaard Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2018
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    115
    Just from watching the stream, it seemed like the narrow gauge track crossings are not modelled properly. Can someone please check in Luzern whether the rails just intersect or if the track is modelled with more realistic crossings
     
  13. PegasusLeosRailwayFanatix

    PegasusLeosRailwayFanatix Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2020
    Messages:
    1,113
    Likes Received:
    763
    Is there any way to switch the safety off completely, cause whenever i start the train the speed limit would already be set, and what i mean by that is the blue indicator will already be set to 40mph, and i try disabling this system by switching off but it did not the blue cursor is still right on the speed hud screen?
     
  14. Swisstrains

    Swisstrains Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2019
    Messages:
    565
    Likes Received:
    789
    Ohhh, you mean the V-max? Thatś the weird looking lever directly next to the reverser (left); works like the Afb, but it is always on
     
  15. PegasusLeosRailwayFanatix

    PegasusLeosRailwayFanatix Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2020
    Messages:
    1,113
    Likes Received:
    763
    how do i switch it off because it not allowing me to speed up even when i have the clear signal to?
     
  16. Swisstrains

    Swisstrains Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2019
    Messages:
    565
    Likes Received:
    789
    I don’t know how to switch it off, but you can make it go higher or lower with „R“ and „F“ on your keyboard
     
  17. Rybnicki

    Rybnicki Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2020
    Messages:
    320
    Likes Received:
    404
    Finally some ambition on this board! In seriousness now I've loaded the route I see it says L'Amor, so not quite French (idk if it's Romansh?). Think we can rule out Hamburg-Paris :(
     
  18. PegasusLeosRailwayFanatix

    PegasusLeosRailwayFanatix Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2020
    Messages:
    1,113
    Likes Received:
    763
    I think there is something wrong with the headlight because for some reason i can't even see the object in front of me? This is something that the Rivet team needs to look at. Here's a picture of driving in the nighttime when the headlight is on, but still can't see anything in front. Is this really hard the real driver who drives on this line have to experience while driving at Night. Because I don't think so. This is so dangerous driving at night.
    Jasper_Rivet I believe something is definitely wrong with the headlight because I Can't see at all Driving at Nighttime schedule or at Night, even though the Headlight is on. Can you please ask the team to look into this and get a fix asap, as of right now it's hard to drive at night. :|:(
    upload_2022-3-24_23-49-34.jpeg
     
    • Like Like x 9
    • Helpful Helpful x 1
  19. Swisstrains

    Swisstrains Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2019
    Messages:
    565
    Likes Received:
    789
    So in the stream yesterday, they said that the ad with the stool only had something to do with the swedish furniture store at Rothenburg- so no swedish route.
     
  20. DTG Jamie

    DTG Jamie Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2020
    Messages:
    899
    Likes Received:
    3,840
    We have made Rivet Aware of the ETCS issues and is currently being reviewed will update when we have more information
     
    • Like Like x 13
    • Helpful Helpful x 4
  21. CowBoyWolf

    CowBoyWolf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2020
    Messages:
    2,027
    Likes Received:
    1,349
    as a Swede i would like an Swedish route :)
     
  22. redrev1917

    redrev1917 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2021
    Messages:
    2,199
    Likes Received:
    4,533
    They would say that if they didn't want to confirm at this stage. Rivet has previous for dropping clues in towards their next DLC.
     
  23. Crosstie

    Crosstie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2016
    Messages:
    2,883
    Likes Received:
    5,725
    As a non Swede, I would really enjoy a Swedish route, or, indeed any Scandinavian route. How about Copenhagen to Helsinki via Stockholm! ;)
     
    • Like Like x 3
  24. meridian#2659

    meridian#2659 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2021
    Messages:
    1,287
    Likes Received:
    1,857
    My headlight isnt workin either. The warning light can be turned on, but if i press the headlight button, nothing happens.
     
  25. Swisstrains

    Swisstrains Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2019
    Messages:
    565
    Likes Received:
    789
    it actually is on, but not bright; take a look at the headlights
     
  26. 5cip

    5cip Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2020
    Messages:
    243
    Likes Received:
    152
    i agree with the night driving its not fun to drive when i see nothing...is this a general problem ? because for example NTP has also extrem bad headlights where i cant see anything while driving at night.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  27. Dinosbacsi

    Dinosbacsi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2017
    Messages:
    1,944
    Likes Received:
    3,326
    So another train with an useless headlight?
     
    • Like Like x 6
  28. dbrunner#4864

    dbrunner#4864 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2021
    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    385
    Yes, with the bonus of really dark window tint on top. During night you might as well drive with your eyes closed.
     
    • Like Like x 6
  29. Mitchellman151

    Mitchellman151 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2021
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    13
    Just need to remember with patches just like dlc releases they have to wait until the next release window and they have to make sure its tested on all platforms first
     
  30. breblimator

    breblimator Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2019
    Messages:
    3,788
    Likes Received:
    4,358
    Something went very wrong with lights baking perhaps. This is really too dark. And there is no 'lean out of the window' camera so even quasi-in-cab this way is impossible. I like to play Journeys, but the big part of these is in deep darkness here. Some TSW locos are Maikish custom implementations (headlights) and this would be awesome for S-Bahn Zentral. Routes like this one (short, with a lot of custom assets) deserve extra features (eg. custom lighting).
     
    Last edited: Mar 26, 2022
    • Like Like x 4
  31. PegasusLeosRailwayFanatix

    PegasusLeosRailwayFanatix Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2020
    Messages:
    1,113
    Likes Received:
    763
    I have try to talk to jasper about it, but it seem that he doesn't really care at all, or do anything to fix this. He doesn't also admit that this is a problem. This might be the Last time i am going to buy from them, based from them not responding back at all and not realizing this, in this chat.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  32. chieflongshin

    chieflongshin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2019
    Messages:
    3,446
    Likes Received:
    5,147
    This thread confirms my £19.99 saving
     
    • Like Like x 5
  33. Dinosbacsi

    Dinosbacsi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2017
    Messages:
    1,944
    Likes Received:
    3,326
    For now, yes. Hopefully at least the more serious of these issues will get fixed, because it does look like a lovely route.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  34. chieflongshin

    chieflongshin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2019
    Messages:
    3,446
    Likes Received:
    5,147
    Agreed, I just decided to make a conscious decision to buy less from DTG at the moment until the QA issues start to improve. I'll likely buy steam regardless as its different but no more whim buys currently
     
    • Like Like x 3
  35. 5cip

    5cip Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2020
    Messages:
    243
    Likes Received:
    152
    so far its not bad at all during night with my engine.ini
    [​IMG]
    worst weather at night
    [​IMG] t
    same with approching at station
    [​IMG]
    tunnel at night with cab light off


    my engine at the moment

    [SystemSettings]
    r.ViewDistanceScale=10
    foliage.LODDistanceScale=4
    ts2.save.CheckpointsEnabled=0
    r.StaticMeshLODDistanceScale=0.3
    r.Color.Mid=0.6
    r.Color.Mid=0.5
    r.BloomQuality=3
    r.Color.Max=1.0
    r.Color.Min=0
    r.TonemapperGamma=3
    r.EyeAdaptationQuality=1
    r.DefaultFeature.AutoExposure=1
    r.DefaultFeature.AutoExposure.ExtendDefaultLuminanceRange=1
    r.LightMaxDrawDistanceScale=80
     
  36. fanta1682002

    fanta1682002 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2019
    Messages:
    1,137
    Likes Received:
    553
    my engine.in

    r.ViewDistanceScale=1
    r.SkeletalMeshLODBias=-5
    r.StaticMeshLODDistanceScale=0.25
    foliage.LODDistanceScale=3
    grass.densityScale=0.5
    r.MaterialQualityLevel=1
    r.DepthOfFieldQuality=0
    r.MotionBlurQuality=0
    r.HighQualityLightMaps=1
    r.MaxAnisotropy=16
    r.PostProcessAAQuality=3
    r.TemporalAASamples=4
    r.TemporalAACatmullRom=1
    r.TemporalAASharpness=1.0
    r.TemporalAAFilterSize=1.0
    r.TemporalAAPauseCorrect=1
    r.ToneMapper.Sharpen=1
    r.SSR.Quality=2
     
  37. gogglesguy

    gogglesguy Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2020
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    178
    Not bad? You have a strange definition of not bad. Approaching a station you can barely see.
     
    • Like Like x 10
  38. chieflongshin

    chieflongshin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2019
    Messages:
    3,446
    Likes Received:
    5,147
    Two things stand out.

    jaspers not going to reply within 24hrs due to a tag. Man has a life I’m sure.
    Secondly, why post ini settings to improve lights. If you bought it they should work. You don’t pay £20 to develop workarounds yourself.
     
    • Like Like x 7
  39. Jasper_Rivet

    Jasper_Rivet Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2020
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    486
    I'm going to ignore the bashing posts in here, but be reminded, I do see them.
    To everyone else, massive thanks for the feedback in here, that's been really helpful and we're looking into it!

    Not really - but sometimes it's worth waiting a few days before throwing out a statement. We're aware of the issues and they're being worked on. I can't confirm any patch dates yet though.

    You can't switch of the speed control. But you can move the lever forward and notch it up to 160 km/h (which is almost like turning it off, since the train can't go faster anyway).

    I'll ping a note to our devs about the headlights issue,thanks for the feedback!

    You would be surprised how dark and useless headlights are in real-life! But agreed, will flag it to our devs.

    Where have you tried to talk to me? I haven't seen a note from you - and even though I'm trying to reply as quick as possible, I'm not working 24/7 and especially around these busy launch days, things can get lost. Apologies if that has been the case, just ask again!
     
    • Like Like x 14
  40. mldaureol2

    mldaureol2 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2019
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    129
    Update for this route just released. :love:
    Mike.
     
  41. redrev1917

    redrev1917 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2021
    Messages:
    2,199
    Likes Received:
    4,533
    Qudos to Rivet and DTG for getting a patch out which addresses some of the issues highlight both at preview and release.

    Understandable that the incab signalling issues haven't yet been fixed but hopefully we will see that addressed soon.
     
    • Like Like x 4
  42. Sharon E

    Sharon E Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2016
    Messages:
    779
    Likes Received:
    754
    The windshield does seem lighter, but what I am really happy about is, no more red signals at every station stop. Makes the run much smoother. I realize from watching many Swiss cab ride videos that red signals do appear at many stations which then clear once the train stops. I asked the poster/driver what that was about and his reply was "the signals are interlocked with level crossings and they had to be down and locked for the signal to clear." I have been running using the Intergra warning system and it does, for the most part, seem to be working ok. Staying away from ETCS level 2 for now.
     
    • Like Like x 4
  43. 5cip

    5cip Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2020
    Messages:
    243
    Likes Received:
    152
    anyone else has this after update ? the ground inside the train is disappeared...[​IMG]

    yes this window looks very good now
    [​IMG]
     
  44. matinakbary

    matinakbary Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2020
    Messages:
    1,228
    Likes Received:
    3,062
    It's due to a mod. Had the same issue, but it's a mod.
     
  45. 5cip

    5cip Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2020
    Messages:
    243
    Likes Received:
    152
    thanks indeed it was a mod for LZN route but i dont know which one so i removed all for that route
     
    • Like Like x 1
  46. PegasusLeosRailwayFanatix

    PegasusLeosRailwayFanatix Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2020
    Messages:
    1,113
    Likes Received:
    763
    Hi Jasper_Rivet, thanks for replying back and answering my question, I didn't mean to offend you in any way it's because I didn't get a response from you for a while, and think that you don't really care. Anyhow, I look forwards to seeing these fixes and promise you to make to the community thanks again. ;)
     
    • Like Like x 2
  47. Sharon E

    Sharon E Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2016
    Messages:
    779
    Likes Received:
    754
    I just thought, if all the red signals at every station stop are gone, maybe ETCS level 2 might actually work without too much issue or at least not cause too many problems since it won't have much to react too.
     
  48. kurtosizm

    kurtosizm Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2021
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    253
    I haven't had a chance to do a full run, but there was one ETCS bug after Sursee (driving towards Luzern) where you got an emergency brake where the speed drops from 160 to 125. That seems to be working now, no emergency brake this time. I'll finish the run tomorrow, then I'll do another one from Luzern towards Sursee. But this is very promising.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  49. solicitr

    solicitr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2020
    Messages:
    8,406
    Likes Received:
    12,275
    There is no ETCS Level 2 on that route- it's Level 1 with Limited Supervision. The only Level 2 installation in Switzerland is on the high-speed lines.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  50. Mat_Jam_Ca

    Mat_Jam_Ca Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Messages:
    4,305
    Likes Received:
    8,710
    Promising actions from Rivet.
     

Share This Page