Maple Leaf Motoring Bug

Discussion in 'Technical Reports' started by dkramer, Feb 21, 2020.

  1. dkramer

    dkramer New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2020
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    In the Maple Leaf Motoring scenario I have trouble starting the train after coupling the second rake of auto carriers. I can start the train if i go notch 8 and keep sanding, but there is severe wheelslip up until apout 5 mph and even then i cannot get above 6.5 mph even going downhill (and going above 1.1k amps). If I throttle back the train comes to stop without any brake applied.
    I walked the train and tried releasing all handbrakes (all were released as default), tried to release brakes from both the lead and trailing locomotive through the auto brake handle and brake valve.
    I am at loss about what to do.
     
    Last edited: Feb 21, 2020
  2. 749006

    749006 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2016
    Messages:
    6,535
    Likes Received:
    1,971
    Which route?
     
  3. dkramer

    dkramer New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2020
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oakville Sub division, Train sim World
     
    Last edited: Feb 21, 2020
  4. thrashmetal86

    thrashmetal86 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2019
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    6
    I ran into the bug too. If you look at the HOTD display, the brake pipe pressure at the end of the train won't change no matter what you do to the automatic. Dump the air, and it changes to zero but won't recharge at the back of the train.

    I fixed it by uncoupling the first rake of cars that you picked up from the plant from the second that was sitting in the yard (split point is one or two cars ahead of the crossover switch the second rake is sitting on), pulling forward, and then backing up to recouple.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  5. Stockton Rails

    Stockton Rails Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2020
    Messages:
    579
    Likes Received:
    830
    I tried this ‘fix’ tonight when I ran into this same issue again. I don’t think there was an issue with the pressure at the back of my train (will have to check my saved replay), but uncoupling and coupling the cars back up resolved the issue. Thanks for passing your info on to other players... not sure this will work for everyone, but it definitely did for me.
     
  6. LastTrainToClarksville

    LastTrainToClarksville Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2017
    Messages:
    2,138
    Likes Received:
    1,855
    This situation has been reported elsewhere in these forums, but since the search feature works so poorly, I'll repeat the solution in this thread.
    The cabs of both engines included in this DLC have a device called Banking COMM that allows multiple engines to communicate with each other via radio. In several Oakville Subdivision activities, this must be turned on (see screenshot below) in order to achieve full speed. Be aware that if the number of engines changes, Banking COMM will turn itself off and must be turned on again by the driver of the lead engine.

    upload_2020-3-22_10-39-56.jpeg
     

Share This Page