[mod] Improved Main Menu Ui, Diorama And Loco Select Screen

Discussion in 'PC Discussion' started by HeyYoPaulie!, Oct 2, 2021.

  1. HeyYoPaulie!

    HeyYoPaulie! Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2021
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    350
    Another brilliant mod by trainsimcz

    This mod replaces the 4.26 main menu / diorama to something more akin to the previous version.

    Key features:
    • A much more useful diorama - being outside, you can actually see weather changes
    • Improved camera angle when selecting locos
    • Avatar removed from main menu
    • And as an added bonus, far better GPU utilisation and temps
    This works with Steam 4.26 (not sure about the Epic store version).

    Thank you trainsimcz!

    Enjoy :)

    Download link: http://www.trainsim.cz/?mod=article&showid=2501

    diorama1.jpg diorama2.jpg
     
    Last edited: Oct 3, 2021
    • Like Like x 33
    • Helpful Helpful x 1
  2. LWDAdnane

    LWDAdnane Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2021
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    143
  3. Teflon490

    Teflon490 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2020
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    49
    As mentioned by 1 user there, it does not work in Epic version of the game.

    I still cannot comprehend why we have to rely on brilliant moders to fix these illogical changes DTG decided to do just for the sake of changing something, that previously worked perfectly.
     
    • Like Like x 15
  4. Rudolf

    Rudolf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2016
    Messages:
    1,579
    Likes Received:
    2,034
    I do not actually know that but keep in mind:

    If DTG does it they cannot afford that it does not work for all platforms and they need formal testing procedures to at least make sure it does not behave too bad. In the past I have installed several mods that caused crashes or made the game refuse to launch. For unsupported stuff, you can just kick it out.

    And, yes they could have take better design decisions but people make mistakes. And sometimes we need to forgive them.
     
  5. Cameron's Gaming

    Cameron's Gaming Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2016
    Messages:
    2,078
    Likes Received:
    2,726
    Does it also get rid of the guy in the corner? I've noticed he's gone and it seems to be running a bit smoother.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. bobbobberdd

    bobbobberdd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2020
    Messages:
    609
    Likes Received:
    874
    Sometimes, I hate being a Consoleplayer. It just looks a thousand times better. Above all, you don't see this crazy Bug with the EMUs / DMUs. If you look closely you see the Game just places the first Part of the Unit.
     
    Last edited: Oct 2, 2021
    • Like Like x 1
  7. 5cip

    5cip Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2020
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    21
    thats really true i cant believe that many thanks !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
     
    • Like Like x 4
  8. Doomotron

    Doomotron Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2018
    Messages:
    1,298
    Likes Received:
    1,440
    The original diorama was so much better than any of the replacements. For me, an option like in TSW2020 to change the diorama to the depot, the rural station and any of the TSW2020 Mastery dioramas would be great. The current diorama is completely useless and quite ugly as well.
     
    • Like Like x 13
  9. skyMutt

    skyMutt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2019
    Messages:
    470
    Likes Received:
    1,212
    I wholeheartedly agree with this. I'm not sure why the Mastery dioramas didn't make it into TSW2, having a selection to choose from is a much better option then sticking with the one diorama we see over and over again, across multiple routes.
    For instance, having an AC4400CW sat in the middle of a central station with glass arches feels soo out of place then say a maintenance shed. At least with TSW 2020, I could change that to something more appropriate.
     
    • Like Like x 6
  10. PegasusLeosRailwayFanatix

    PegasusLeosRailwayFanatix Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2020
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    91
    I agree, they could at least use the diarama from the original concept arts, as a backdrop while using the previous version where you see the train or rolling stock and can see the changes you made, to the weather setting and the time setting as well;
     
    • Like Like x 1
  11. PegasusLeosRailwayFanatix

    PegasusLeosRailwayFanatix Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2020
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    91
    They should add more dioramas relating to that route, but also bringing back the train, and seeing the changes in weather and time, and any other setting that you are tweaking.
     
  12. Yerolo

    Yerolo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2018
    Messages:
    815
    Likes Received:
    1,642
    I have been waiting for something like this since the release of 4.26...finally no more stupid avatars on the route select screen

    Thanks trainsimcz
     
    • Like Like x 1
  13. davidh0501

    davidh0501 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2020
    Messages:
    722
    Likes Received:
    1,045
    Every little mod helps.
    Thanks for this one.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  14. chieflongshin

    chieflongshin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2019
    Messages:
    1,454
    Likes Received:
    1,780
    Thank god, no more silly indoor look through the roof to see the weather lark. trainsimcz coukd I ask please how long this mod took to make please? I’m just curious how big a job it was time wise.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  15. trainsimcz

    trainsimcz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2016
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    990
    Around 5 mins include paking, editing readme, zipping, uploading and writing article about that :)
     
    • Like Like x 6
    • Helpful Helpful x 2
  16. chieflongshin

    chieflongshin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2019
    Messages:
    1,454
    Likes Received:
    1,780
    That staggers me that DTG left it as it was on that basis if it was such a quick remedy after all the negative feedback
     
    • Like Like x 1
  17. solicitr

    solicitr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2020
    Messages:
    5,149
    Likes Received:
    7,362
    Yes! Yes! Yes!!!!!
    :D:D:D:D:D:D
     
    • Like Like x 1
  18. Doomotron

    Doomotron Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2018
    Messages:
    1,298
    Likes Received:
    1,440
    Which concept art? I'd like to see it...
     
  19. dbrunner#4864

    dbrunner#4864 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2021
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    299
    One of the most epic mods for the new TSW2 4.26 version. The old diorama is a million times better
     
    • Like Like x 1
  20. HeyYoPaulie!

    HeyYoPaulie! Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2021
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    350
    • Like Like x 1
  21. LWDAdnane

    LWDAdnane Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2021
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    143
    For anyone considering whether to get this mod or not, I have a steady 60fps in the menu now with no stuttering, whereby I had around 30, with stuttering. Also looks a lot better, a no brained really. I know it's only a menu, but it makes a difference to the whole experience. We'll suffer with low frames and stuttering in the game anyway, may as well have a smooth experience somewhere if we can.
     
    • Like Like x 2

Share This Page