My New Computer

Discussion in 'PC Discussion' started by Kim1087, Nov 3, 2021.

  1. Kim1087

    Kim1087 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2018
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    178
    After playing TSW on an old PC I've finally bought a custom built Gaming PC . Its got an Intel i7-10700F with 16gb RAM with water cooling and NVidia RTX 3060 Graphics card It has 2 SSD's (one for Windows and the other for TSW) and what difference it makes, everything on Ultra and I'm getting 100 - 130 FPS

    *Edited to add GPU
     
    Last edited: Nov 4, 2021
    • Like Like x 2
  2. ghawk2005

    ghawk2005 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2020
    Messages:
    371
    Likes Received:
    701
    I bought a gaming PC for £500 from 3B systems. Brilliant service, and I’m getting ultra settings 60fps ( locked ). Such a bargain. Well worth the upgrade from my Apple i-Mac that I was previously running it on.
     
  3. Crosstie

    Crosstie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2016
    Messages:
    2,325
    Likes Received:
    4,488
    Impressive. May I ask which graphics card you have?
     
  4. conniethunder

    conniethunder Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2020
    Messages:
    320
    Likes Received:
    258
    For a non latest gen intel, that's impressive.
    I'd like to know the GPU too.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  5. Kim1087

    Kim1087 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2018
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    178
    NVidia RTX 3060
     
  6. meridian#2659

    meridian#2659 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2021
    Messages:
    1,063
    Likes Received:
    1,501
    Holy moly :) .
    Nice decision, are you preparing for spirit of steam rush hour?
     
  7. 59321747

    59321747 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2020
    Messages:
    496
    Likes Received:
    249
    Intel is about to launch the 12th generation processor, but what you are buying now is the 10th generation processor. I think the best time to buy a new computer is actually the first quarter of next year. Next year, the competition for graphics cards will become more intense. Nvidia will launch enhanced graphics cards next year, and Intel's graphics cards will also enter the game.
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Helpful Helpful x 1
  8. fanta1682002

    fanta1682002 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2019
    Messages:
    1,090
    Likes Received:
    536
    yes me too
     
  9. Yerolo

    Yerolo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2018
    Messages:
    878
    Likes Received:
    1,748
    Watching streamers play TSW2 with nuclear powered rigs really brings home how badly it runs on my PC....it really is a lovely, smooth experience with updated hardware.
     
  10. Jamy

    Jamy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2020
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    335
    Yeah 10th gen CPU's dont support PCI expess 4
     
    • Helpful Helpful x 1
  11. 59321747

    59321747 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2020
    Messages:
    496
    Likes Received:
    249
    The 12th generation processors support PCIE5.0. Although graphics cards support PCIE4.0 at this stage, it is unclear whether NVIDIA 40 series graphics cards and AMD 7000 series graphics cards support PCIE5.0 at the end of next year. PCIE4.0 is the first to support AMD, and the new PCIE5.0 standard allows Intel to take the lead.
     
    • Helpful Helpful x 1
  12. Kim1087

    Kim1087 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2018
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    178
    Oh Yes :)
     
  13. Speedster

    Speedster Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2021
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    65
    What resolution and scaling?
     
  14. davidh0501

    davidh0501 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2020
    Messages:
    935
    Likes Received:
    1,323
    Nothing like the joy of new kit.
    Bought a BenQ monitor the other day and still excited to turn it on.
    Shiney shiney!

    Makes you appreciate items you previously disregarded.
     
  15. Kim1087

    Kim1087 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2018
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    178
    100% I've tried increasing it but don't see any difference on my current monitor and the FPS drops down to 60
     
  16. chacal#2181

    chacal#2181 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2021
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    238
    60 fps are enough no ? 200% is good for less jaggy electric lines Over head. If you drive diesels hower keep 100%

    By the way Just as you i upgraded to à 10700k, 32go Ram, While I kept my older 2060, no, my older 2070, i forget its à 2070 :love:... and its perfect.
     
    Last edited: Nov 4, 2021
    • Like Like x 1
  17. solicitr

    solicitr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2020
    Messages:
    7,551
    Likes Received:
    10,802
    Anything over 60 fps is just willy-waving; the human eye can't notice it. Yes, guys claim they can; just like there are guys in the audiophile community who claim they can hear frequencies above 30k......
     
    • Like Like x 1
  18. Alex_m30x#7297

    Alex_m30x#7297 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2021
    Messages:
    392
    Likes Received:
    416
    Xbox 1 and PS4 players cry
     
  19. spicemaster

    spicemaster New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2019
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    19
    What monitor have you got
     
  20. Crosstie

    Crosstie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2016
    Messages:
    2,325
    Likes Received:
    4,488
    Absolutely. No one really needs more than 50-60 fps for TSW2,
    More might be useful for FPS games, or competitive multiplayer, but since I've never played either, I couldn't say.

    Of course I'd love to replace my rather aging PC with a rocket ship. I could do it, but then explaining it to " the Boss " would be something of a challenge, this year at least. :D
     
    Last edited: Nov 4, 2021
    • Like Like x 1
  21. solicitr

    solicitr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2020
    Messages:
    7,551
    Likes Received:
    10,802
    You and me both.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  22. Teflon490

    Teflon490 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2020
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    68
    Sorry, but that is not true. You can easily tell 60fps from 144fps BUT, you also have to compare it on proper HW. That is, monitor with 144Hz+ refresh rate. If you just have 300fps on a 60Hz monitor, yeah, you can't see much. But on high refesh rate monitor it is a night and day difference.

    Of course, this is a general rule, not that you need 100+fps for TSW. But please stop spreading rumours that 60fps is all that anyone ever needs.
     
    • Like Like x 2
    • Helpful Helpful x 1
  23. chieflongshin

    chieflongshin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2019
    Messages:
    2,582
    Likes Received:
    3,462
    If anyone knows of a 30 series card that will fit in an Alienware aurora r11 Id' be interested in links. There was a 3080 or 90 blower card but I know they're not supposed to be that great. Dell make their own 3080 but it's not for sale on its own.

    There's only 267mm I have to play with I believe where my 2080ti is.
     
  24. solicitr

    solicitr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2020
    Messages:
    7,551
    Likes Received:
    10,802
    Yeah, and some guys' hearing requires frequency reproduction up past 30 kHz....
     
  25. Cotax

    Cotax Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2021
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    280
    Ryzen 5800x with 32GB 3600mhz, 1TB SSD Nvme and 3060 ti - and still got massive stutters… Everything on ultra, 1080p, scaling set to 200%, no engine optimiziation. I run it on DX12, on DX11 it runs even worse. No problems in other games, locked at 120fps (i have gysnc and 120hz monitor). Stutters especialy in dresden, london victoria and hamburg - older routes are better.

    Any ideas?

    PS: There is a BIG difference between 60fps or 120fps +, especially in action games. But you need higher hz monitor + gysnc/freesync to really notice it. Many people dont, i do. Games under 60fps are litteraly unplayable for me, not to mention consoles with their poor 30fps.
     
    Last edited: Nov 4, 2021
  26. Teflon490

    Teflon490 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2020
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    68
    Those are 2 completely different things, at least from the "technical" point. I do believe you that you do not percieve the difference, and you have to believe me that I do. Afterall, I am not alone, there a tons of people who can see the difference too. And to take the case to an extreme, a blind person could say that PC monitors do not work at all, because he cannot see the picture.
     
  27. Teflon490

    Teflon490 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2020
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    68
    Got the stutters too. There is no guaranteed way to eliminate them completey, maybe lessen them at best, but they are part of the engine. Everyone experiences them, but each to a varying degree, depending on the HW configuration.
     
  28. w2sjw

    w2sjw Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2020
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    96
    I'm in the same ballpark as you, and don't get that kind of behavior at all.
    5600X/32GB @ 3600/Samsung 980 Pro for OS & 970 Evo Plus for the sim/3070/1080p @ 200%/DX12
    Try these settings in your engine.ini file:
    [SystemSettings]
    r.MotionBlurQuality=0
    r.ViewDistanceScale=2
    r.StaticMeshLODDistanceScale=0.25
    r.LandscapeLOD0DistributionScale=2
    foliage.LODDistanceScale=3
    r.Shadow.DistanceScale=2
    r.Shadow.TransitionScale=2
    r.Shadow.CSM.TransitionScale=2
    ts2.passenger.DensityScale=4
     
  29. TheShotte

    TheShotte Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2020
    Messages:
    380
    Likes Received:
    652
    You're effectively playing the game at 4K and you're surprised you're not getting 120 FPS with a 3060? Really?
     
  30. Cotax

    Cotax Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2021
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    280
    Forgot to write it - i play locked @ 60 fps. 120 fps i put just for reference in other games. But it's not a framerate problem - it's micro stuttering in some routes - game freezes for miliseconds.
     
  31. 59321747

    59321747 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2020
    Messages:
    496
    Likes Received:
    249
    OMG! At this time, buying a 3060 graphics card is not shrewd. Why? Nvidia will soon release 30 series of enhanced graphics cards. At present, the most cost-effective graphics card is 3060TI.
     
  32. dangerousdave

    dangerousdave Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2020
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    20
    I currently have a
    ryzen 7 2700x
    16gb ddr4
    rtx 3070 ultra
    and m.2 ssd

    Switched from intel about a year ago. (big mistake)

    @4k I get around 50-60 fps with constant stutter! I think the main problem is my amd processor which hasn't been all that good for gaming tbh. I'm currently awaiting delivery of a i7 12700kf and some ddr5 memory and a new mb. Hopefully this solves the stuttering issue and gives me solid 60fps.

    Something else i have noticed is a serious rendering problem! GWR is by far the worst where i can see the tracks missing in the distance. Well i say distance, to be more precise about the length of 2 train cars. Faversham route i get the same problem with the third rail only and London to Brighton some of the junctions are missing until I'm almost on top of them. The only route I don't seem to experience problems with is east coastway.
     
  33. TheShotte

    TheShotte Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2020
    Messages:
    380
    Likes Received:
    652
    Yeah so you get 50-60FPS at 4K with a 3070 Ultra, and the other dude is surprised he's not getting 120FPS at 4K with a 3060. Anyway, what are your graphics settings in-game? Also, there are ini tweaks that will extend the rendering distance of objects (including tracks) that will get rid of that bad draw distance.
     
  34. Calidore266

    Calidore266 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2021
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    344
    Early reviews of the Intel 12th gen are out, revealing killer performance along with power consumption like politicians gulping tax money. Bonus: Having this volcano-in-a-case means you may not need to run your furnace this winter.
     
    • Like Like x 3
  35. Cotax

    Cotax Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2021
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    280
    You didn't read it right, i corrected it.

    1. I'm playing locked @ 60 FPS
    2. Its 3060 TI, not 3060 (it's around 30% more perfomance).

    I tried lowering the scale from 200% to 100% for test - and it's completely the same stuttering - so GPU it's not a problem. The game just freezes. I will try tweaking my engine.ini with various optimizations.
     
  36. dangerousdave

    dangerousdave Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2020
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    20
    All settings are maxed in the game settings, Antialiasing is on TAA . Percentage is 120%. I'm intrigued to know about these ini Tweaks? Is this some sort of way to get the game back up to PC level graphics, instead of last gen console graphics?

    thanks.
     
  37. dangerousdave

    dangerousdave Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2020
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    20
    The 3070 heats the house all by itself. Before the AMD rig i was using a dual xeon workstation with a 1.2kw power supply! Power consumption is not really an issue i'm concerned about. Performance is though.
     
  38. Calidore266

    Calidore266 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2021
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    344
  39. Callum B.

    Callum B. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2018
    Messages:
    1,150
    Likes Received:
    1,968
    There's a simple solution: enable the PL1 turbo limit of 125W and lose only 7% performance. Alder Lake K-SKU CPUs are set to default PL1=PL2 on most (all?) Z690 motherboards, and this was a cheap attempt by Intel to win the top performance crown in benchmarks by any means possible, but the chips are still extremely worthwhile once brought back under traditional power conditions.

    ComputerBase.de has an excellent investigation of this.
    https://www.computerbase.de/2021-11/intel-core-i9-12900k-i7-12700k-i5-12600k-test/2/

    p_vs_e.png gaming tdp.png
     
    Last edited: Nov 6, 2021
  40. dangerousdave

    dangerousdave Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2020
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    20
    Yea I'm already running Windows 11. I've been told you can solve the DRM problem by disabling the E cores on the 12th gen cpus.
     

Share This Page