Name That Train!

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by inversnecky, Mar 26, 2021.

  1. JJTimothy

    JJTimothy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2018
    Messages:
    1,292
    Likes Received:
    807
    To be specific I think it's a DBSO (driver brake second open) converted from BSOs for use with 47/7s on the Glasgow-Edinburgh push-pull services.

    Edit: Five #%€¥ seconds....
     
  2. 749006

    749006 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2016
    Messages:
    5,891
    Likes Received:
    1,722
  3. NEC Railfan

    NEC Railfan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2020
    Messages:
    891
    Likes Received:
    913
    RailWorks64 2021-04-16 14-37-24.png
     
    Last edited: Apr 16, 2021
  4. 749006

    749006 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2016
    Messages:
    5,891
    Likes Received:
    1,722
    A modern mu with power doors - 323?
     
  5. NEC Railfan

    NEC Railfan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2020
    Messages:
    891
    Likes Received:
    913
    Nope.
     
  6. PhÜnKî_Rø0sTā

    PhÜnKî_Rø0sTā Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2019
    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    130
    *tumbleweed rolls by*
     
  7. 749006

    749006 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2016
    Messages:
    5,891
    Likes Received:
    1,722
  8. Average_Joe57

    Average_Joe57 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2018
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    138
  9. NEC Railfan

    NEC Railfan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2020
    Messages:
    891
    Likes Received:
    913
    Nope to all of those, but here's the clue:
    It's of "Canadian" origin.
     
  10. ntypeman

    ntypeman Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2018
    Messages:
    972
    Likes Received:
    232
    Comet V Cab car (or something like that...)
     
  11. NEC Railfan

    NEC Railfan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2020
    Messages:
    891
    Likes Received:
    913
    Close but not quite, the company that built this MU is now part of Alstom. It also shares an operator (should be very easy now).
     
  12. 749006

    749006 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2016
    Messages:
    5,891
    Likes Received:
    1,722
    The company I presume is Bombardier and you have at last given another clue - an Emu - after 10 days
    Metro-North M7A EMU?
     
    • Like Like x 1
  13. NEC Railfan

    NEC Railfan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2020
    Messages:
    891
    Likes Received:
    913
    Yep.
     
  14. 749006

    749006 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2016
    Messages:
    5,891
    Likes Received:
    1,722
    Ok what is this?
    Screenshot_1 - Test Centre_51.11638-6.22353_12-00-39.jpg
     
  15. Robbo13

    Robbo13 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2018
    Messages:
    288
    Likes Received:
    92
    Is that the old IET concept unit from test track?
    The SEC Hitachi super express?
     
    • Like Like x 1
  16. 749006

    749006 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2016
    Messages:
    5,891
    Likes Received:
    1,722
    I though it might have caught some people out - your turn

    Peter
     
  17. Robbo13

    Robbo13 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2018
    Messages:
    288
    Likes Received:
    92
    What is this? Probably quite an easy one
    Screenshot_(Doncaster - Leeds) Leeds Lines _53.79078--1.57117_06-43-14 (2).jpg
     
  18. ntypeman

    ntypeman Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2018
    Messages:
    972
    Likes Received:
    232
    150/2....
     
  19. Robbo13

    Robbo13 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2018
    Messages:
    288
    Likes Received:
    92
    Yes it is a 150/2
     
  20. ntypeman

    ntypeman Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2018
    Messages:
    972
    Likes Received:
    232
    My turn??? I'll have to post one later this evening... I haven't finished work yet...
     
  21. ntypeman

    ntypeman Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2018
    Messages:
    972
    Likes Received:
    232
    Ok... Here's your platform starter for 10...

    Screenshot (2).jpg
     
  22. 749006

    749006 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2016
    Messages:
    5,891
    Likes Received:
    1,722
    Is this a DTG model and is it a Reskin?
     
  23. ntypeman

    ntypeman Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2018
    Messages:
    972
    Likes Received:
    232
    No and yes... in that order... ;)
     
  24. 749006

    749006 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2016
    Messages:
    5,891
    Likes Received:
    1,722
    Is it a UK loco?
     
  25. ntypeman

    ntypeman Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2018
    Messages:
    972
    Likes Received:
    232
    Yes... it has a TOPS class / number...
     
  26. 749006

    749006 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2016
    Messages:
    5,891
    Likes Received:
    1,722
    SNCF BB22200 RFD Channel Tunnel
    From backdated TrainSim?
     
  27. ntypeman

    ntypeman Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2018
    Messages:
    972
    Likes Received:
    232
    Lol.. Well done Peter... Yes it's payware from Sim Express then the BB22000 reskin from Backdated Trainsim as you say...

    There was me thinking I was gonna get so:Dme mileage out of this one being in a pseudo UK livery, having yellow ends and a TOPS number...!!!
    Screenshot_North London Line_51.53284--0.23938_13-35-46.jpg Screenshot_North London Line_51.53289--0.23953_13-35-38.jpg Screenshot_North London Line_51.53441--0.22019_13-59-59.jpg

    They were Class 22's under TOPS (not to be confused with the Western Region Class 22) ... They've been quite a challenge learning to drive them & I've been trying to find out more info about them... I presume the furthest they worked into England was Dollands Moor???

    The other thing I'm trying to find out is were they fitted with AWS or not??? They've got a working French safety system on them but it's [obviously] not compatible with our AWS...

    Eric
     
    Last edited: Apr 28, 2021
  28. 749006

    749006 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2016
    Messages:
    5,891
    Likes Received:
    1,722
    They did not have AWS as they are too big to run on UK Routes - even though they fit in the game
    Dollands Moor was the furthest they reached from France and they have TVM430 for the Chunnel
    But you could run one to St Pancras over HS1 as they did with a TGV and a DB ICE3M
    I have the standard locos from Sim Express like this one
    Screenshot_Baragan Route v2.0_45.44554-28.06085_11-43-53.jpg
    I will find something else for the Name that Train
     
    Last edited: Apr 28, 2021
  29. ntypeman

    ntypeman Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2018
    Messages:
    972
    Likes Received:
    232
    The other thing was that I was "getting away with it" as it was an "English" loco...!!! (I know it might have raised some eyebrows) rather than putting it into the "foreign" version of the quiz...

    Eric
     
  30. 749006

    749006 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2016
    Messages:
    5,891
    Likes Received:
    1,722
    Sneaky :)
     
  31. ntypeman

    ntypeman Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2018
    Messages:
    972
    Likes Received:
    232
    As you do...!!! :cool:

    Have you much experience driving the BB22000's??? I'm struggling a bit with some of the features... :mad:
     
  32. 749006

    749006 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2016
    Messages:
    5,891
    Likes Received:
    1,722
    What like? I don't use the normal Signalling System on the locos and use Ctrl+Z to start it.
    And I changed the Input Mapper to use some normal keys
     
  33. 749006

    749006 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2016
    Messages:
    5,891
    Likes Received:
    1,722
    What is this?
    Screenshot_1 - Test Centre_51.11628-6.22345_12-01-02.jpg
     
  34. ntypeman

    ntypeman Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2018
    Messages:
    972
    Likes Received:
    232
    What does the Traction lever do & I also struggle to change the pantograph key (voltage selector), I think I've managed it ONCE... (Faceplant!!!)
     
  35. 749006

    749006 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2016
    Messages:
    5,891
    Likes Received:
    1,722
    For the Pantographs the key can be moved from one slot to the other with the ] key on my system
    One of the traction leavers is just FWD and Reverse

    Peter
     
  36. ntypeman

    ntypeman Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2018
    Messages:
    972
    Likes Received:
    232
    Peter...

    I've tried that but it doesn't seem to work for me... Does the panto key have to be in a certain position first before you change it over???

    Eric
     
  37. 749006

    749006 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2016
    Messages:
    5,891
    Likes Received:
    1,722
    Eric
    You have 4 positions for the Panto Key and it must be in 0 so as you look at the handle it is towards you
    Screenshot_1 - Test Centre_51.11626-6.22356_12-03-42.jpg
    The other positions S - NS - N are front, Both and Rear
    If you did it with the Pantos Up you would change from 25000 v to 1500 v and blow up the loco

    Peter
     
  38. ntypeman

    ntypeman Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2018
    Messages:
    972
    Likes Received:
    232
    Peter...

    So when the panto key is in "0", you press "]" and the key moves from one slot to the other??? Can you also drag it with the mouse and is it interlocked / dependent on any other controls being in a certain position???

    Sorry about so many questions... I'm reslly struggling with some features on this loco...

    Eric

    Oh... forgot to ask, is "Mono" 1500v & "Continu" 25000v...???
     
    Last edited: Apr 28, 2021
  39. 749006

    749006 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2016
    Messages:
    5,891
    Likes Received:
    1,722
    When you wish to change Current first trip the Breaker
    Under the Power Wheel it is the first switch on the top row - you will hear the breaker trip
    Move the Panto Select Switch to the 0 position so the black knob is towards you - as in the picture
    Use the ] key and it will jump from one slot to the other - move it away from Off to select a Panto before re setting the Breaker
    Then Reset the Breaker by pushing the first Switch back up the Hold the Second switch until the Power trips in.

    "is "Mono" 1500v & "Continu" 25000v." no - the other way
    Monophase - Single Phase AC 25000 (25Kv)
    Continuous DC current 1500 v DC
     
    • Helpful Helpful x 1
  40. JJTimothy

    JJTimothy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2018
    Messages:
    1,292
    Likes Received:
    807
    Hope I don't confuse anyone by dragging this thread back to topic (joking) but is it an EM2 in Dutch livery?
     
  41. 749006

    749006 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2016
    Messages:
    5,891
    Likes Received:
    1,722
    Correct :)
    Screenshot_Krammerdijks Deltaland v1.1_0.01589--0.02615_17-42-15.jpg
    Your turn
     
  42. ntypeman

    ntypeman Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2018
    Messages:
    972
    Likes Received:
    232
    BRILLIANT... I'll try it later...!!! Thanks again Peter... ;):D:cool:

    Eric
     
  43. ntypeman

    ntypeman Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2018
    Messages:
    972
    Likes Received:
    232
    Sorry Peter...

    I forgot to ask... are both pantos capable of picking up the dual voltages or is one for 1500v & the other for 25kv???

    If it's the former does it matter which panto is raised (have you any idea what the settings are on the panto key, "0" is obviously OFF, but S, NS & N...???

    Finally (for now!!!) is it really "voltage sensitive" [in game], ie you can run it on the 1500v setting under 25kv wires & it'll still work & vice versa???

    Cheers

    Eric
     
  44. JJTimothy

    JJTimothy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2018
    Messages:
    1,292
    Likes Received:
    807
    You had me thinking Departmental stock at first- which I imagine was the idea.

    Be very specific:
    [​IMG]
     
  45. 749006

    749006 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2016
    Messages:
    5,891
    Likes Received:
    1,722
    Ok In real life the locos use the S pantographs when on AC but can use both on DC
    In the game the settings don't make any difference because the Electrification is a track property and the wires or third rail is there to look as it should
    Try running a overhead loco on a 3rd rail route or a southern emu on a overhead route- it will work
    The N & S must mean something in French to indicate N = 1.5kv and S = 25kv but I don't know what - the NS just mean both pantographs.

    Peter
     
    • Helpful Helpful x 1
  46. ntypeman

    ntypeman Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2018
    Messages:
    972
    Likes Received:
    232
    Thanks again Peter...

    Can I nominate you to be the [un]official TS Traction Instructor...??? :D

    Eric
     
    Last edited: Apr 28, 2021
    • Like Like x 1
  47. 749006

    749006 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2016
    Messages:
    5,891
    Likes Received:
    1,722
    I know a bit and that is due to having an interest in the real thing :)
     
  48. 749006

    749006 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2016
    Messages:
    5,891
    Likes Received:
    1,722
    I presume this is a Wagon?
     
  49. JJTimothy

    JJTimothy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2018
    Messages:
    1,292
    Likes Received:
    807
    Oh can we do wagons? Yeah- I don't see why not.

    That's a no BTW.
     
  50. 749006

    749006 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2016
    Messages:
    5,891
    Likes Received:
    1,722
    My next guess might be the lid of a water tank of a Steam loco?
     

Share This Page