Out Of Memory Since Update :dtg U Already Have My Money

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by vyncwr, Apr 23, 2022.

  1. vyncwr

    vyncwr Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2020
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    89
    OK I'm aware what it means but everything was OK before. Now there's a freeze with out of memory like every time sooner or later. I can't finish a career. It's just me? I have tried to tune windows and Ram and everything.

    [edit by Protagonist - watch the language. Also, the swear-filter is in place for a reason. If you deliberately try to avoid it large portions of your post may be removed, as they have been in this case. This forum is for users of all ages. You are entirely welcome to voice your criticism, all we ask in return is to keep your language clean.]
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 24, 2022
  2. 749006

    749006 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2016
    Messages:
    6,609
    Likes Received:
    2,009
    Have you thought about raising a TICKET with DTG Support or have you just posted for a Moan.

    If DTG had screwed it up there would be a lot more people complaining - yet there is not.
     
    • Like Like x 3
  3. vyncwr

    vyncwr Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2020
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    89
    I've already did it. Its to fresh. But anyway its not the 1st time DTG screwed up. But the 1st time it turned out they changing up members words into totally something tottaly controversial. Which is more disturbing. I'm aware and I am really honour you as I saw you have and had I guess u still have experience not just in virtual but in real railroading. I am really honour you about this. But changing what I wrote is just disgusting and against every rule I know.
     
    Last edited: Apr 23, 2022
  4. Reef

    Reef Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2018
    Messages:
    1,590
    Likes Received:
    920
    And on nearly every forum I've ever been on dodging the auto censor is against their forum rules.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  5. IsambardKingdomBrunel

    IsambardKingdomBrunel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2017
    Messages:
    376
    Likes Received:
    602
    Really Reef, i thought you were better than that. The guy is angry and just wants to play his new version of the game.
    DTG have a track recorded of screwing up and it does get tedious after years and years of it. If i approached my job with the same couldn't careless attitude that is seen with DTG. There would have possibly been a lot of dead people and i would have been down the road, in the blink of an eye. Maybe the OP has screwed up who knows, but this is the place to vent surely. DTG's game and DTG's forum.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. 749006

    749006 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2016
    Messages:
    6,609
    Likes Received:
    2,009
    The guy is upset because the Auto Censor does not allow him to use swear words - check the link in his first post
    I think Reef is just pointing that out
     
    • Like Like x 2
  7. DTG Protagonist

    DTG Protagonist Creative Director Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2020
    Messages:
    1,284
    Likes Received:
    7,450
    If you have already submitted a ticket this will have been registered and will be investigated. As much as it is infuriating to have to wait for a response please be aware that tickets can take longer to deal with at weekends.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  8. rwaday

    rwaday Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2016
    Messages:
    269
    Likes Received:
    103
    OOMs tend to be more frequent on some systems than others. It may only be a corrupted file and a simple file verify can solve many issues. As to the update it has not caused any unusual issues on my system so I can conjecture that it is not an inclusive DTG issue and more related to a system issue.
     
  9. steamylocoman

    steamylocoman Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2022
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    127
    Do a complete reinstallation.
    Always works.
     
  10. trev123

    trev123 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2019
    Messages:
    420
    Likes Received:
    100
    Obviously, you don't play many games. Just go and look on any game forum and see how many game developers have stuffed up people's computers. All game developers have a track record of doing it. Anyway Train Simulator CLassic works fine for me.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  11. IsambardKingdomBrunel

    IsambardKingdomBrunel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2017
    Messages:
    376
    Likes Received:
    602
    Obviously you do not know what you are talking about.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  12. 749006

    749006 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2016
    Messages:
    6,609
    Likes Received:
    2,009
    That might be ok for those people with a few DLC - maybe like yourself
    Not much good when you have a lot of DLC
     
    • Like Like x 1
  13. trev123

    trev123 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2019
    Messages:
    420
    Likes Received:
    100
    Obviously, I do. I have been gaming since 1985 and have had TS since 2010.
     
  14. Kim Olesen

    Kim Olesen Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2018
    Messages:
    201
    Likes Received:
    122
    Copy the contents and assets folder to another drive. Do a complete reinstall, and then copy the aforementioned back. That way, at least you have ruled out it being the core game files themselves.

    This is not that hard to do after all.
     
  15. KTL_Rob Powell

    KTL_Rob Powell Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2018
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    36
    NEVER and I repeat NEVER do this, if you go for the nuclear option it's just that nuclear. copying files back in without insstalling them properly tends to break TS more than it was before you attempted to fix it.

    a clean install is just that, clean, and you should always reinstall content manually.
     
  16. trev123

    trev123 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2019
    Messages:
    420
    Likes Received:
    100
    Game.jpg
     
    • Like Like x 2
  17. Kim Olesen

    Kim Olesen Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2018
    Messages:
    201
    Likes Received:
    122
    Done it several times. No problems. Ts filestructure allows for precisely this. In fact i’d say if you have an i stallation that is over 300gb, this is the way to go.

    The way TS installs files is EXACTLY the same way as if i do it manually. There is none more correct installation than the other. That’s the beauty of the TS filesystem organisation. TS does NOT care how/who/why files are where they are, as long as they are in the correct place.

    Then, if it didn’t solve your problems, then start i stalling everything. Bit beware, if you have heaps of freeware assets and routes, you might never find them again. Same goes for payware that’s no longer available.
     
    Last edited: Apr 26, 2022
    • Helpful Helpful x 1
  18. 749006

    749006 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2016
    Messages:
    6,609
    Likes Received:
    2,009
    It depends how much you have on your Railworks Drive
    Screenshot (173).png
     
  19. Kim Olesen

    Kim Olesen Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2018
    Messages:
    201
    Likes Received:
    122
    Backup to an external drive. I actually have two overlapping backups at any time. Yes they take hours to make, but rather have a backup, than installing everything from scratch.
     
  20. IsambardKingdomBrunel

    IsambardKingdomBrunel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2017
    Messages:
    376
    Likes Received:
    602
    Well slap my face and bash my knuckles.
     
    Last edited: Jun 3, 2022
    • Like Like x 1
  21. 749006

    749006 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2016
    Messages:
    6,609
    Likes Received:
    2,009
    I do have what is in my Railworks folder on an external drive along with all the downloads
    It take a lot of time reinstalling everything.
    I had to do that when my 1TB Drive was getting full and I got a 2TB drive with 500GB partition for TSW2.
    Also I don't have most of my US Assets and Route installed due to lack of space/interest.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  22. 390001

    390001 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2018
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    143
    And rightly so banned
     
    • Like Like x 2
  23. CowBoyWolf

    CowBoyWolf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2020
    Messages:
    2,035
    Likes Received:
    1,358
    Till tomorrow
     
    • Like Like x 2
  24. 390001

    390001 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2018
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    143
    Sadly.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  25. Reef

    Reef Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2018
    Messages:
    1,590
    Likes Received:
    920
    Give it a rest!
     
    • Like Like x 1
  26. 390001

    390001 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2018
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    143
    Dont like our conversation scroll past and dont comment.

    have a lovey day.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  27. DTG Jamie

    DTG Jamie Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2020
    Messages:
    902
    Likes Received:
    3,865
    Please no snarky comments keep it nice if not will have to take further action.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  28. IsambardKingdomBrunel

    IsambardKingdomBrunel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2017
    Messages:
    376
    Likes Received:
    602
    Yeah you tell them Jamie boy. :D ;)

    Yma O Hyd
     

Share This Page