Pcs On F40ph-2cat - Peninsula Corridor Route

Discussion in 'Train Sim World Discussion' started by Ravi, May 3, 2021.

  1. Ravi

    Ravi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2021
    Messages:
    430
    Likes Received:
    422
    Is there a way to turn off PCS in this loco? The PCS Open comes on regularly even when setting up the cab. Cut in and it shows up and randomly does during stops as well. I can't even finish the Cab Car tutorial because the PCS Open turned on at the stop and I couldn't get going after that. Its annoying.

    Appreciate any help with this.
     
  2. Anthony Pecoraro

    Anthony Pecoraro Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    Messages:
    3,691
    Likes Received:
    4,295
    Put the automatic brake into emergency, put the reverser into neutral, then wait 60-90 seconds. Then you should be able to release the brakes.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  3. Ravi

    Ravi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2021
    Messages:
    430
    Likes Received:
    422
    Thanks. Does it work with the loco too?
     
  4. solicitr

    solicitr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2020
    Messages:
    10,090
    Likes Received:
    15,000
    Yes.

    The way to avoid this happening (which the tutorial does NOT tell you) is to move the brake handle to full release BEFORE cutting in the valve.
     
    • Helpful Helpful x 3
  5. Ravi

    Ravi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2021
    Messages:
    430
    Likes Received:
    422
    I did release it before cutting in. It was fine then I moved the Loco brake to Lead or Dead and that opened the PCS in the loco. Then it randomly trips when you are driving in some stops. I am sure I am braking wrong, is there a proper way that doesn't trip the PCS every second stop?
     
  6. raildan

    raildan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2018
    Messages:
    1,220
    Likes Received:
    2,097
    Sounds like you're just putting the brake in service and holding it there. It's a lapped brake, meaning that if it's left in service the brake pressure will keep rising- how far in service it is makes the pressure rise faster. To hold at a specific brake pressure, you want to move the brake back to lap at the desired pressure, otherwise it'll keep building up pressure until it trips the emergency brakes. I think.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  7. KoeleKoen

    KoeleKoen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2020
    Messages:
    360
    Likes Received:
    684
    100% correct, below a set value you trigger emergency, in belgium it's below 3,5 bar, i don't know the psi for usa (pressure in the bp)
     
  8. solicitr

    solicitr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2020
    Messages:
    10,090
    Likes Received:
    15,000
    Unless I'm mistaken, the independent brake shouldn't interact with the PCS in any way.
     
  9. KoeleKoen

    KoeleKoen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2020
    Messages:
    360
    Likes Received:
    684
    True, only the automatic should trigger it
     
  10. Ravi

    Ravi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2021
    Messages:
    430
    Likes Received:
    422
    That might be it. I will try this tonight.
     
  11. breblimator

    breblimator Guest

    There is no way to avoid PCS there :) ** setting the cab at beginning

    PS
    This is some kind of cold start in Peninsula :D

    PS...

    Or not :)
    Tested a minute ago:
    Auto-brakes Cutting-In works good (no PCS Open) in the released position.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: May 4, 2021
  12. Ravi

    Ravi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2021
    Messages:
    430
    Likes Received:
    422
    That was it. I think I was triggering the PCS by letting the brakes on service for longer. I was able to run a service without tripping the PCS. Thanks y'all for your help.
     
    • Like Like x 2

Share This Page