1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Please Fix This**** Stuttering !

Discussion in 'PC Discussion' started by maxipolo12, Sep 8, 2020.

  1. maxipolo12

    maxipolo12 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2020
    Messages:
    205
    Likes Received:
    134
    Damn, are you aware that it ruins the gaming experience ????
    From Aachen to Koln ever 3-5 sec.

    I don't know how it is on console but absolutely not normal on a pc in 2020 ...
     
    • Like Like x 2
  2. breblimator

    breblimator Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2019
    Messages:
    894
    Likes Received:
    561
    My Lenovo serves that route without any problems.
     
  3. doublefine7

    doublefine7 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2020
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    143
    I have more or less a smooth experience on SKA. Only microstuttering every once in a while and frame drops in Cologne are a bit bugging but performance overall is smooth.
     
  4. Knightfire1964

    Knightfire1964 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2018
    Messages:
    435
    Likes Received:
    329
    i did the route on a talent 2 on xbox and i had no problems only part it freezed was when ECW was installing to the game
     
  5. mclitke

    mclitke Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2020
    Messages:
    344
    Likes Received:
    514
    I have no stuttering at all on pc.
     
  6. johnjohn190690

    johnjohn190690 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2020
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    106
    Have this on both my PC and Laptop stuttering on laptop but on my PC smooth all the way from Köln to Aachen in both Talent 2 and ICE 3M
     
  7. matjamca

    matjamca Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Messages:
    1,462
    Likes Received:
    1,911
    I have some minor stuttering on my PS4 Pro but not to the extent it’s freezing for a second or two or three.
     
  8. maxipolo12

    maxipolo12 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2020
    Messages:
    205
    Likes Received:
    134
    Damn I do not understand why :/
    I will record it

    Please could you send me graphic settings captures ?
    I have the same problem with all max or all min

    Only stuttering on this line :/
     
    Last edited: Sep 8, 2020
  9. johnjohn190690

    johnjohn190690 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2020
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    106
    Maybe run it on lower settings
     
  10. bart2day

    bart2day Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2018
    Messages:
    287
    Likes Received:
    442
    Yes its bloody awful and ruins what is otherwise a very nice route. Its really bad on playstation too:



    To those people who say its fine, please please upload or share a clip so others can judge. I'm yet to see anyone run the route smoothly on console.
     
    • Helpful Helpful x 2
    • Like Like x 1
  11. breblimator

    breblimator Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2019
    Messages:
    894
    Likes Received:
    561
    What is Your system spec?
     
  12. maxipolo12

    maxipolo12 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2020
    Messages:
    205
    Likes Received:
    134
    3700x
    32 GB ram
    2070s
    Ssd nvme
    3440x1440 gsync

    Only problems with this game all other and AAA games work smooth
     
    Last edited: Sep 8, 2020
  13. breblimator

    breblimator Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2019
    Messages:
    894
    Likes Received:
    561
    Oh man! 100% sure it's something wrong with Windows / Config / Drivers or maybe BIOS but not hardware. I play it maxed on ideapad330. The only thing that could kill your PC is screen percentage at 200%, maybe.
     
    Last edited: Sep 8, 2020
  14. mclitke

    mclitke Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2020
    Messages:
    344
    Likes Received:
    514
    I have:
    Nvidia RTX 2060
    Intel Core i5-8400 @2.8 GHz x6
    16GB RAM

    ingame I run everything on max settings, 100% monitor percentage, TAA-Anti Aliasing and 1680x1050 resolution.
    I can run on 3360x2100 with frame drops, have not measured actual frames but is well-playable. I tend not to because the pc is quite loud this way.
    All I can report is a very very rare microfreeze, not even worth to mention, when something huge is loaded in for the first time while on the route.
     
  15. johnjohn190690

    johnjohn190690 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2020
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    106
    Same stuttering issue on my laptop at the same location aswell
     
    • Like Like x 1
  16. maxipolo12

    maxipolo12 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2020
    Messages:
    205
    Likes Received:
    134
    My stuttering isnt so "violent".
    Very little drops of 0,3-0,5 sec
     
  17. BAZ

    BAZ Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2020
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    50
    Do you know the speed of your RAM. Stuttering is a lot more common on slower RAM.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  18. xavpin234

    xavpin234 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2017
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    44
    I run on 2133 so that might be it ddr4
     
  19. Michael Newbury

    Michael Newbury Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    Messages:
    1,981
    Likes Received:
    1,778
    I am on PC and have played Aachen to Koln several times and have not noticed any real stuttering. The worst offending route for stuttering so far for me is the Bakerloo line.
     
  20. DTG Protagonist

    DTG Protagonist Community Manager Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2020
    Messages:
    739
    Likes Received:
    3,588
    Does it happen in the same place every time?
     
  21. doublefine7

    doublefine7 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2020
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    143
    So I can say that Düren and Köln are the most common places for stuttering, at least for me. I almost everytime get big stutters when I enter Düren and Köln.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  22. Michael Newbury

    Michael Newbury Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    Messages:
    1,981
    Likes Received:
    1,778
    I had tried the Bakerloo line again and was not able to recreate the stutters tonight, that I was getting when I was doing the scenarios. Tonight in timetable mode was not able to get the big stutters to occur. I will keep trying and see if I can get them to occur.
     
  23. maxipolo12

    maxipolo12 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2020
    Messages:
    205
    Likes Received:
    134
    I have stuttering on almost the whole line.
    On the bakerloo too but a bit less.Sometimes when an IA isn't so far from me.

    On CSX nothing to declare, just low FPS
    On Brighton nothing to declare too - very smooth and high FPS

    on TSW never had Stuttering.

    I deleted the game last night and try a new install,
     
    • Like Like x 1
  24. maxipolo12

    maxipolo12 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2020
    Messages:
    205
    Likes Received:
    134
    Same problem with new install.
    I hit without any problems a stable 70 FPS but but but always these micro stutterings.
    Happened on the whole line except entering and exiting Aachen and Koln stations

    Let me also say that only this game is concerned. (TS2020 for sure too :D) but didn't noticed that by train sim world 1

    + as a supplement/

    - very high clipping and also bug textures/shadows on trees and some buildings
    - texture streaming issue
    - shimmering on long distance
    - lot of variations of brightness on long distances
    - reflections bug in cabin in ICE with TAA - much better with FXAA

    Edit : all drivers updated (nvidia, amd chipset, Windows10 )
     
    Last edited: Sep 9, 2020
    • Like Like x 1
  25. mclitke

    mclitke Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2020
    Messages:
    344
    Likes Received:
    514
    Sorry for your experience... What is your monitor percentage at in the screen options? If it is at max, maybe just tone it back a little, that option slowed my machine the most.
     
  26. maxipolo12

    maxipolo12 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2020
    Messages:
    205
    Likes Received:
    134
    have the same problem between 90 and 110 %
     
  27. fabristunt

    fabristunt Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2019
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    36
    I also experience the stuttering.
    1070 TI, 4790K at 4.00 GHz. 60 fps and it still stutters every once in a while. This must be fixed because it's unbearable.
    Tsw2020 also had a similar problem in the beginning.
     
  28. matjamca

    matjamca Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Messages:
    1,462
    Likes Received:
    1,911
    Düren and Köln are two of the most detailed areas on the map, so it’s not surprising these two areas cause stuttering.
     
  29. Jinoss17

    Jinoss17 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2020
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    41
    It's not a matter of lowering the settings: I tried everything from my side and stutters are still there. 60fps 90% of the time but now and then it drops for 1 or 2 seconds to 40 or also lower and it's very noticeable and really annoying especially when you are approaching a station at low speed.

    From my test stutters happen mainly on the uncovered part of the Bakerloo, but also on the Koln-Aachen. To me it looks like stutters happen on the same spot every time, but it's quite frequent so it's impossible to write down every place where the stutters happen.

    PS: I'm on PC
     
    • Like Like x 1
  30. maxipolo12

    maxipolo12 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2020
    Messages:
    205
    Likes Received:
    134
    So the same experience like me.
    Thanks
     
    • Like Like x 2
  31. Jinoss17

    Jinoss17 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2020
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    41
    To add more information for the developers, I'm on what I reckon is a high-end pc at the moment and I'm running 1920*1080 resolution.

    I7 10700K, RTX2070S, 32GB DDR4 RAM and TSW2 is installed on a Nvme SSD.
     
  32. maxipolo12

    maxipolo12 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2020
    Messages:
    205
    Likes Received:
    134
    A bit ovekill for that resolution :)

    I tried all possible resolutions by my side and the same problem.

    the problem is in the core of the map and concerns the whole stability of the Engine optimization
     
  33. Jinoss17

    Jinoss17 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2020
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    41
    Maybe a new screen will arrive in the future :D
     
  34. maxipolo12

    maxipolo12 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2020
    Messages:
    205
    Likes Received:
    134
    Widescreens are the best for this kind of games :)
     
  35. DTG Protagonist

    DTG Protagonist Community Manager Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2020
    Messages:
    739
    Likes Received:
    3,588
    It won't be engine optimisation, PC specs or resolution that is the cause here it'll be asset density. Sometimes this is due to the sheer amount of "stuff" in one area, sometimes, and just as often, it can be because of a rogue asset - a tree with an uncompressed texture, tree that is placed in such a way as to cause additional physics load, a tree with some really aggressive shadows attached... One asset can cause a ton of problems which is why it's always worth checking if the problem occurs in one specific area.

    If it's not a rogue asset and is due to the amount of business going on in one area, that too is fixable, but again this is about pinpointing where the problem occurs.
     
    • Helpful Helpful x 7
    • Like Like x 2
  36. fabristunt

    fabristunt Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2019
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    36
    Well, I am abroad for work at the moment. Next week I can try to record a run on any of the lines and share it here, so people will tell me if they have stutters in the same places and hopefully the devs can look into it.
     
    • Like Like x 4
  37. maxipolo12

    maxipolo12 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2020
    Messages:
    205
    Likes Received:
    134
    The only possibility is to record the service.
    But it's impossible to
    complex to understand. On the aachenschnellstrecke we have sometimes travels along countryside and there are just treees.
    Those trees have not so good textures, they blinked and they finally kill the graphic performance if I understand well.

    Apart from the trees there are just green surfaces and still stuttering.
    In the Bakerloo line i can have stuttering in tunnels where there is nothing to show on the screen except some cables...
    In Brighton I have trees, green surfaces, water etc and do not have any stuttering so I m a bit lost

    To describe where the probleme occurs that will be impossible mission because it is by me almost 90 % of the line :(
     
    • Like Like x 2
  38. Jinoss17

    Jinoss17 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2020
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    41
    Quite a difficult task tbh, but anyway will try
     
  39. maxipolo12

    maxipolo12 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2020
    Messages:
    205
    Likes Received:
    134
    I tried to record but OBS doesn't want to.
    So the Stuttering appears completely randomly - with a lot of things to load or not.
    That comes 1 time every 5-10 sec and I spoted also a smal fps drop for example from 65 to 58

    So I'm sorry but that remind me the problems of Train simulator with DX9.

    I throught that it will be better with the new engine but not because it related to your Assets and only the assets who maybe are not 100% compatible with the engine, which is much designed for FPS or racing games.
    Look at Assetto corsa Competizione, Automobilista which exploits very nice the engine.

    And there are the others like Train sim world, Bus simulator, coach bus etc.

    A custom (home made) engine would be the best solution but needs a lot of means.
     
    Last edited: Sep 9, 2020
    • Helpful Helpful x 1
  40. maxipolo12

    maxipolo12 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2020
    Messages:
    205
    Likes Received:
    134
    Hey we do not to record:

    We can see it easily on your Video :D



    or here



    or here



    We can also see that the clipping and the stuttering is here. Thats flagrant
     
    Last edited: Sep 9, 2020
    • Helpful Helpful x 1
  41. stinkyheadsman

    stinkyheadsman Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2020
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    54
    Another thing that might help:
    What's the timestamp?
     
  42. maxipolo12

    maxipolo12 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2020
    Messages:
    205
    Likes Received:
    134
    Just watch 1 or 2 min you can not not see it
     
  43. ajwilson1889

    ajwilson1889 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2020
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    21
    Running on a laptop Acer Nitro 5 i7 10750 1660ti 6gb graphics card and 8gb system memory, 40fps in major station, 60fps rest, ultra settings, no stutter. I was going to upgrade system memory as it uses 7.8 out of 8 GB but doesn't seem to affect performance
     
  44. ildario77

    ildario77 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2019
    Messages:
    283
    Likes Received:
    390
    Hey, I'm on PS4 and I really feel you. After endless discussions with a lot of other players I can affirm that this game stutters on every single platform. The only difference is that somebody cares, somebody doesn't. There is just one way to check this: YouTube videos. NEVER saw one single video without stuttering. Worse on consoles, but clearly noticeable on PC also. Personally, I can't bear with the overground section of Bakerloo Line, but also the german route at full speed is pretty annoying.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  45. Jinoss17

    Jinoss17 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2020
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    41
    I don't believe you :D
     
  46. maxipolo12

    maxipolo12 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2020
    Messages:
    205
    Likes Received:
    134
    Exactly.
    Like other people who are happy with 30-40 fps games whereas it ruins the immersion by lack of fluidity
     
  47. ildario77

    ildario77 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2019
    Messages:
    283
    Likes Received:
    390
    I wonder why they didn't lock this game at 30 fps, at least on console...
     
    • Like Like x 1
  48. matjamca

    matjamca Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Messages:
    1,462
    Likes Received:
    1,911
    Would that fix it?
     
  49. ildario77

    ildario77 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2019
    Messages:
    283
    Likes Received:
    390
    Not the micro-freezings, but the lack of fluidity for sure. Even on console, the game rarely goes under 30 fps (maybe just with the longest trains on Sand Patch Grade...). A 30 fps lock would give you a better fluidity feeling.
     
    • Like Like x 4
  50. maxipolo12

    maxipolo12 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2020
    Messages:
    205
    Likes Received:
    134
    That won't fix anything
     

Share This Page