Rtx 4090 Results.

Discussion in 'Train Sim World Discussion' started by trains#2756, Nov 13, 2022.

  1. trains#2756

    trains#2756 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2022
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    5
    I just got a Zotac RTX 4090 and with everything on ULTRA and High settings at 4K the FPS was only in the mid 40's with GPU at 100% load with a 5950X processor. I had to dial the screen size from 200 percent to 115 to get a constant 60 FPS. The GPU was only loaded at around 50 percent at that setting so not as much power draw and still acceptable FPS. This game is a monster.
     
  2. maxipolo12

    maxipolo12 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2020
    Messages:
    558
    Likes Received:
    590
    But always a bit stuttering?
     
  3. dangerousdave

    dangerousdave Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2020
    Messages:
    1,873
    Likes Received:
    1,699
    Wow I was expecting solid 60fps 4k with everything maxed including scaling. There's something seriously wrong there.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. Princess Entrapta

    Princess Entrapta Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2021
    Messages:
    1,503
    Likes Received:
    1,451
    I am reminded of how Gotham Knights, one of the worst optimised games of recent years, is nigh impossible to get a solid 60 with an RTX 4090.
     
    Last edited: Nov 13, 2022
    • Like Like x 1
  5. fanta1682002

    fanta1682002 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2019
    Messages:
    1,154
    Likes Received:
    557
    i new pc i9 12900k+MSI 4090 PLAY TSW3 VERY GOOD
    I new tsw3 set
    r.ViewDistanceScale=10
    r.SkeletalMeshLODBias=-5
    r.StaticMeshLODDistanceScale=0.1
    foliage.LODDistanceScale=7
    r.MaterialQualityLevel=1
    r.BloomQuality=0
    r.MotionBlurQuality=0
    r.HighQualityLightMaps=1
    r.PostProcessAAQuality=3
    r.MaxAnisotropy=16
    r.TemporalAACatmullRom=1
    r.TemporalAASharpness=1.0
    r.TemporalAASamples=4
    r.TemporalAAFilterSize=1.0
    r.TemporalAAPauseCorrect=1
    r.SSR.Quality=2
    r.Streaming.FullyLoadUsedTextures=1
    r.Streaming.HLODStrategy=2
     
    Last edited: Nov 13, 2022
  6. Calidore266

    Calidore266 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2021
    Messages:
    694
    Likes Received:
    978
    While I have no doubt that TSW can be better optimised, I also have no doubt that the brand new drivers driving brand new graphics hardware can and will be much better optimised.
     
  7. solicitr

    solicitr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2020
    Messages:
    9,028
    Likes Received:
    12,984
    Were you running DX11 or DX12? 12 shifts much of the graphics load from the CPU to the GPU, so in your case (GPU-throttled) it ought to help.
     
  8. SonicScott91

    SonicScott91 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2020
    Messages:
    533
    Likes Received:
    1,176
    If you’re running at 4K with 200% screen percentage then your game is outputting an 8K resolution image. That’ll be why your fps is taking a hit, try it at 100% screen percent for actual 4K.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  9. theaussiedon#1057

    theaussiedon#1057 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2022
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    273
    do not there is bottlenecking going on with the new 4090s at this point how do i know because i have people in the game and know it all
     
  10. tsw2

    tsw2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2022
    Messages:
    948
    Likes Received:
    1,833
    This game is just terrible optimized ;)
     
    • Like Like x 3
  11. Callum B.

    Callum B. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2018
    Messages:
    1,538
    Likes Received:
    2,664
    They were running the game at 8K. What did they expect to happen? 200FPS?

    Cheers
     
    • Like Like x 4
  12. Jamy

    Jamy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2020
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    659
    unless your playing on a monitor bigger than 32inch, then why would you even bother with 4K, seems strange to me.
    I play at 2K o a 28inch monitor and have ever had FPS drop below 60 on a 3070TI
     
  13. dangerousdave

    dangerousdave Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2020
    Messages:
    1,873
    Likes Received:
    1,699
    Is it 8k though? I run 200% scaling on my hd monitor. The op has either hit the limitations of tsw which I find highly unlikely or there's some serious bottleneck somewhere. My 3070 can manage 25-30fps at 200% scaling I'd say the 4090 is around 5x more powerful than a 3070 if not more powerful.
     
  14. trainside

    trainside New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2021
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    15
    Same here with Gigabyte RTX 4090 Gaming OC. I have an older cpu Core i9 7900x 4.5Ghz 128GB ram. TSW3 stutters when loading tiles and lags at huge stations like München. Otherwise it runs at constant 60fps at 4k with DX12 Ultra settings on Schnellfahrstrecke Kassel - Würzburg with gpu load at 50-60%.
    Crysis Remastered runs as bad as original Crysis because of the horrible cpu optimization. It still uses 1-2 cpu cores.
     
    Last edited: Nov 13, 2022
    • Like Like x 1
  15. Callum B.

    Callum B. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2018
    Messages:
    1,538
    Likes Received:
    2,664
    4K with 200% internal resolution scaling is equivalent to 8K, yes.

    Cheers
     
    • Like Like x 1
  16. dangerousdave

    dangerousdave Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2020
    Messages:
    1,873
    Likes Received:
    1,699
    The only difference I see (in tsw) at 200% is less blur and better draw distance.

    My 3070 achieve 60fps at 4k everything ultra 125% scaling. With the power of the 4090 something don't add up.
     
  17. SonicScott91

    SonicScott91 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2020
    Messages:
    533
    Likes Received:
    1,176
    Even at 125% percentage, you're going above 4K resolution. Leaving the percentage at 100% is true 4K resolution.
     
  18. dangerousdave

    dangerousdave Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2020
    Messages:
    1,873
    Likes Received:
    1,699
    On tsw2 100% didn't look too bad but tsw3 it looks terrible. Even 125% ain't that great. Everything looks blurry and distant scenery is non existent. I don't think the scaling works how it's intended.

    Looking at the ops results. 115% scaling on a 4090 and I'm running 125% on a 3070 I was pointing out that something isn't right.
     
    Last edited: Nov 13, 2022
    • Like Like x 1
  19. tsw2

    tsw2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2022
    Messages:
    948
    Likes Received:
    1,833
    TSW looks terrible on everything below 4k even with AA. Blurry mess of a picture.
    No other game does this, ever, thats why I say there is something fundamentally wrong with TSW.
    I usually play QHD with AA and it looks great in 99.9% of games but not in TSW.
    I have to set it to 150% + AA to get it to look ok/decent.

    Same on Xbox. I use a 1080p monitor and all games look good/ok with Full HD or 100%...
    TSW in 1080p looks terrible, like 720p with no AA. Have to set it to 4k on the Series S to make it look decent/ok.

    Thas something most people forget when they say "but why are you playing in 4k??"

    DTG Matt
    Since multiple people report this (and the ones that dont are just not sensitive to blurry and jagged pictures. Is there something DTG can do about that? Why does TSW looks so bad with 100% resolution + AA? (By the way, TSW2 always has/had a similar issue.
     
    Last edited: Nov 13, 2022
    • Like Like x 1
  20. Princess Entrapta

    Princess Entrapta Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2021
    Messages:
    1,503
    Likes Received:
    1,451
    I've said for some time that the console versions especially, due to lacking the full gamut of pc options, ought to offer a 1440p mode for better balance of performance and quality. On VRR displays it could make a real difference on Series S especially where we currently have a choice of a flickery mess of 4k30, and a solid 60fps at 1080p.
    I always choose 1080p mode in TSW2/3 on Series S, and increasingly do so on TSW3 on Series X in order to keep the framerate tolerable.
     
  21. dangerousdave

    dangerousdave Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2020
    Messages:
    1,873
    Likes Received:
    1,699
    I actually prefer playing on a hd monitor with 200% scaling over 4k. I was eagerly awaiting the release of the 4070 to get 200% scaling at 4k. Now I'm thinking I might aswel save my money and not bother.
     
  22. DTG Matt

    DTG Matt Executive Producer Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2016
    Messages:
    1,564
    Likes Received:
    7,737
    I don't understand the OP's results, my setup at work does better than that and is a fraction of the machine.

    200% at 4K is a mad game anyway, why would you do that :)

    Are you talking about a drop in quality between 2 and 3? if so - show me like for like comparison shots to help diagnose, because i'm not seeing it, and another thread where i asked for the same seemed to yield no difference as well.

    If it's a long standing issue - then i'm not sure, "so bad" is highly subjective, I often run it at 100% because I prefer FPS to anything else, but it hasn't looked "so bad" to me. One of the major problem areas is with OHLE - because we've modelled it at prototypical sizes, it's frequently sub-pixel sizing on a render and computer graphs hate sub pixel things.

    We did look at beefing up the OHLE a bit so it was thicker and render more clearly - but - then it's not accurate either, so...

    200% scaling at 1080P, or running at 4K, does provide enough that the pixels are sufficiently smaller that a lot less is sub pixel, which is what makes it look a lot better.

    Basic AA isn't going to magic up data that doesn't exist in the raw image, where as 200% scaling creates a lot more data that it can then use to improve the reduced image, which is why it always works alot better - the difference is, 200% scaling is a GPU hug where AA generally isn't, so, you make your choices.

    Show me some example shots and highlight what you feel is substandard and I can talk to the team about it and see what can be done to improve it.

    As I say though - if this is a drop from TSW2 to TSW3 then I need concrete like for like examples to take it further, we literally changed nothing on TSW2 routes when they were brought over and none of the core changes for Time of Day etc affect those routes either - so you're either misremembering TSW2 (as was happening in the lighting discussion) OR something has had an unexpected side effect that we need to look into - but for that, I need specific clear examples, because whenever we've looked into it, we can't see it.

    If there IS an issue, I would very much like to fix it, so please don't take this as a fob off, quite the opposite.

    Matt.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  23. dangerousdave

    dangerousdave Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2020
    Messages:
    1,873
    Likes Received:
    1,699
    Once you've seen it, you want it. well I do anyway.
     
  24. dangerousdave

    dangerousdave Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2020
    Messages:
    1,873
    Likes Received:
    1,699
    I will get around to it eventually. I need to install Tsw2 but need to complete farcry before I delete it to make space. I think what stands out the most is sehs, obviously it has been remade so its gonna look different but as I mentioned before its possibly the bright lighting, it makes objects look blurry, and the trees, I think the lighting makes them stand out a lot more than the old sehs, so you notice them being fully rendered a lot more than before.
     

Share This Page