Sand Patch Grade Banking Comm

Discussion in 'PlayStation Discussion' started by Mat_Jam_Ca, Apr 3, 2021.

  1. solicitr

    solicitr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2020
    Messages:
    5,218
    Likes Received:
    7,446
    • Like Like x 2
  2. solicitr

    solicitr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2020
    Messages:
    5,218
    Likes Received:
    7,446
    I just had me a thought thunk while thinkin'

    What if the notoriously wonky dynamic brakes on the AC4400 are a result of our mistakenly turning ON the DP fuse in the helper lead? What that would amount to is two lead engines both trying to send instructions at the same time, one which in the game model doesn't affect the throttle but does affect the DB? Do the AC's DB work correctly when running light loco or without helpers?
     
    • Like Like x 1
  3. breblimator

    breblimator Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2019
    Messages:
    2,989
    Likes Received:
    3,394
    Much research has already been done on the AC4400 here. Some led to verbal skirmishes. Don't get me involved! :D
    But that's a good lead!
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. Lamplight

    Lamplight Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2020
    Messages:
    1,565
    Likes Received:
    2,526
    Let's clear one thing up first: The wonky brakes refer to the dynamic brakes decreasing in power with higher speed and vice versa. Is that correct? That seems to be my observation. Also, actually increasing them works in a very wonky way as in little power is applied ~50% of the throttle range and then seems to jump up a lot in the last ~50% of the throttle range. Is that also correct? It's been months since I've actually taken an AC44 for a run so my memory may be failing me here.

    If so, I experience those problems with no rear DPU lead DP fuse on (as I showed in my video). That seems to rule out what you suggest.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  5. solicitr

    solicitr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2020
    Messages:
    5,218
    Likes Received:
    7,446
    Hmm. Okay. Well, it was just a thought.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. Costpap

    Costpap Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2020
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    86
    Are you sure that you're referring to PS4 users? As far as I know, no PS4 users have been able to get Ctrl - to actually work. Although, to be fair, my PS4's language is set to Greek and not English, so maybe this could be why it's not working on my end.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  7. Lamplight

    Lamplight Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2020
    Messages:
    1,565
    Likes Received:
    2,526
    Tried it with both PS4 and external keyboard set to English and it doesn‘t work (on basic PS4).
     
    • Like Like x 2
  8. breblimator

    breblimator Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2019
    Messages:
    2,989
    Likes Received:
    3,394
    Perhaps You are right. This could be PS issue.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  9. Lamplight

    Lamplight Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2020
    Messages:
    1,565
    Likes Received:
    2,526
    That‘s my assumption. I read about concoles (not sure whether it was XBox or PS) not having a working brake key (on an external keyboard) for the longest time. Perhaps this is a similar case.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  10. casssp

    casssp Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2021
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    16
    This past weekend I found a spreadsheet with simplified settings here somewhere. Please someone have the link? I'm still looking...
     
    • Like Like x 1
  11. solicitr

    solicitr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2020
    Messages:
    5,218
    Likes Received:
    7,446
    • Like Like x 2
  12. casssp

    casssp Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2021
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    16
    That was exactly what I was looking for about 3 hours ago, thank you very much!

    I used it on Saturday, but I didn't save it or bookmarked it.

    A big thank you to the spreadsheet creator!!! :D:D
     
    • Like Like x 1
  13. johnny69wells

    johnny69wells Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2019
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    86
    Is the spread sheet, for the pusher engine's at back train?
     
  14. solicitr

    solicitr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2020
    Messages:
    5,218
    Likes Received:
    7,446
    All of them
     
    • Like Like x 1
  15. johnny69wells

    johnny69wells Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2019
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    86
    I'm having some trouble, with Cumberland Charge, connect engines front of train. Then when going forward, to were you supposed to stop. The engines go into the red, then they won't work, can't get any grip up slope. What I'm wrong with this?
     
  16. digger#5930

    digger#5930 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2021
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    3
    The written description and video for how to set up the diesel locomotives are fantastic. Thank you to both for doing those. I have a much better understanding of how the brakes and distributive power works. One question, in the AC4400CW, there are two computer screens for setting up the brakes and for selecting lead or trail. Does it matter which screen we use? They both look to display the same thing, but in the video when setting up the lead unit, he used the computer to the right and when setting up all the other locomotives, he used the screen on the left. Any particular reason for that? Otherwise, great tutorial and much more informative than the game training. Thank you!
     
    • Like Like x 3
  17. Lamplight

    Lamplight Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2020
    Messages:
    1,565
    Likes Received:
    2,526
    Just convenience since the left screen is easier to read without sitting down and the right screen is first when cycling the cameras while being seated. The screens are identical and it doesn‘t matter which one you use.
     
    • Like Like x 3

Share This Page