Scaling The Hud Using An .ini Mod

Discussion in 'PC Discussion' started by bescot, Sep 2, 2021.

  1. bescot

    bescot Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2016
    Messages:
    241
    Likes Received:
    352
    Along with another player Foobian (sorry I don't know your tag name on the forum) we discovered it is possible to use engine.ini to scale the UI and HUD.

    So, the screenshots show the normal sized UI and one set to 60% of the original size. Of course you can change the value to suit yourself, I use 75% on a 4K 52" lounge TV when I'm sitting around 3m away.

    Ts2prototype Screenshot 2021.09.02 - 14.30.40.57.png Ts2prototype Screenshot 2021.09.02 - 14.34.40.79.png

    The scale will rescale everything in all screens and menus, including the route selection screen and the new avatar, so bear that in mind.

    Open your engine.ini file and enter, right at the bottom:

    [/Script/Engine.UserInterfaceSettings]
    ApplicationScale=0.600

    Default is 1.000, so 0.600 will be 60% of the original size.
     
    Last edited: Sep 2, 2021
    • Helpful Helpful x 24
    • Like Like x 7
  2. manny#3696

    manny#3696 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2021
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Very Nice, Thank you very much.
     
  3. breblimator

    breblimator Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2019
    Messages:
    2,999
    Likes Received:
    3,401
    Super-useful \o/ Thanks for sharing
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. davidh0501

    davidh0501 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2020
    Messages:
    726
    Likes Received:
    1,048
    Agreed. Great find.
    This is very useful.
     
  5. Thorgred

    Thorgred Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2018
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    46
    this also resize the menu elements such as journey mode menu
    so using a resize value to make it larger will mess up those menu's
    smaller values then 1.000 are ok
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. bluetiger#2496

    bluetiger#2496 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2021
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    25
    This is a super useful tweak, thanks
     
  7. lcyrrjp

    lcyrrjp Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2019
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    131
    Wow - that's a massive improvement. I no longer have a big grey stripe across the windscreen. Thank you.
     
  8. jmhdc812

    jmhdc812 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2021
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    101
  9. chieflongshin

    chieflongshin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2019
    Messages:
    1,491
    Likes Received:
    1,809
    Nice find. I’ll have to look at this as on a pc monitor I’m not keen in seeing too much.
     
  10. Quentin

    Quentin Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2016
    Messages:
    201
    Likes Received:
    171
    Very nice. One (tiny) snag - on training sessions the indicators showing you which button/lever to use next are now in the wrong place. But I imagine most people using this tweak will be experienced drivers. :)
     
  11. bluetiger#2496

    bluetiger#2496 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2021
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    25
    The floating stop icon that displays the distance is also in the wrong place, but those are small problems to deal with to shrink the hud to something more reasonable.
     
  12. WaveyDavey

    WaveyDavey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2020
    Messages:
    606
    Likes Received:
    911
    One more thing that this also alters that may cause problems for people, myself included, is that it means the layer usage info in Livery Designer now covers part of the colour palette area so you cannot use it correctly. I use this mod when driving and just use an engine.ini file without it in when I know I'm going to be doing some livery editing work.
     
  13. Purno

    Purno Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2018
    Messages:
    1,323
    Likes Received:
    2,144
    Never used any mods before because I like to keep my installation clean and vanilla, but this sure does look good and very tempting to try this.
     
  14. Purno

    Purno Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2018
    Messages:
    1,323
    Likes Received:
    2,144
    I'm loving this. Doesn't just make the HUD better, also makes the whole route & loco selection better. Text is still easily readable on my 4K screen.

    DTG Protagonist come on, give us a setting already to adjust UI size, so we don't have to fiddle with ini files.

    20210903143621_1.jpg
    20210903143644_1.jpg 20210903143825_1.jpg 20210903145914_1.jpg
     
    Last edited: Sep 3, 2021
    • Like Like x 10
  15. TheShotte

    TheShotte Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2020
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    645
    Because it's difficult to make a "UI Scale" slider in the options... SMH.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  16. BladesAndRazors

    BladesAndRazors Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2021
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    84
    Any setting for opacity?
     
    • Like Like x 1
  17. F-Block

    F-Block Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2019
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    112
    Ayyyy, it's me Foobian! I only discovered this forum post just now.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  18. Franck69

    Franck69 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2020
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    35
    it doesn't work for me, maybe I'm doing something wrong, boh
     
  19. sequencer2k16

    sequencer2k16 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2020
    Messages:
    412
    Likes Received:
    543
    Thanks a lot, I've been waiting for something like this since the beginning of TSW.
    I always selected the small HUD in the options, but it still felt like I was in blind mode.
    Now everything is at 60%, just perfect and I love it.

    THANK YOU again for this amazing modification, this should be implemented officially!
     
  20. orb

    orb Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2021
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    26
    Yes. Official support would at least fix incorrect positions of markers and some of other UI elements displayed not where it's expected, that happen with this scaling.
     
  21. Purno

    Purno Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2018
    Messages:
    1,323
    Likes Received:
    2,144
    Yeah some markers may be displayed in incorrect positions, got me stuck in a tutorial. Temporarily switched back to the original ini file to complete the tutorial, then quickly got back to my 60%-HUD/UI-scale ini file. Totally worth it.

    I'm only playing timetable mode and I haven't run into any problems with incorrect marker positions on timetable mode. Not that there are a lot of markers to be displayed in timetable mode anyways. The 60%-HUD/UI-scale is perfect for timetable mode IMO.

    But it'd be nice if it'd be implemented officially, indeed.
     
  22. WaveyDavey

    WaveyDavey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2020
    Messages:
    606
    Likes Received:
    911
    Livery Editor is another place there are issues using the mod. The layer counter is moved so it covers part of the colour palette display so you cannot change colours correctly when using the mod.
     
  23. Purno

    Purno Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2018
    Messages:
    1,323
    Likes Received:
    2,144
    Ah, I have never even touched the livery editor, so obviously I haven't run into these problems. :P

    It shows the mod isn't ideal, but even with its flaws it's quite good. I think that says something about how badly people want a scalable UI/HUD.
     
    • Like Like x 5

Share This Page