PC Sd40-2 Stuck In Hill

Discussion in 'Technical Reports' started by vongprimo, Sep 26, 2021.

  1. vongprimo

    vongprimo New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2021
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    3
    Hi, so i'm having a problem in a timetable from Sand Patch Grade, my train (SD40-2) was climbing the hill but at some point the train stop and i can't move anymore, every time i put the throttle to 4 and start to release the independent brake slowly the train star to go backward and i need to apply the automatic brake to stop, when i repeat the process the same happens. I have two trains and multiple cargo like the image below. The configuration set on the is:

    Lead Train (SD40-2)

    Cut-off Valve: Freight
    MU-2A Valve: Trail 6 or 26
    Engine Run: On
    Generator Field: On
    Control and Fuel Pump: On

    Trailing Unit 1 (SD40-2)

    Cut-off Valve: Cut-Out
    MU-2A Valve: Trail 6 or 26
    Engine Run: Off
    Generator Field: Off
    Control and Fuel Pump: Off
    Can someone help please?

    20210926022358_1.jpg

    20210926022521_1.jpg
     
  2. solicitr

    solicitr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2020
    Messages:
    5,158
    Likes Received:
    7,364
    Which services? There are some consists which are simply too heavy for a pair of SD40s (3000 hp each) to lug up that grade. (These were originally do-able in TSW2020, but TSW2's new adhesion physics made many heavier trains underpowered. MSB suffered from the same problem until the recent update.)

    Use AC4400s.
     
  3. vongprimo

    vongprimo New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2021
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    3
    It is the first timetable, "Q249 - Autorack - Baltimore to Connellsville"
     
  4. Trainmania100

    Trainmania100 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2018
    Messages:
    637
    Likes Received:
    454
    Check the map - have you got two locomotives on the rear?
    If so you need to enable these banking locomotives.
    Front
    Locomotive 1 - lead - radio on (back switch panel)
    Locomotive 2 - trail - radio on
    Rear
    Locomotive 3 - lead - radio on
    Locomotive 4 - trail - radio on

    Return to lead front loco, and enable the banking COMM, above the auto brake on a digital screen type panel
     
  5. vongprimo

    vongprimo New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2021
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    3
    Unfortunetally i only have two locomotive on the front, one lead and one trail
     
  6. vongprimo

    vongprimo New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2021
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    3
    I tried to turn on the radio of the trail locomotive but still, the loco is going backward
     
  7. vincentnicholas202

    vincentnicholas202 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2020
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    4
    try use crtl+- to control at the back of the train, that is my trick
     
  8. vongprimo

    vongprimo New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2021
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    3
    Thanks i didn't know that, but still i don't have a locomotive at the back, only the 2 ate the front

    20210926062351_1.jpg
     
  9. HaibaraHariko

    HaibaraHariko Active Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2019
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    166
    You have to use AC4400CWs. I don't know if you need two AC440CWs or maybe one is fine, but two SD40-2s are not powerful enough for this.
     
  10. vongprimo

    vongprimo New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2021
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    3
    I see, but this timetable is specific for the loco SD40-2
     
  11. vongprimo

    vongprimo New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2021
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    3
  12. HaibaraHariko

    HaibaraHariko Active Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2019
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    166
    This service is also available in the list of AC4400CW and you can get at least one AC4400CW.

    The second locomotive will still be random. After starting it five times I got three SD40-2s, one AC4400CW and one C40-8W.
     
  13. vongprimo

    vongprimo New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2021
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    3
    I will try with this loco
     
  14. Trainmania100

    Trainmania100 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2018
    Messages:
    637
    Likes Received:
    454
    Try the sander
     
  15. Hiro Protagonist

    Hiro Protagonist Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2021
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    107
    Lead loco must be set as "Lead or Dead" on the MU valve, not Trail
     
    • Like Like x 1
  16. vongprimo

    vongprimo New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2021
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    3
    I tried the sander and still doesn't go.
    I tried with this conf but still the train go backward
     
  17. conniethunder

    conniethunder Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2020
    Messages:
    316
    Likes Received:
    252
    Try putting power to 4, wait about a minute, then release the brakes.
    Setup as Hiro Protagonist post states.
     
  18. vongprimo

    vongprimo New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2021
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    3
    I tried that but still go backward
    I tried using this other loco and i finished the timeline thanks
     
    • Like Like x 1
  19. solicitr

    solicitr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2020
    Messages:
    5,158
    Likes Received:
    7,364
    Again, 2 SD40s just don't have the power to pull that train
     
  20. Michael Newbury

    Michael Newbury Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    Messages:
    3,258
    Likes Received:
    2,826
    I gave this timetable a run for my money, but ran into the same issues 2 SD40's are not enough to get this train up the hill. I got stuck 10 miles from Mance before my journey came to a end. No matter what I tried there was not getting the train move up the hill, it appears this train is missing the helper locos needed to get it up the hill.
     
  21. solicitr

    solicitr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2020
    Messages:
    5,158
    Likes Received:
    7,364
    It's not a question of missing engines, but rather that the service was designed for TSW1/2020, which didn't model adhesion properly, therefor in TSW2 the traction is insufficient-- realistically.

    To climb the grade from the eastern (Hyndman) side requires about 1.5 horsepower per ton (hppt). That means that two SD40s can't do it with a train weighing more than ~4000 tons.
     
    Last edited: Sep 29, 2021
  22. todzilla#6054

    todzilla#6054 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2021
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am trying Q249 also, so far so good 20210930151329_1.jpg
     
  23. todzilla#6054

    todzilla#6054 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2021
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nope, I died 1.9 miles out side of Mance. I think the 1.7% grade got me at the end.
     
  24. vongprimo

    vongprimo New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2021
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    3
    I tried with the AC4400CWs and i passed the scenario, but is very frustrating this bug
     

Share This Page