Smaller Hud

Discussion in 'PC Discussion' started by Guerra, Aug 23, 2021.

  1. Guerra

    Guerra Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2018
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    29
    Current hud is an immersion killer for me but since I am not a pro at train simming, I need to keep it on. So i think a simplified info screen would be good as a choice
    For example, I like the fps counter in the game. A few small lines like this fps indicator would be enough for me. I only need the next speed limit (and distance to it), next signal (and distance to it), next wp (and distance to it), and timing messages when necessary. Like;

    30 / 5.6
    Green / 5.3
    Stop at "xyz" / 12.4
    Wait until at 09:25 AM
     
    • Like Like x 1
  2. Jeannot41

    Jeannot41 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2018
    Messages:
    393
    Likes Received:
    451
    On Stean, you have an FPS counter
     
  3. Guerra

    Guerra Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2018
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    29
    I am not looking for an fps counter
     
  4. Michael Newbury

    Michael Newbury Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    Messages:
    3,261
    Likes Received:
    2,827
    It would be impossible to make the HUD any smaller with what is required to be there, as for the FPS counter while in game just press F3 and that will turn it on.
     
  5. TrainSim-Matt

    TrainSim-Matt Executive Producer Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2016
    Messages:
    925
    Likes Received:
    5,069
    I think the OP means small lines of text in the same way the FPS counter is displayed.

    I hear you, I share the desire. Just recently i've found driving without any HUD except the top left (CTRL+4, CTRL+4, CTRL+5, CTRL+6) to be exhilarating and i'm keen to find a way to make that something everyone can enjoy confidently.
     
    • Like Like x 10
  6. StokesJH

    StokesJH Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2020
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    34
    The option to minimise the HUD without losing the essential information would be very welcome.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  7. Guerra

    Guerra Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2018
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    29
    I can't drive without it, I need to know what signal is coming and how far it is. The same applies to speed limits and waypoints.

    Exactly. I don't need XP points, messages, speed quadrants. Those things cover a very big portion of the screen and prevent me from focusing on the game itself. I find myself playing the game by only looking at these HUD elements
     
    • Like Like x 1
  8. anarchy99

    anarchy99 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2021
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    65
    Hi Matt. Do you think we could see 2 versions of the HUD in future given the feedback of late? One with larger text and elements for predominantly TV/console setups and a lite version HUD for PC users/seasoned players :)
     
    • Like Like x 2
  9. TrainSim-Matt

    TrainSim-Matt Executive Producer Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2016
    Messages:
    925
    Likes Received:
    5,069
    I don't know at this point, but suffice to say it's an area i'm exploring.
     
    • Like Like x 4
  10. anarchy99

    anarchy99 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2021
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    65
    Sounds good. I just want to take this opportunity to thank you for all the hard work and effort you personally have put in to the game to get this update pushed out. I understand you have probably read a lot of criticism on the forum but I think that is only because the community is passionate about this game.
     
  11. redrev1917

    redrev1917 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2021
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    527
    I just want to know, my throttle/break postions the time when I can close the doors, and how ahead or behind the timetable I am. Remove everything else and I'll be a happy man.
     
  12. FeralKitty

    FeralKitty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2020
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    800
    I hope the font size would be customizable, please, (regardless of full or lite) to accommodate vision-impaired. A lite UI using too small fonts for a minority of us would be unfortunate.
     

Share This Page