So What’s Gone Wrong (4.26 Update Thread, Get It Off Your Chest)

Discussion in 'PC Discussion' started by chieflongshin, Aug 19, 2021.

  1. Jinoss17

    Jinoss17 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2020
    Messages:
    357
    Likes Received:
    758
    100% agree with this
     
    • Like Like x 3
  2. Neumann Ludwig

    Neumann Ludwig New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    5
    vous me too, three times since i play with the update
     
  3. Averrnor

    Averrnor Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2019
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    66
    BR 146 sound fix - Thank you Adam and team!
     
    • Like Like x 6
  4. Der Uni

    Der Uni Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2020
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    105
    Ok, i started the Game for about 5 Minutes.

    The First:
    --- Ok, i delete the Engine.ini so that the Game create a new One...and it solved the Problem for the Ground Textures. Thank You ---

    The Second: The Red Dot for the Shop Notification is always on. I Scroll through all Shop Items and the Red dot dont disappeard.

    [​IMG]

    The Third: The unlimited Scoll through all Items (Locos, Routes, Shop,...) is very annoying. Before the Update the Scoll to the last Item and Back was much much better...

    I will check more of the New Update...which is not very good so far
    Greetings...
     
    Last edited: Aug 19, 2021
    • Like Like x 1
  5. CrAzZyKiLLa

    CrAzZyKiLLa Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2018
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    179
    The Brighton ground textures are usually caused by Engine.ini tweaks, do you have any of these applied? If so try deleting r.StaticMeshLODDistanceScale=0 should fix it.
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Helpful Helpful x 1
  6. Xander1986

    Xander1986 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2018
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    46
    Everywhere Ground Textures at Brighton:
    Do you have some tweaks in the engine.ini? Remove that! 4.26 has a difrrent system.
     
    • Helpful Helpful x 1
  7. Jinoss17

    Jinoss17 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2020
    Messages:
    357
    Likes Received:
    758
    The red dot on the shop menu is there since the very first version of TSW2
     
    • Like Like x 1
  8. bartolomaeusz

    bartolomaeusz Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2020
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    57
    Cheers, I did the exact same thing .. might be the best approach
     
  9. BR125

    BR125 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2020
    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    660
    The new UI is shockingly awful. It causes CPU spikes and looks like cluttered trash - its worse in everyway. Awful design.
     
    • Like Like x 10
  10. Der Uni

    Der Uni Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2020
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    105

    Ok, i delete the Engine.ini so that the Game create a new One...and it solved the Problem for the Ground Textures. Thank You

    I know that the red dot didn't go away before the update, but I thought at least with the new update it would only appear if there was something new ...
     
    Last edited: Aug 19, 2021
    • Helpful Helpful x 1
  11. paul.pavlinovich

    paul.pavlinovich Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2020
    Messages:
    1,316
    Likes Received:
    1,498
    Seems pretty much ok so far :)
     
  12. Sharon E

    Sharon E Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2016
    Messages:
    421
    Likes Received:
    349
    My download of 61.43 GB took 1 .75 hours. Will open now and see what I have.
     
  13. redrev1917

    redrev1917 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2021
    Messages:
    363
    Likes Received:
    539
    Anyone else finding Boston route on PC freezing completely heading out of Buggles and TSW becoming unresponsive and having to task manager out, or is it just my set up?
     
    • Like Like x 1
  14. Sharon E

    Sharon E Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2016
    Messages:
    421
    Likes Received:
    349
    Have to agree that the new start screen in not a winner with me. I liked the smaller icons of the earlier version where more of them fit on the screen. I went into Clinchfield, which I am currently playing through the Journey. The one next had an SD40 trio on the head end and it seems the earlier issue with using the throttle on the Rail Driver has been fixed which is nice since up to now had to continue to use the keyboard of this locomotive. Further on exit, after a short session, I got the Unreal engine crash screen. Will see when I go back in whether it messed up the save or not.
     
    Last edited: Aug 19, 2021
    • Like Like x 1
  15. Ravi

    Ravi Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2021
    Messages:
    237
    Likes Received:
    208
    OH man. I purchased the season ticket with no discout because I figured that its a new season, so no discount but apparently its a mistake. But I am going to keep it anyway. 3 routes at $40 is already a steal and I am not going to moan about an additional $4.
     
    • Like Like x 3
  16. maxipolo12

    maxipolo12 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2020
    Messages:
    363
    Likes Received:
    417
    45 FPS in the menu a well welcomed addition to the game
     
    • Like Like x 2
  17. bescot

    bescot Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2016
    Messages:
    241
    Likes Received:
    352
    At least two of us got an Unreal Engine crash approaching "Boston route 128" Boston- Stoughton which I guess is the same location.

    Houston, we have a problem!
     
    • Helpful Helpful x 3
    • Like Like x 1
  18. Purno

    Purno Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2018
    Messages:
    1,312
    Likes Received:
    2,133
    Pressing E while in this menu doesn't do anything. It used to start the service, no matter where your cursor was.
     

    Attached Files:

  19. Tigert1966

    Tigert1966 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2020
    Messages:
    575
    Likes Received:
    1,073
    I actually don’t mind the new interface, I’ll get used to it. But I also see CPU spikes. The fan shouldn’t kick in on a menu!

    The red dot on the dovetail live icon really annoys me. I’m sure you used to be able to make it disappear by clicking all the articles, but as pointed out above it seems stuck. Not a huge issue really, just really bugs me.

    I installed on both my laptop and desktop and the first time I exited on both, I got an unreal crash. Which hasn’t happened again since.

    If those turn out to be my worst issues then I’m happy.

    Loving the extra Raildriver Support and the improved 146.2 sounds. Plus pretty much everything I’ve played so far is a constant 60fps with fewer stutters (I have it locked to 60 max)

    Looking forward to exploring a bit more at the weekend.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  20. Purno

    Purno Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2018
    Messages:
    1,312
    Likes Received:
    2,133
    Is it me or is the upperleft HUD element way larger than it used to be? Any option anywhere to reduce it's size? I'm running this on a 4K monitor on my desk, so I really have no troubles reading the smaller numbers.
     

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 1
  21. TRAXX-Driver

    TRAXX-Driver Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2019
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    69
    It was mentioned in yesterday's stream that this part of the HUD is larger than before. So the option for customization would be very nice indeed.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  22. Purno

    Purno Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2018
    Messages:
    1,312
    Likes Received:
    2,133
    Looks to me the whole UI is tailored towards console players, but DTG completely forgetting about PC players.

    I have no hate towards console players, I guess these changes would be nice for anyone using a controller and sitting on a sofa far away from their TV screen. But I'm sitting right in front of my monitor, and have a keyboard and mouse in front of me. I don't need big HUDs (in fact, I like them small so I have more screen space available to enjoy the virtual world, something I'd like to call "Immersion").
     
    • Like Like x 11
  23. redrev1917

    redrev1917 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2021
    Messages:
    363
    Likes Received:
    539
    Yep although 3rd time around mine came back to life and we passed a CSX4400 (I think) parked in a siding so I guess thats what is causing the problem
     
  24. TRAXX-Driver

    TRAXX-Driver Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2019
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    69
    These are exactly my thoughts about the UI. At least the option to change the size would be very welcome.
     
    • Like Like x 3
  25. Cotax

    Cotax Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2021
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    230
    The reason for menu to be demanding - GPU on 100%.
     

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 1
  26. chieflongshin

    chieflongshin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2019
    Messages:
    1,482
    Likes Received:
    1,792
    Might be wrong but think there is a menu setting to reduce.

    Just found a new surprise on ECW....Gatwick express is already in. Screenshot (92).png
     
    Last edited: Aug 19, 2021
    • Like Like x 7
  27. Purno

    Purno Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2018
    Messages:
    1,312
    Likes Received:
    2,133
    Please show me where. I can only find the setting for the speedometer, but not for the upperleft part of the UI.
     
  28. unknown_guy00

    unknown_guy00 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2021
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    4
    It just selects the month for me now..
     
  29. chieflongshin

    chieflongshin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2019
    Messages:
    1,482
    Likes Received:
    1,792
    Had the crash on first exit

    upload_2021-8-19_15-51-9.png
     
    • Like Like x 1
  30. londonmidland

    londonmidland Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2017
    Messages:
    2,250
    Likes Received:
    10,135
    Is that not just a reskin of the SN 377?
     
    • Like Like x 1
  31. Cramnor

    Cramnor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2020
    Messages:
    814
    Likes Received:
    1,501
    I have to say, amazing, after ONE YEAR we can finally finish the freight exchange scenario on RSN. In addition, the sounds of the BR146.2 got even worse, now it is a vacuum cleaner that stutters multiple times per minute. The door indicator in the central MFD is now broken, it worked before. And, what is the thing with LZB? It works, but it doesn't? Interesting patch for sure, let's see what surprises the other routes have ready for us...
     
    • Like Like x 3
  32. unknown_guy00

    unknown_guy00 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2021
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    4
    • Like Like x 1
  33. unknown_guy00

    unknown_guy00 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2021
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    4
    I left the game after driving the BR 146.. (it was obviously pulling Dostos' and it was clipping into the roof of Ehrenfeld's station... and yes the LZB is funny...)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  34. unknown_guy00

    unknown_guy00 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2021
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    4
    Last edited: Aug 19, 2021
  35. chieflongshin

    chieflongshin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2019
    Messages:
    1,482
    Likes Received:
    1,792
    I believe so, realised the 4:26 has carried over my reskins. False alarm on my part. Sorry
     
    Last edited: Aug 19, 2021
    • Like Like x 1
  36. londonmidland

    londonmidland Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2017
    Messages:
    2,250
    Likes Received:
    10,135
    Just to clarify, is this from a reskin you made/installed or was it provided by DTG in the update?
     
  37. chieflongshin

    chieflongshin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2019
    Messages:
    1,482
    Likes Received:
    1,792
    That's a good question actually, that could be a substituted livery.
     
  38. JayTG123

    JayTG123 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2020
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    158
    I dont know about anyone else but when scrolling through routes and trains in the new menu, it is very laggy and came to a complete stand still for 10-20 seconds. I closed the game and re-opened but the same issue occurs.
     
  39. ARuscoe

    ARuscoe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2018
    Messages:
    6,572
    Likes Received:
    6,005
    Two issues so far...
    • Why can't we scroll the route menus using the mouse keys?
    • I work on dual monitors. When going from TSW2 on my left monitor to internet browsing on my right, the TSW screen "flashes black", something it didn't do beforehand... May be my GPU drivers but thought I'd check if others were getting this before delving further
     
    • Like Like x 1
  40. welshgazzz

    welshgazzz New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2020
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    5
    I'm having minor jumping but my major problem is: I'm going to the menu and my 3070 is going straight into 100% GPU usage and fans sound like they're about to come off the GPU, getting no issues once in the game everything calms back down then,
     
    • Like Like x 1
  41. SiaL8er

    SiaL8er Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2019
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    38
    I have the exact same setup (game on left, other things on right) and I too noticed flickering when switching between windows. Didn't have that before the update.
     
  42. ARuscoe

    ARuscoe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2018
    Messages:
    6,572
    Likes Received:
    6,005
    Happens from the menu onwards
     
  43. solicitr

    solicitr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2020
    Messages:
    5,227
    Likes Received:
    7,465
    Excessive power/cpu use in menus: cap your frame rate. Frame processing runs wild in menus because there's nothing to slow it down.
     
    • Like Like x 4
  44. Cameron's Gaming

    Cameron's Gaming Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2016
    Messages:
    2,096
    Likes Received:
    2,745
    They have increased the font size, following feedback mainly from console users. I don't think they've increased the size of anything else though - certainly haven't noticed anything. I quite like it tbh.
     
    Last edited: Aug 19, 2021
  45. ASRGT

    ASRGT Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2017
    Messages:
    251
    Likes Received:
    608
    Err i see the total opposite high usage but barley able to break 40fps in menus on an RTX3090
     
  46. ShodanCat

    ShodanCat Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2020
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    62
    Anyone else getting an Unreal Engine crash when exiting the game?
     
  47. Cameron's Gaming

    Cameron's Gaming Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2016
    Messages:
    2,096
    Likes Received:
    2,745
    I've just spent 25 minutes at Brighton, only saw Southern 377s, which doesn't confirm it's a custom skin but makes it more likely. That livery looks like it was made in the livery designer.

    If it is included in ECW by DTG by accident, it'll just be a placeholder someone knocked up to see if subbing worked? Although now I think about it, that reasoning seems a bit contrived.
     
  48. Mephrite

    Mephrite Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2017
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    23
    So.. PIS is only on these two stations? Not on every station like in Rapid Transit? That's would be bad...
     
  49. Cameron's Gaming

    Cameron's Gaming Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2016
    Messages:
    2,096
    Likes Received:
    2,745
    I've just exited and had no crash report screen.

    Also, nice to see the PIS on ECW mentioning places off the map.
    20210819171549_1.jpg
     
    • Like Like x 7
  50. chieflongshin

    chieflongshin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2019
    Messages:
    1,482
    Likes Received:
    1,792
    Just to confirm , the Gatwick express is custom. It seemed when changing to 4:26 they all came over . Sorry
     

Share This Page