Starting The Sd70ace With Intermodal Services

Discussion in 'PC Discussion' started by KDTW Flyer, Nov 26, 2021.

  1. KDTW Flyer

    KDTW Flyer New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2020
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey has anyone had success getting intermodal services to get moving forward?

    I went through the hill start training session (with success) and I've tried to use a similar technique with these services.

    But I get the throttle up to 4 and the train stretches out and stops then I try throttling up to 5 and the wheels just spin like nuts. then I reset the throttle to 0 and the train contracts again. It's like the end of the train is tied down or the brakes on the cars aren't releasing. All the services I've tried start on level ground.
     
  2. Monder

    Monder Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2019
    Messages:
    1,719
    Likes Received:
    4,609
    You need to give the rear a LOT of time to release. On the display there's a BP pressure and one number is described as "rear", don't even try leaving unless that is at least 70-75.
     
  3. Jeannot41

    Jeannot41 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2018
    Messages:
    408
    Likes Received:
    464
    I had this problem, because I forgot to press a yellow button (I don't remember its function), on the console.
     
  4. Sharon E

    Sharon E Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2016
    Messages:
    622
    Likes Received:
    610
    The banker com button above the console where the throttle and other control are located. Also you have to give it at least 5 minutes for the air to pump up. Do not pay attention to the HUD, look at that small figure on the screen that says rear it is under the left large number for the brake pipe pressure. Once that gets to 70 you can now apply some power to get moving. We now have a sim that is closer to real life but not there since I doubt many of us would wait the actual 30+ minutes it takes to pump up a long train.
     
  5. roysto25

    roysto25 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2019
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    196
    Working exactly to real life would get the moaners out in force - IRL it takes a US loco 15 to 30 minutes just for engine start and the systems and MFDs to boot. Multiply that by 5 locos and then pressurize the brake system - goodbye half a morning!
     
  6. LastTrainToClarksville

    LastTrainToClarksville Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2017
    Messages:
    2,124
    Likes Received:
    1,839
    Why has no one mentioned using sand? Also, some screenshots would help in many cases.
     
  7. TrainSim-Matt

    TrainSim-Matt Executive Producer Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2016
    Messages:
    1,060
    Likes Received:
    5,806
    I wouldn't use Sand unless you have genuine poor adhesion - even on a hill start you should be able to get moving without sand under normal circumstances once the brakes are off - in fact on a level start, notch 1 is all you need to get rolling once the brakes are off. The key is waiting for those brakes.
     
  8. Jeannot41

    Jeannot41 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2018
    Messages:
    408
    Likes Received:
    464
    Matt, and if we had a leaflet, that would be good.
     
  9. Monder

    Monder Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2019
    Messages:
    1,719
    Likes Received:
    4,609
    Update the cab with a paper, where all the notes are handwritten :D There's some room next to the Atari joystick holder, so it could be used for this
     
  10. solicitr

    solicitr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2020
    Messages:
    7,517
    Likes Received:
    10,757
    Think how much confusion and moaning would have been saved with a manual......
     
    • Like Like x 6
  11. GuitarMan

    GuitarMan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2020
    Messages:
    421
    Likes Received:
    564
    This is such an underrated comment -
    We shouldn't have to re-invent the wheel to understand how it works.

    My day job is in Knowledge and Information management, and effective use of this can save soooooo much time, money, effort etc
     
  12. Dinosbacsi

    Dinosbacsi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2017
    Messages:
    1,856
    Likes Received:
    3,087
    Or at least the in-game tutorial telling you "this may take several minutes, look out for the rear pressure value on the display".
     
  13. Disintegration7

    Disintegration7 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2018
    Messages:
    892
    Likes Received:
    1,343

    100% this.

    So, what, exactly happened with the manuals, I wonder? Was it too expensive? Did they lose a technical writer? Whatever the case it's surely coming back to bite them a little now.

    I'd be satisfied with a 2-page summary: Basic setup info and any setup quirks on one page and , basic route map, and signalling summary on the other.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  14. Lamplight

    Lamplight Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2020
    Messages:
    2,226
    Likes Received:
    3,592
    If the number of streams Matt did over the last couple of days combined with the excessive number of train doesn‘t move threads since release are anything to go by, it would certainly seem so.

    Indeed. I don‘t get why new players aren‘t told to watch for the pressure at the rear in the tutorial. If I was new to US trains, I‘d probably wonder why my train won‘t budge, too, just based on the in-game tutorials.
     
  15. Jon from Rhode Island

    Jon from Rhode Island Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2021
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    122
    This is the kind of thing that community members can do on their own without access to inside info or proprietary software, so probably not a priority for DTG.

    As a lawyer, let me add: people can’t write for s*** these days.
     

Share This Page