1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Struggling With Driving A Service (ruhr Sieg Nord Route)...

Discussion in 'PC' started by jon flint, Aug 20, 2018.

  1. jon flint

    jon flint New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2018
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    15
    Ive been trying to drive the service with the 4-5 coupled locomotives on the new Ruhr Sieg Nord route, im struggling to get the darn thing moving!

    I set up the loco as normal, apply power.. and get nothing.. well except some spectacular sparks from the wheels (see screenshot)
    [​IMG]

    What am i doing wrong.... surely i haven't got to run through every other cab and turn off brakes/handbrakes??
     
    Last edited: Aug 24, 2018
  2. Jeannot41

    Jeannot41 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2018
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    147
    Yes, you have to do it.
    Go to each locomotive and remove the manual brake.
     
  3. jon flint

    jon flint New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2018
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    15
    Thanks for the reply, I may just stick to normal freight, I'm much to lazy to run through 5 cabs disengaging brakes :(
     
  4. LastTrainToClarksville

    LastTrainToClarksville Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2017
    Messages:
    906
    Likes Received:
    678
  5. LeadCatcher

    LeadCatcher Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2016
    Messages:
    434
    Likes Received:
    706
    lol - sorry - but people want a simulator, then say it is too much effort to run said simulator -- but if the hand brakes are applied - yes you must release those handbrakes. Just like the real world - after tying down a train for the night and applying X number of handbrakes on the rolling stock - the next day those brakes will have to be release manually before rolling the consist onward.
     
    • Upvote Upvote x 9
    • Downvote Downvote x 2
  6. jon flint

    jon flint New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2018
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    15
    It's a game, not a second job, if I don't want full 100% realism then that's my choice, which is why i choose not to drive this particular service.
     
    • Upvote Upvote x 1
  7. LeadCatcher

    LeadCatcher Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2016
    Messages:
    434
    Likes Received:
    706
    Fine Jon - to each their own
     
    • Upvote Upvote x 1
  8. Daniel Bloch

    Daniel Bloch Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2016
    Messages:
    611
    Likes Received:
    1,255
    It's not "a game" it is a simulation that tries to simulate the real world as good as possible, if you don't want that its maybe the wrong "game" for you.
     
    • Upvote Upvote x 3
    • Downvote Downvote x 3
  9. jon flint

    jon flint New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2018
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    15
    It's a game mate, just like candy crush or call of duty. If and when I want to play a more in-depth rail simulator, I'll fire up ts20xx, for me, tsw is there for some arcade fun when I have a spare 45min or so.
     
    Last edited: Aug 24, 2018
    • Downvote Downvote x 9
    • Upvote Upvote x 2
  10. Anthony Pecoraro

    Anthony Pecoraro Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    Messages:
    1,445
    Likes Received:
    1,546
    Releasing the handbrakes adds to the realism! Why are you whining about that?
     
    • Upvote Upvote x 1
    • Downvote Downvote x 1
  11. jon flint

    jon flint New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2018
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    15
    I asked a question and got a clear, polite and correct answer with the first response, there is no reason to continue this thread beyond that.
     
    • Upvote Upvote x 3
  12. Rudolf

    Rudolf Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2016
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    234
    I run TSW for fun, so for me it's essentially a game. I do not need to learn to drive a train. Please allow people with different opnions do what they like. No need for bashing and saying this game/simulation is not suitable for them. Let a love for trains be the binding factor and nothing else.
     
    • Upvote Upvote x 4
  13. LastTrainToClarksville

    LastTrainToClarksville Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2017
    Messages:
    906
    Likes Received:
    678
    To be honest, forums simply do not work like that -- fortunately or unfortunately. Just ignore the posts that irritate you.
     
    • Upvote Upvote x 1
  14. Rossco

    Rossco New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2018
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    Been wondering about the dead attached BR 185.2 in this scenario. To release the handbrake you have to turn the battery on. Technically speaking what would you be meant to do then. I tried to turn the battery off, but there didn't seem to be a way. In real life would that result in the battery draining?
     
  15. Daniel Bloch

    Daniel Bloch Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2016
    Messages:
    611
    Likes Received:
    1,255
    Just hold the button until the battery is off (more then 5 seconds), it works. Battery off you see on the dark displays.
     
  16. 7orenz

    7orenz Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2018
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    36
    In the DB BR 185.2 locomotives I only released the parking brake (just near the battery button). But I not "esclude" that you need to do that. The priority its just to release the hand brake from all the DB BR 143 like all already said.
     
  17. ThreeDeePete

    ThreeDeePete New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi, I'm also trying to figure this one out on Xbox One! Figured that I had to release the parking brakes on all locomotives, the 2 BR-143's work fine, but when I get to the BR-185.2's, the game asks do I want to abandon the service I'm on and when I say 'No' , the train takes off at speed with me in the wrong loco as if someone else took over! The main loco was still under parking brake.
    Starting again, if I just uncouple the BR-143's from the trailing BR-185.2 locos, I can get moving no trouble, despite NOT having released the brakes on the BR-143's. Go figure! Would like to get the whole consist through though
     
    Last edited: Oct 26, 2018
  18. 7orenz

    7orenz Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2018
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    36
    -release all hand brakes from all class 143. (direction of all locos set to 'neutral', 'train brake' and 'direct brake' to 'released').
    -note1 for both locos: before leave the cab pay attention to the position of brakes pressure arrow in the hud. the orange arrow in the lower brake pressure panel have to stay in the full release position ( SW / )

    -on al class 185: move the direction lever (main switch) to 'forward', switch off the 'parking brake', release 'train brake', 'electric brake' and 'direct brake' too, set pantograph on 'raise' and the mcb on 'close', now move the direction lever (main switch) to 'off''.
    -note2: when you switch off the 'parking brake' from class 185 locos, the yellow light over the parking brake interruptor turn off (this is the signal that the parking brake are released).

    -go in the drive cab and only in this cab set the 'main switch' to 'forward' and drive the train like if you are in a single locomotive train (classic service).
    -note3: I think the message "do you want to leave the service..?" happen about every 5 mins after you leaved the driver seat.
     
    • Upvote Upvote x 1
  19. ThreeDeePete

    ThreeDeePete New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi, just got it to work by doing the following:
    Don't do anything in the driving loco where you start, exit and go the next 2 locos, the BR-143's. Release their manual hand brakes.
    Then onto the three BR-185.2's, push the buttons to turn on the battery then push the Hand Brake Release button, don't do anything else in them.
    When asked if you want to abandon the Service, answer "No".
    Go back to the leading loco and only then startup from scratch as normal and you can get underway
     
  20. Anthony Pecoraro

    Anthony Pecoraro Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    Messages:
    1,445
    Likes Received:
    1,546
    Be sure to turn the batteries back off.
     

Share This Page