Tip: Distant Fields Shadows Visual Improvements

Discussion in 'Train Sim World Discussion' started by londonmidland, Apr 28, 2022.

Tags:
  1. londonmidland

    londonmidland Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2017
    Messages:
    3,181
    Likes Received:
    16,299
    For those of you that have quite a beefy computer/decent specs, I recommend you add the following command to your engine.ini file - r.DFDistanceScale=10

    By default, it is set to 1, which gives off ridiculously short shadow rendering distances.

    This won’t fix *all* shadow issues within TSW, however it can make a significant difference to some areas, as seen below.

    The most noticeable improvements is very little shadow pop up on trees, as well as shadows on buildings from a far distance.

    The picture below shows a comparison between the default value (1) to the amended value (10). Note: 10 is the max it goes up to, any higher will not result in any visual improvements.

    0EC2DCC9-EB4C-4F25-A4A6-2AE2FB32BEA5.jpeg
     
    • Like Like x 17
    • Helpful Helpful x 13
  2. Nomen-Karr

    Nomen-Karr New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2021
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    The difference between the two screenshots is huge. It's amazing how much the distant shadows help with depth perception. That station looks like it's closer in the first shot.
     
  3. davidh0501

    davidh0501 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2020
    Messages:
    1,129
    Likes Received:
    1,623
    Interesting find, I'll need to experiment.
    Hate the standard tree shadow pop in.
     
  4. annadess

    annadess Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2021
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    98
    From my short experiments it feels like vegetation and things considered scenery will have their shadows improved by this, however the short distance of dynamic terrain shadows is still an issue for me, here I'm also "chasing" down shadows cast by the terrain to the right of me
    [​IMG]
    Anyone know any ini setting or command to help with this? Thanks.
     
  5. Arpadiam

    Arpadiam Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2020
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    89
    did you try with r.Shadow.DistanceScale ?

    still DTG said there were implementing deferred shadows dunno if they did o still in the pipeline, they said it would help with shadows in the distant vegetation ( trees and stuff ) and with static objects
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. londonmidland

    londonmidland Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2017
    Messages:
    3,181
    Likes Received:
    16,299
    Unfortunately the actual commands for distant shadows do little to no effect, as for some reason DTG has blocked/disabled these commands from working within TSW.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  7. 5cip

    5cip Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2020
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    159
    incredible thx 4 this one
     
  8. Cash

    Cash Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2021
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    266
    Do I add this to the GameUserSettings section?
     
  9. CowBoyWolf

    CowBoyWolf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2020
    Messages:
    2,191
    Likes Received:
    1,465
    Engine.ini
     
  10. londonmidland

    londonmidland Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2017
    Messages:
    3,181
    Likes Received:
    16,299
    No. engine.ini file.
     
  11. Cash

    Cash Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2021
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    266
    upload_2022-4-28_15-35-4.png
    By Engine.ini, do you mean this? I apologise for my lack of technical knowledge lol
     
  12. CowBoyWolf

    CowBoyWolf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2020
    Messages:
    2,191
    Likes Received:
    1,465
    Yes
     
    • Like Like x 1
  13. Conductor B

    Conductor B Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2022
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    219
    I can't find an entry in my Engine.ini file with "r.DFDistanceScale". Do I simply append:

    Code:
    [Video]
    r.DFDistanceScale=10
    
    to the end?
     
  14. londonmidland

    londonmidland Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2017
    Messages:
    3,181
    Likes Received:
    16,299
    You need to add it manually.

    If it isn't already there, in a blank space underneath everything, type:
    [SystemSettings]
    r.DFDistanceScale=10
     
    • Helpful Helpful x 1
  15. Kangaroo Conductor

    Kangaroo Conductor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2022
    Messages:
    218
    Likes Received:
    334
    Every time I come across a thread like this, I get a bit more happy with this product every time. Modding it to be more visually pleasing is great, and I hope they won't disable those commands, and instead give us options to do this in the game itself.

    With the help of various commands across the board, some of which I got from here, I turned the game into this.

    It's impressive what can be done.
     

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 6
  16. solicitr

    solicitr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2020
    Messages:
    9,045
    Likes Received:
    13,002
    I think I'll try this with a low value (2 to 4) on my creaky old PC and see if it makes a difference without killing performance
     
  17. Conductor B

    Conductor B Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2022
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    219
    Aha, this is the missing piece - thanks!
     
  18. londonmidland

    londonmidland Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2017
    Messages:
    3,181
    Likes Received:
    16,299
    If anyone wants to use or know a full list of my engine.ini commands, it's as below:

    [SystemSettings]
    r.DFDistanceScale=10
    r.ToneMapper.Quality=0
    r.ToneMapperFilm=0
    r.GTSyncType=1
    r.OneFrameThreadLag=1
    r.AmbientOcclusion.Method=1
    r.GTAO.FalloffEnd=200
    r.GTAO.SpatialFilter=0
    r.GTAO.NumAngles=2
    r.GTAO.UseNormals=1
    r.GTAO.ThicknessBlend=0
    r.ViewDistanceScale=4.0
    foliage.LODDistanceScale=4
    r.BloomQuality=5
    r.TonemapperGamma=2
    r.SkylightIntensityMultiplier=0.3
    r.ToneMapper.Sharpen=0
    r.EyeAdaptationQuality=2
    r.Streaming.FullyLoadUsedTextures=1
    r.Streaming.HLODStrategy=2
    r.DefaultFeature.AutoExposure=1
    r.DefaultFeature.AutoExposure.Method=1
    r.DefaultFeature.AutoExposure.ExtendDefaultLuminanceRange=0
    r.TextureStreaming=0
    r.LightMaxDrawDistanceScale=50.0
    r.MotionBlur.Scale=2.0
    r.MinScreenRadiusForLights=0.00
    ts2.CameraMotionSway.EnableUprightCompensation=0
    ts2.CameraMotionSway.KSitting.Y=200.0
    ts2.CameraMotionSway.KSitting.Z=200.0
    ts2.CameraMotionSway.LSitting.Y=40
    ts2.CameraMotionSway.LSitting.Z=5.0
    ts2.CameraMotionSway.SittingPivotOffset=-200
    ts2.CameraMotionSway.LSitting.X=50
    ts2.save.CheckpointsEnabled=0
    r.Shadow.RadiusThreshold=0
    r.SkeletalMeshLODBias=0
     
    • Like Like x 5
    • Helpful Helpful x 2
  19. annadess

    annadess Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2021
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    98
    Well it made a difference, even if it's just a small one, thank you!
     
  20. hyperlord

    hyperlord Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2019
    Messages:
    1,016
    Likes Received:
    999
    I'm craving for shadow ini tuning and applied the settings yesterday. On MSB I noticed a slight flicker of the distant shadow but its not hurting. Will try more routes during the course of the weekend.

    Thanks for sharing your findings!
     
    • Like Like x 1
  21. JustWentSouth

    JustWentSouth Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2019
    Messages:
    878
    Likes Received:
    1,705
    This really helps for me. Thanks!
    I also have view distance scale, foliage distance scale, and foliage LOD distance scale significantly increased as well as r.MaterialQualityLevel=0. Yet, I still get grass pop in relatively close on Sherman Hill. Any ideas?
     
  22. Rob39

    Rob39 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2018
    Messages:
    1,725
    Likes Received:
    1,625
    Excellent I’ll try this. Also noticed that you dont have FoliageDensityScale. I think this command also makes quite a difference.
     
  23. londonmidland

    londonmidland Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2017
    Messages:
    3,181
    Likes Received:
    16,299
    I didn’t realise such command existed. I’ll have a play around with it when I can.
     
  24. londonmidland

    londonmidland Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2017
    Messages:
    3,181
    Likes Received:
    16,299
    I’m not too sure about the grass pop-up. Is it a route specific issue do you know?
     
  25. Rob39

    Rob39 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2018
    Messages:
    1,725
    Likes Received:
    1,625
  26. Scorpion71

    Scorpion71 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2017
    Messages:
    625
    Likes Received:
    1,337
    just a shame there isn't a command of r.Stuttering=0 or r.stuttering=false or r.stuttering=do_one, or r.stuttering=sling_your_hook
     
    • Like Like x 5
  27. DarkWolf

    DarkWolf Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2021
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    110
    I want to give this a try but can't seem to get it to work.

    I'm editing the Engine.ini that resides in Documents>My Games>TrainSimWorld2EGS>Saved>Config>WindowsNoEditor

    I'm adding it to the end comme ca :

    [​IMG]

    Is this the right place in the right file?

    I notice there is another Engine.ini in Documents>My Games>TrainSimWorld2EGS>Saved>Config>Windows

    I tried adding it to that Engine.ini with the same result.

    DW
     
  28. annadess

    annadess Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2021
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    98
    Yes it should be that one, WindowsNoEditor weird how that doesn't work.
     
    • Helpful Helpful x 1
  29. LastTrainToClarksville

    LastTrainToClarksville Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2017
    Messages:
    2,340
    Likes Received:
    1,956
    Okay, I give up and am always willing to admit my ignorance. Please provide the entire path that leads to the engine.ini file.
     
  30. JustWentSouth

    JustWentSouth Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2019
    Messages:
    878
    Likes Received:
    1,705
    • Helpful Helpful x 2
  31. Sharon E

    Sharon E Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2016
    Messages:
    922
    Likes Received:
    854
    JustWentSouth have to be careful. In my computer the file reside on my One Drive. So the path is C: user\your name\OneDrive\Documents\mygame\TrainSimWorld2\Saved\Config\WindowsNoEditor\Engine.ini
     
    • Like Like x 1
  32. chieflongshin

    chieflongshin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2019
    Messages:
    3,898
    Likes Received:
    5,829
    Just as an FYI - this trashes fps on Sherman hill, other routes with a shorter draw distance there's not too much impact and it does look a lot nicer.
     
    Last edited: Apr 30, 2022
    • Like Like x 1
    • Helpful Helpful x 1
  33. DarkWolf

    DarkWolf Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2021
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    110
    Trying it again I think I got it working but the difference I am seeing seems pretty small. It pushed the shadows out a couple dozen meters, doesn't seem as dramatic as the screenshot in the first post though.

    DW
     
  34. chieflongshin

    chieflongshin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2019
    Messages:
    3,898
    Likes Received:
    5,829
    I think a lot will hinge on time of day, cloud cover, direction of travel etc and side by side shots to see difference.
     
    • Helpful Helpful x 1
  35. Jeannot41

    Jeannot41 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2018
    Messages:
    470
    Likes Received:
    534
    And maybe his personal settings in the game.
     
  36. DarkWolf

    DarkWolf Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2021
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    110
    I run with the Ultra graphics preset with everything maxed at Ultra or High in advanced settings.

    Yeah I had to do some more of this, I was using Boston Sprinter as a test. I'm sure now I got it working.

    Was there a specific area on Sherman Hill where you found this tweak was causing FPS issues? I'd to test it on my rig.

    DW
     
  37. chieflongshin

    chieflongshin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2019
    Messages:
    3,898
    Likes Received:
    5,829
    I just seemed to find it's worse in the yards. Not sure if this is down to other consists moving through as I didn't really take train too far up the line. I assumed the increase in draw distance was what was causing it because of the grass issue we had on release
     
  38. Sharon E

    Sharon E Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2016
    Messages:
    922
    Likes Received:
    854
    I had begun to hear sound glitching after installing this mod. At first thought it was the usual fps studders with sound issues, but no, when I looked at my fps display the frame rate was rock steady. It has happened on Harlem and HSC. Once I uninstalled the mod, no further sound problems noted.
     
  39. mrchuck

    mrchuck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2018
    Messages:
    1,201
    Likes Received:
    789
    i hope the one message that have the bilevel coach’s is for the Boston sprinter route.
     
  40. 5cip

    5cip Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2020
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    159
    which mod u mean ? because this is only a parameter in the engine.ini file
     
    • Like Like x 1
  41. chieflongshin

    chieflongshin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2019
    Messages:
    3,898
    Likes Received:
    5,829
    Running this for a week or so now with no issues and it does appear more noticeable in some places. I like
     
    • Like Like x 2

Share This Page