Tips For Writing A Cv/resume

Discussion in 'Off Topic' started by TSW Nathan, Oct 5, 2023.

1. TSW Nathan

TSW Nathan Well-Known Member

Hi there. I'm applying for a job. It's my first time and I have to write a CV. (Resume for Americans) does anyone have any tips?

2. TSW Nathan

Also, any tips for writing a cover letter?
    Obv, I'm planning on getting in with a TOC. (On-board customer service role) but I don't share what unless I'm allowed. Let me know if that helps.

3. Shackamaxon

Shackamaxon Well-Known Member

I would've contributed something meaningful but it's a British TOC, so my inputs might do more harm than good...

So best of luck with your application. That's all from my side :)

• Like Like x 1
  4. jack#9468

jack#9468 Well-Known Member

I would suggest something such as liking working with people and helping them go about their day.

• Like Like x 1
  5. andrewandjane66

andrewandjane66 Well-Known Member

There's a friendly group at the link below who will be well placed to advise on the specific role. It may already be covered there.
    https://www.railforums.co.uk/forums/railway-jobs-careers.122/
    General advice, keep it brief and relevant, and show how your experience is related to the role, giving specific examples.
    And do note that they won't be interested in the fact you have an interest in railways.

• Helpful Helpful x 1
  6. OldVern

OldVern Well-Known Member

If it's a job on the railway, to emphasise the point above under no circumstances ever let on that you are any sort of enthusiast or "play" with trains (model or virtual). It does not generally sit that well with managers (even though they are probably huge cranks themselves).

• Like Like x 1
    • Helpful Helpful x 1
  7. jack#9468

Funny you say that, I know and work with someone who doesn't hide it.

• Like Like x 1
  8. TSW Nathan

Thanks for the advice. I'll make that clear in my next draft. :)

9. OldVern