1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Train Loses Power - Br Class 45

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Cottonmouth, Oct 18, 2019.

  1. Cottonmouth

    Cottonmouth Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2019
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    17
    Hi Guys,
    I have read that someone else has had a problem with a loco loosing complete power and wanted to know what to do to get it starting again. Question: I have had the same issue with the Class 45 going from Stalybridge to Huddersfield, had to apply brakes etc to bring my speed right down and for some reason the engine just stopped an every thing went dead, Could I get her going - not a hope in hell. What I did notice that on the drivers front theres 3 lights (above dials) of which were on. Any help will be great.
     
  2. Jez

    Jez Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2019
    Messages:
    413
    Likes Received:
    358
    I assume you were not using the brake and the throttle at the same time?
     
  3. Cottonmouth

    Cottonmouth Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2019
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    17
    Could've done Going to do the run again. If this happens is there a remedy?
     
    Last edited: Oct 19, 2019
  4. Poppa

    Poppa New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2018
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    10
    I had this happen to me a while back when I had to hit the brakes very hard to stop ... I found I had to go through the engine start up sequence again to get moving again
     
  5. Rob39

    Rob39 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2018
    Messages:
    953
    Likes Received:
    680
    No, perfectly normal. If you engage the brakes to the max (emergency) They will take some time to release. Adding to that unless the train brake is fully released (pressure back to normal) you wont be able to apply any throttle. Also applying brakes whilst throttle is on, will disable it. You have to release the brakes take the throttle fully off, then reapply it. Straight brake is a different matter. This only controls the loco, and can be used whilst throttle is on.
     

Share This Page